31489055

Synopsis:

Thirteen years ago someone did something very bad to Anna. Now it’s her turn to get even … 

Anna lives a solitary existence, taking solace in order and routine. Her only friend is the lonely old lady next door. She doesn’t like to let people to get too close – she knows how much damage they can do. 

Then one ordinary day Anna witnesses a devastating road accident and recognises the driver as Carla, the woman who ruined her life all those years ago. Now it’s Anna’s chance to set things straight but her revenge needs to be executed carefully … 

First she needs to get to know Liam, the man injured in the accident. She needs to follow the police investigation. She needs to watch Carla from the shadows… 

But as Anna’s obsession with Carla escalates, her own secrets start to unravel. Is Carla really dangerous or does Anna need to worry about someone far closer to home? 

A compelling, gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Sister. 


Book Rating: 9/10

Extraordinarily intense, exceptionally sinister, and darkly entertaining!

This story reminds us just how much our familial relationships, environments and experiences can affect our physical and psychological health and emphasizes how fragile and complex our minds truly are. 

It, ultimately, is a story about abuse, loss, death, grief, guilt, manipulation, and obsession.

The plot is told from different points of view and shifts between the past and present effortlessly creating an exciting thrill ride of twists, turns, suspense, and tension. The writing is smooth and clear. And the characters are lonely, damaged, desolate, and devious.

Overall, this is an incredibly clever, debut psychological thriller with just the right amount of mystery and eeriness to keep you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Bookouture, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

This book is due to be published on November 3, 2016.

Pick up a copy of this story from your favourite retailer or from the following links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon Canada

For more information on K.L. Slater, visit her website at: KLSlaterAuthor.com

or follow her on Twitter at: @KimLSlater

Print Friendly