30641949

The Official Synopsis:

The Ice Beneath Her is a gripping and deeply disturbing story about love, betrayal and obsession that is impossible to put down. Fast-paced and peopled with compelling characters, it surprises at every turn as it hurtles towards an unforgettable ending with a twist you really won’t see coming . . .

A young woman is found beheaded in an infamous business tycoon’s marble-lined hallway.

The businessman, scandal-ridden CEO of the retail chain Clothes & More, is missing without a trace.

But who is the dead woman? And who is the brutal killer who wielded the machete?

Rewind two months earlier to meet Emma Bohman, a sales assistant for Clothes & More, whose life is turned upside down by a chance encounter with Jesper Orre. Insisting that their love affair is kept secret, he shakes Emma’s world a second time when he suddenly leaves her with no explanation.

As frightening things begin to happen to Emma, she suspects Jesper is responsible. But why does he want to hurt her? And how far would he go to silence his secret lover?


Book Rating: 8.5/10

Wickedly complex, macabre, and highly entertaining!

This story reminds us of the complexity and fragility of the human mind and the extent to which our relationships and familial environments affect our physical and mental health. It is, ultimately, a story about love, loss, murder, abuse, and obsession.

The writing is clever and precise. The characters are damaged, lonely, and despondent. And the plot is told from differing perspectives, that shifts back-and-forth effortlessly, to create a wonderfully dark, captivating story that’s full of twists, turns, tension, and suspense.

This is an intriguing, debut psychological thriller that is perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo or Henning Mankell.

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Bonnier Publishing, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

This book is due to be published on September 8, 2016.

Pick up a copy of this story from your favourite retailer or from the following Amazon links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon Canada

For more information on Camilla Grebe, follow her on Twitter at: @camillagrebe

Print Friendly, PDF & Email