Genre: Mystery/Thriller

#BookReview
Open Your Eyes by Paula Daly
@PaulaDalyAuthor @PGCBooks @groveatlantic

#BookReview Open Your Eyes by Paula Daly @PaulaDalyAuthor @PGCBooks @groveatlanticTitle: Open Your Eyes

Author: Paula Daly

Published by Grove Press on October 9, 2018

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 304

Format: Paperback

Source: Publishers Group Canada

Book Rating: 8/10

 

 

Synopsis:

Jane Campbell avoids confrontation at any costs. Given the choice, she’ll always let her husband, Leon–a bestselling crime writer–take the lead, while she focuses on her two precious young children and her job as a creative writing teacher. After she receives another rejection for her novel, Leon urges Jane to put her hobby to rest. And why shouldn’t she, when through Jane’s rose-tinted glasses, they appear to have the perfect house and the perfect life?

But then Leon is brutally attacked in their driveway while their children wait quietly in the car, and suddenly, their perfect life becomes the stuff of nightmares. Who would commit such a hateful offense in broad daylight? With her husband in a coma, Jane must open her eyes to the problems in her life, as well as the secrets that have been kept from her. Although she might not like what she sees, if she’s committed to discovering who hurt her husband–and why–Jane must take matters into her own hands.

A surprising and gripping thriller of pride, ambition, and envy, Open Your Eyes is an unsettling whodunit about the illusions of a perfect marriage that confirms Paula Daly as a writer at the forefront of domestic suspense.


Review:

Addictive, edgy, and entertaining!

Open Your Eyes is a character-driven, domestic thrill ride that delves into all the deep, dark secrets people can keep even from those closest to them and raises the question how well do you really know anyone.

The prose is tight and gritty. The characters are troubled, resolute, and vulnerable. And the plot starts off with a bang and quickly unravels into an ominous tale full of suspicious personalities, lies, deception, desperation, familial drama, manipulation, violence, and jealousy.

Overall, Open Your Eyes is a relentless, eerie, complex tale that keeps you guessing right up until the very last page and reminds us that mothers will go to any length to uncover the truth and protect their children.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                                          

 

 

Thank you to Publishers Group Canada for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Paula Daly

Paula Daly is the acclaimed author of five novels. Her work has been sold in fifteen countries, shortlisted for CWA Gold Dagger Crime Novel of the Year award, and her books are currently being developed into the ITV drama - Deep Water - set to air in 2019. She was born in Lancashire and lives in the Lake District with her husband, three children, and whippet Skippy.

#BookReview
The Good Sister by Morgan Jones
@PGCBooks @panmacmillan

#BookReview The Good Sister by Morgan Jones @PGCBooks @panmacmillanTitle: The Good Sister

Author: Morgan Jones

Published by Pan Macmillan on October 2, 2018

Genres: Mystery/Thriller, General Fiction

Pages: 288

Format: Paperback

Source: Publishers Group Canada

Book Rating: 8.5/10

 

 

Synopsis:

Morgan Jones’ heart-stopping thriller, The Good Sister, sees one father go further than he ever knew possible, to rescue a daughter who doesn’t want to be saved.

A missing daughter. A desperate father. A journey to save them both.

Sofia Mounir’s world is not her own. Her mother is sick, her father broken, the London they live in is dying of greed and self-obsession.

So she flees, to Raqqa: heart of the caliphate, foundation stone of a just world that she will help to build. From violence and sacrifice will grow something beautiful, and she will be part of it. Her faith will be equal to everything asked of her.

Until it isn’t. Until it becomes clear that not all her new brothers’ and sisters’ intentions are as pure as her own. Until even her faith becomes a liability.

Where do you turn, when the future you’ve longed for wants you dead?


Review:

Unnerving, raw, and impactful.

The Good Sister is an action-packed, harrowing, pensive tale that delves into the unconditional love of a father for his daughter and the heart-wrenching and horrifying struggle of a nation to live, believe and find peace in a landscape rife with oppression, greed, and violence.

The prose is edgy and taut. The characters are complex, tormented, and driven. And the plot told from two different points of view, is a compelling, well-crafted tale about family, faith, conviction, greed, corruption, extremism, instability, fear, danger, abuse, cruelty, and murder.

Overall, The Good Sister is a fast-paced, thought-provoking, haunting novel with an authentic feel that I can’t honestly tell you I won’t soon forget.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                                

 

 

Thank you to Publishers Group Canada for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Morgan Jones

For over a decade Morgan Jones worked for Kroll, the world’s largest investigations company, where he specialized in Russian matters and international disputes. Under the name Chris Morgan Jones, he wrote the critically acclaimed spy thrillers, An Agent of Deceit, The Jackal’s Share and The Searcher. The Good Sister is his first novel writing as Morgan Jones. He lives in London with his wife and two children.

#BookReview
The Missing Girl by Jenny Quintana
@jennyquintana95 @PGCBooks @panmacmillan

#BookReview The Missing Girl by Jenny Quintana @jennyquintana95 @PGCBooks @panmacmillanTitle: The Missing Girl

Author: Jenny Quintana

Published by Pan Macmillan on October 2, 2018

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 336

Format: Paperback

Source: Publishers Group Canada

Book Rating: 8/10

 

 

Synopsis:

When Anna Flores’ adored older sister goes missing as a teenager, Anna copes by disappearing too, just as soon as she can: running as far away from her family as possible, and eventually building a life for herself abroad. Thirty years later, the death of her mother finally forces Anna to return home. Tasked with sorting through her mother’s possessions, she begins to confront not just her mother’s death, but also the huge hole Gabriella’s disappearance left in her life – and finds herself asking a question she’s not allowed herself to ask for years: what really happened to her sister? With that question comes the revelation that her biggest fear isn’t discovering the worst; it’s never knowing the answer. But is it too late for Anna to uncover the truth about Gabriella’s disappearance?


Review:

Atmospheric, dramatic, and intriguing!

The Missing Girl is a slow-burning, captivating mystery that takes us into the life of Anna Flores who upon returning home to settle her mother’s estate decides to probe, explore and finally piece together what actually happened to her sister Gabriella on the afternoon she disappeared thirty years prior.

The writing is crisp and precise. The characters are troubled, determined, and genuine. And the plot, using first-person narration and alternating between 1982 and present, builds nicely and creates tension as it twists, turns, and unravels all the behaviours, actions, motivations, relationships, and personalities within it.

The Missing Girl at its core is a novel about family, friendship, secrets, kidnapping, and murder that highlights the emotional and psychological devastation caused by a missing child and the resulting finger-pointing, fragility and dynamics between family members, friends, neighbours, newcomers, and the community. It is an evocative and impressive debut for Quintana, and I look forward to reading what she comes up with next.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                                          

 

 

Thank you to Publishers Group Canada for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Jenny Quintana

Jenny Quintana grew up in Essex and Berkshire, before studying English Literature in London. She has taught in London, Seville and Athens and has also written books for teaching English as a foreign language. She is a graduate of the Curtis Brown Creative writing course. She lives with her family in Berkshire. The Missing Girl is her first novel.

#BookReview
Wild Fire (Shetland #8) by Ann Cleeves
@AnnCleeves @PGCBooks @panmacmillan

#BookReview Wild Fire (Shetland #8) by Ann Cleeves @AnnCleeves @PGCBooks @panmacmillanTitle: Wild Fire

Author: Ann Cleeves

Series: Shetland #8

Published by Pan Macmillan on September 25, 2018

Genres: Mystery/Thriller, Police Procedural

Pages: 416

Format: Paperback

Source: Publishers Group Canada

Book Rating: 8.5/10

 

Synopsis:

Wild Fire is the much-anticipated final book in Ann Cleeves’s beloved Shetland Island series, now a major television triumph starring Douglas Henshall.

When the Flemingsdesigner Helena and architect Danielmove into a remote community in the north of Shetland, they think it’s a fresh start for themselves and their children.

But their arrival triggers resentment, and Helena begins to receive small drawings of a gallows and a hanged man. Gossip spreads like wildfire.

A story of dysfunctional families and fractured relationships, Inspector Jimmy Perez’s eighth case will intrigue series fans and Shetland Island newcomers alike.


Review:

Mysterious, precise, and atmospheric!

In this latest novel by Cleeves, Wild Fire, we head back to Deltaness where DI Jimmy Perez finds himself immersed in the evidence collection and investigation into the murder of a local nanny whose childhood was marred by hardship and tragedy and whose recent past was full of unusual and strained relationships.

The prose is intricate and deft. The characters are flawed, complex and intriguing. And the plot is a compelling, well crafted, police procedural full of suspects, clues, deduction, jealousy, obsession, manipulation, swirling emotions, secrets, familial drama, and murder.

Wild Fire is the eighth and final novel in the Shetland Series, and even though it’s a little bittersweet to say goodbye to the characters we’ve come to know and love over these last eight novels, it is nevertheless a lovely way to solve one last case with the usual gang and to finally discover whether DI Perez and Chief Inspector Willow will finally get their happy-ever-after ending.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                                          

 

 

Thank you to Publishers Group Canada for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Ann Cleeves

Ann Cleeves is the author behind PBS’s Vera and BBC One’s Shetland. She has written over twenty-five novels, and is the creator of detectives Vera Stanhope and Jimmy Perez – characters loved both on screen and in print. Her books have now sold over 1 million copies worldwide.

Ann worked as a probation officer, bird observatory cook and auxiliary coastguard before becoming a crime writer. She is a member of ‘Murder Squad’, working with other British northern writers to promote crime fiction. In 2006 Ann was awarded the Duncan Lawrie Dagger (CWA Gold Dagger) for Best Crime Novel, for Raven Black, the first book in her Shetland series, and in 2012 she was inducted into the CWA Crime Thriller Awards Hall of Fame. Ann lives in North Tyneside, England.

#BookReview
Her Frozen Heart by Lulu Taylor
@MissLuluTaylor @PGCBooks @panmacmillan

#BookReview Her Frozen Heart by Lulu Taylor @MissLuluTaylor @PGCBooks @panmacmillanTitle: Her Frozen Heart

Author: Lulu Taylor

Published by Pan Macmillan on September 4, 2018

Genres: Mystery/Thriller, Historical Fiction

Pages: 480

Format: Paperback

Source: Publishers Group Canada

Book Rating: 8.5/10

 

 

Synopsis:

Caitlyn, there’s something I have to tell you. About Sara.

Caitlyn thinks her marriage to Patrick is a success. For one thing, he is one of the few people not to fall head over heels for her beautiful friend, Sara. Life is lived on his terms, but they are happy.

Aren’t they?

When a devastating accident turns her existence upside down, Caitlyn is forced to reassess everything she thought about her marriage, what she truly knows about Patrick, and his real feelings for her best friend. In the refuge of an old manor house, she begins to discover the truth.

In 1947, the worst winter in decades hits England, cutting off entirely the inhabitants of Kings Harcourt Manor. For Tommy Carter, widowed at the start of war, it is particularly hard: the burden of the family falls on her. She has the solace of her children, and the interesting presence of her brother’s friend, Fred. But there is also Barbara, a mysterious figure from her past who appears to want a piece of Tommy’s future as well.

Her Frozen Heart is a thrilling mystery from Lulu Taylor, top ten bestselling author of The Snow Rose.


Review:

Simmering, menacing, and dramatic!

Her Frozen Heart is predominantly set in the Oxfordshire countryside during the late 1940s, as well as present day, and is told from two different perspectives, Tommy, a young widow struggling to keep her family fed, safe, and warm during the harshest of winters, continuing war rations, and an unexpected visitor with malicious intentions; and Caitlyn, a young woman who finds her life unexpectedly turned upside down by the sudden loss of her husband and a secret that threatens everything she thought she knew about her marriage.

The writing is descriptive and unsettling. The characters in both time periods are troubled, determined, protective, and strong. And the plot, including all the subplots, intertwine and unravel subtly into a mysterious tale filled with life, loss, family, survival, heartbreak, betrayal, obsession, romance, misdirection, manipulation, and violence.

Overall, Her Frozen Heart is a clever, atmospheric, brooding thriller that reminds us just how quickly life can spin out of control and just how parasitic some of our relationships can truly be.

 

This novel is available in Canada on September 25, 2018.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                        

 

 

Thank you to Publishers Group Canada for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Lulu Taylor

Lulu Taylor moved around the world as a child before her family settled in the Oxfordshire countryside. She studied English at Oxford University and had a successful career in publishing before becoming a writer. Her first novel, Heiresses was published in 2007 and nominated for the RNA Readers' Choice award. It was followed by Midnight Girls, Beautiful Creatures, Outrageous Fortune, The Winter Folly, The Snow Angel, The Winter Children, and The Snow Rose. She lives in Dorset, England, with her husband and two children.

Photograph by Alicia Clarke.

#BlogTour #GuestPost
Silencing Anna by Sadie Mitchell
@sadiedmitchell @rararesources

#BlogTour #GuestPost Silencing Anna by Sadie Mitchell @sadiedmitchell @rararesourcesTitle: Silencing Anna

Author: Sadie Mitchell

Published by 3P Publishing on July 6, 2018

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 460

 

 

 

 

Synopsis:

Voices surround Anna as she lies on her hospital bed, but she cannot answer them. Her voice has been taken, along with her mobility and her sight. She can hear the nurses chattering and her family that come to visit. Her mum cries a lot and her dad struggles to deal with what he sees. Life used to be good for Anna, but life can change in a heartbeat, as she knows so well. 

And then there are the people we think we know. When the smile hides the anger. When the beauty hides the beast.

Only Anna knows the truth, but Anna cannot speak.

 

And now Sadie Mitchell with:

 

Hope and Healing

I had done it, I had left my abusive partner.  My friends were proud, my family was proud and everything was going to be okay, or so I was told. 

I didn’t feel okay.  I felt broken.  I felt stupid and foolish.  I felt guilty. My children had suffered – pulled from the home they loved, into a new bigger better house for a few months – only to be pulled from there just as soon as they had settled in.  Now we were renting a tiny little cottage and we had fuck all to put in it.  Nice one Sadie.

To top it all off, I still loved my ex.  Every night I dreamt that we were back together, only to wake with the crushing disappointment that we weren’t because he was an abuser and the reality was, he was never going to change.  It was horrible, especially as I only managed a few hours sleep a night, if that. 

So I found us a cottage that I could barely afford and I started over.  The letting agent must’ve thought I was crazy, walking behind him from room to room sobbing as I went.  

‘Do you like it?’ he asked, trying not to look at me, ‘no, but I’ll take it,’ I replied.

I collected the keys on an uncharacteristically sunny day.  My wonderful friend came with me and together we brought a few bags and boxes to start the process of moving.  I remember choking back the tears.  Swallowing hard.  I didn’t want to move here, I wanted to rewind and find that my partner was who I had believed him to be at the start.  I wanted the caring man who loved me, not the controlling monster who hurt me, but here I was, traipsing up my new path with my arms laden with boxes, swallowing the tears.  Then, just as we were almost done, I stood on a loose thread that was hanging from the bottom of my jeans.  I had been meaning to cut it off but hadn’t got around to it. I tumbled over the threshold of the cottage, box in my arms, unable to put my hands out to break my fall and landed face first onto the collapsing box, its contents strewn across the floor.  My friend rushed to help me, and we sat on the floor as she held me like a child.  The floodgates had opened, and I was sobbing like a child.

‘It’s going to be okay,’ she promised. ‘You are strong,’ she reminded me. ‘I will help you,’ she said. And then I noticed how beautiful and light the room was.  The early spring sun shone brightly, and I just knew that my friend was right.  I had done the right thing. Abuse is not love.  Walking on eggshells is not love, name calling is not love, bruises are not love, but my friend helping me up from my knees and being there for me, rooting for me and listening to me, that is love.  And that moment, sitting in the early spring sunshine, with my friend beside me, I knew that things really would get better.  I felt the first feelings of hope and healing right there and then, and I knew that everything would be okay.

 

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy of this novel from your favourite retailer or from the following link!

          

 

 

About Sadie Mitchell

This is Sadie’s first novel. She has three children and and a rabbit. She works in healthcare. When she’s not writing or working most of her life seems to involve picking up toys and finding things she’d forgotten she has.

 

Thank you to Sadie Mitchell for being featured on my blog today!

 

#BookReview
The Exes’ Revenge by Jo Jakeman
@JoJakemanWrites @PenguinRandomCA

#BookReview The Exes’ Revenge by Jo Jakeman @JoJakemanWrites @PenguinRandomCATitle: The Exes' Revenge

Author: Jo Jakeman

Published by Berkley Books on September 11, 2018

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 352

Format: Paperback, ARC

Source: Penguin Random House Canada

Book Rating: 7.5/10

 

 

Synopsis:

Originally titled Sticks and Stones

A wickedly dark debut thriller about three women who’ve all been involved with the same man and realize the one thing they have in common is that they all want revenge against him…

Divorces are often messy, and Imogen’s is no exception. Phillip Rochester is controlling, abusive, and determined to make things as difficult as possible. When he shows up without warning demanding that Imogen move out of their house by the end of the month or he’ll sue for sole custody of their young son, Imogen is ready to snap.

In a moment of madness, Imogen does something unthinkable–something that puts her in control for the first time in years. She’s desperate to protect her son and to claim authority over her own life.

But she wasn’t expecting both Phillip’s ex-wife and new girlfriend to get tangled up in her plans. These three very different women–and unlikely allies–reluctantly team up to take revenge against a man who has wronged them all.


Review:

Ominous, relentless, and intense!

The Exes’ Revenge is a character-driven, domestic thriller that delves into how much relationships define us and reminds us that hell hath no fury as a woman scorned.

The prose is gritty and taut. The characters, including the sinister, despicable villain are consumed, ruthless, complex, and vulnerable. And the plot, using a back-and-forth, past/present style does a nice job of building tension and unease as it subtly intertwines and unravels an intricate web of lies, secrets, abuse, control, desperation, vengeance, violence, and manipulation.

Overall, The Exes’ Revenge is an unnerving, relentless, satisfying read and even though I felt the plot was slightly unrealistic at times it is still a compelling, entertaining debut for Jakeman, and I can’t wait to read what she comes up with next.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                                        

 

 

Thank you to Penguin Random House Canada for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Jo Jakeman

Jo Jakeman was the winner of the Friday Night Live competition at the York Festival of Writing in 2016. Born in Cyprus, she worked for many years in London before moving to the countryside with her husband and twin boys. The Exes' Revenge is her debut thriller.

Photo by Ollie Grove.

#GuestPost
What’s Left Unsaid by Deborah Stone
@DeborahStone_ @matadorbooks
#Lovebooksgrouptours

#GuestPost What’s Left Unsaid by Deborah Stone @DeborahStone_  @matadorbooks #LovebooksgrouptoursTitle: What's Left Unsaid

Author: Deborah Stone

Published by Matador on July 19, 2018

Genres: Mystery/Thriller, Women's Fiction

Pages: 208

 

 

 

 

Synopsis:

Sasha is just about managing to hold her life together. She is raising her teenage son Zac, coping with an absent husband and caring for her ageing, temperamental and alcoholic mother, as well as holding down her own job. But when Zac begins to suspect that he has a secret sibling, Sasha realises that she must relive the events of a devastating night which she has done her best to forget for the past nineteen years.

Sasha’s mother, Annie, is old and finds it difficult to distinguish between past and present and between truth and lies. As Annie sinks deeper back into her past, she revisits the key events in her life which have shaped her emotionally. Through it all, she remains convinced that her dead husband Joe is watching and waiting for her. But there’s one thing she never told him, and as painful as it is for her to admit the truth, Annie is determined to go to Joe with a guilt-free conscience.

As the plot unfurls, traumas are revealed and lies uncovered, revealing long-buried secrets which are at the root of Annie and Sasha’s fractious relationship.

 

 

And now Deborah Stone with:

 

Why I Wrote What’s Left Unsaid Now

I’ve always wanted to write a novel, but I’ve left it late-ish in life, partly because I was doing other things, like working and bringing up my children and partly because I just couldn’t decide what I wanted to write about. Whilst I still work as a consultant, my boys are men now (well, most of the time!) and I decided that if I was ever going to write my novel, I had better get on with it.

The plus side of writing when you’re that bit older is that you have more life experience to draw on…you’ve met more people, loved, lost, understood real happiness and profound sadness and heard a lot of stories. It took me a long time to get inspired and to develop the themes I wanted to explore, but slowly I realised that I wanted to investigate the impact of trauma on people as children and how it shapes their later behaviour as adults. Annie, the grandmother in my novel, is evacuated at the age of five and stays with a woman who mistreats her. On her return, she suffers a nervous breakdown. This actually happened to my mother. Although my own mother has never spoken to me about her trauma in detail, the image of such a small child away from her parents, frightened and utterly alone has always haunted me, especially once I had had my own children. I piled further trauma on Annie in the novel -which isn’t grounded in truth – but helped me to explore why she might reject her own child later on and what other behavioural problems she might develop in order to manage her demons. In turn, this allowed me to move onto the next generation and explore the impact that Annie’s behaviour has on her daughter, Sasha, who is forced to cope unsupported with many other trials of her own.

 

 

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy of this novel from your favourite retailer or from the following link!

 

 

 

About Deborah Stone

Deborah Stone read English Literature at Durham University. She lives in North London with her husband, two sons and her dog.

 

Thank you to Deborah Stone for being featured on my blog today!

 

#BlogTour #BookReview
Truth and Lies by Caroline Mitchell
@Caroline_writes @midaspr

#BlogTour #BookReview Truth and Lies by Caroline Mitchell @Caroline_writes @midasprTitle: Truth and Lies

Author: Caroline Mitchell

Series: DI Amy Winter #1

Published by Thomas & Mercer on August 30, 2018

Genres: Mystery/Thriller, Police Procedural

Pages: 348

Format: Paperback, ARC

Source: Thomas & Mercer, Midas PR

Book Rating: 9/10

 

Synopsis:

Meet Amy Winter: Detective Inspector, daughter of a serial killer.

DI Amy Winter is hoping to follow in the footsteps of her highly respected police officer father. But when a letter arrives from the prison cell of Lillian Grimes, one half of a notorious husband-and-wife serial-killer team, it contains a revelation that will tear her life apart.

Responsible for a string of heinous killings decades ago, Lillian is pure evil. A psychopathic murderer. And Amy’s biological mother. Now, she is ready to reveal the location of three of her victims—but only if Amy plays along with her twisted game.

While her fellow detectives frantically search for a young girl taken from her mother’s doorstep, Amy must confront her own dark past. Haunted by blurred memories of a sister who sacrificed herself to save her, Amy faces a race against time to uncover the missing bodies.

But what if, from behind bars, Grimes has been pulling the strings even tighter than Amy thought? And can she overcome her demons to prevent another murder?


Review:

Gripping, twisty, and sophisticated!

Truth and Lies is an intelligent, suspenseful, police procedural that introduces us to DI Amy Winter, a resilient, determined young woman who finds herself immersed in the investigation to find a missing teen, while also struggling to come to grips with the knowledge that her biological parents were serial killers and three of their victims still need to be found.

The prose is intricate and absorbing. The characters, including the sinister, despicable villainess are intriguing and multilayered. And the plot, including all the subplots, unravel and intertwine into a compelling tale full of deception, abuse, deprivation, manipulation, mayhem, violence, and murder.

Overall, Truth and Lies is a dark, entertaining, creepy read that has all the elements you look for in a thrilling mystery and is an excellent start for the new DI Amy Winter series by Mitchell.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                              

 

 

Thank you to Caroline Mitchell and Midas PR for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Caroline Mitchell

Caroline originates from Ireland and now lives with her family in a pretty village on the coast of Essex. A former police detective, Caroline has worked in CID and specialised in roles dealing with vulnerable victims, high-risk victims of domestic abuse, and serious sexual offences. She now writes full time.
Set in Shoreditch, London, her DS Ruby Preston trilogy is described as terrifying, addictive serial killer thrillers.
Caroline also writes psychological thrillers. The most recent, Silent Victim, has been described as ‘brilliantly gripping and deliciously creepy’. Her new DI Amy Winter series is published by Thomas & Mercer and launches 2018.

#BookReview
Not Her Daughter by Rea Frey
@ReaFrey_Author @StMartinsPress

#BookReview Not Her Daughter by Rea Frey @ReaFrey_Author @StMartinsPressTitle: Not Her Daughter

Author: Rea Frey

Published by St. Martin's Griffin on August 21, 2018

Genres: General Fiction, Women's Fiction

Pages: 352

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: St. Martin's Press, NetGalley

Book Rating: 9/10

 

 

Synopsis:

Emma Grace Townsend. Five years old. Gray eyes. Brown hair. Missing since June.

Emma Townsend is lonely. Living with her cruel mother and clueless father, Emma retreats into her own world of quiet and solitude.

Sarah Walker. Successful entrepreneur. Broken-hearted. Abandoned by her mother. Kidnapper.

Sarah has never seen a girl so precious as the gray-eyed child in a crowded airport terminal—and when a second-chance encounter with Emma presents itself, Sarah takes her, far away from home. But if it’s to rescue a little girl from her damaging mother, is kidnapping wrong?

Amy Townsend. Unhappy wife. Unfit mother. Unsure she wants her daughter back.

Amy’s life is a string of disappointments, but her biggest issue is her inability to connect with her daughter. And now she’s gone without a trace.

As Sarah and Emma avoid the nationwide hunt, they form an unshakeable bond. But her real mother is at home, waiting for her to return—and the longer the search for Emma continues, Amy is forced to question if she really wants her back.

Emotionally powerful and wire-taut, Not Her Daughter raises the question of what it means to be a mother—and how far someone will go to keep a child safe.


Review:

Riveting, affecting, and unique!

Not Her Daughter is a thought-provoking, clever, tight thriller that highlights just how fine the line between criminal intent and morally acceptable behaviour can be when it comes to the protection of children.

The writing is taut and emotive. The characters are complex, troubled, and authentic. And the plot told from dual points of view and alternating timelines, before-and-after the kidnapping, builds subtly to create tension and suspense as it unravels piece-by-piece all the motivations, actions, personalities, and relationships within it.

Not Her Daughter at its core is a novel about family, relationships, secrets, parental abuse, abduction, and the lengths one will go to protect, care, and love a child. It’s expressive, absorbing, unnerving, and without a doubt an exceptional debut for Frey.

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                                        

 

 

 

Thank you to St. Martin’s Press for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Rea Frey

Rea Frey is the author of four nonfiction books. NOT HER DAUGHTER is her debut novel.

When she’s not exercising, mothering, adulting, wifing, eating, or writing about herself in the third person, you can find her hard at work on her next book and ghostwriting for other people.

%d bloggers like this: