#BookReview Storm Rising by Rachael Richey @RachaelRBooks Title: Storm Rising

Author: Rachael Richey

Series: The NightHawk Series #1

Published by: The Wild Rose Press on Feb. 27, 2015

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 388

Format: eBook

Source: Rachael Richey

Book Rating: 8/10

Frontman of the grunge rock band NightHawk, Gideon Hawk has had enough of the rock star life. He is jaded, disillusioned, and haunted by the memory of an unresolved heartbreak. On a whim, he leaves the band in New York and heads to England in search of answers. 

After attending the funeral of her estranged mother, Abigail Thomson makes a shocking discovery in her parents’ attic. The still-raw memories that surface, along with even more startling discoveries, force Abi to face a devastating truth that leads to a series of life-changing events. She and Gideon must race against time to reclaim the life stolen from them a decade before.


This is a bittersweet, heartwarming novel that was a delight to read.

This is not just your typical rock star romance. This novel showcases the intricacies of familial relationships, the heartbreak caused by lost love, and the life-changing consequences of lies and deception.

The writing is well done. The characters are empathetic, complex and interesting. And the plot is told from differing perspectives, in a past/present style, that gives depth, understanding, and a smooth flow to the storyline.

This is the first book in the NightHawk Series, and I look forward to reading book #2, Rhythm of Deceit, to find out what happens next.



Thank you to Rachael Richey, the author, for providing me with a copy of this story in exchange for an honest review. 


About Rachael Richey

Rachael Richey lives in Cornwall with her husband and son and writes Women’s Fiction. She loves walking, horses, Earl Grey tea, chocolate, pizza and Pinot Grigio and reading.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email