Genre: Young Adult

#BookReview Better Than the Movies by Lynn Painter @LAPainter @simonkids @SimonSchusterCA #BetterThantheMovies #LynnPainter

#BookReview Better Than the Movies by Lynn Painter @LAPainter @simonkids @SimonSchusterCA #BetterThantheMovies #LynnPainter Title: Better Than the Movies

Author: Lynn Painter

Published by: Simon & Schuster BFYR on May 4, 2021

Genres: Contemporary Romance, Young Adult

Pages: 368

Format: Paperback, ARC

Source: Simon & Schuster Canada

Book Rating: 9/10

In this rom-com about rom-coms, in the spirit of Kasie West and Jenn Bennett, a hopeless romantic teen attempts to secure a happily-ever-after moment with her forever crush, but finds herself reluctantly drawn to the boy next door.

Perpetual daydreamer Liz Buxbaum gave her heart to Michael a long time ago. But her cool, aloof forever crush never really saw her before he moved away. Now that he’s back in town, Liz will do whatever it takes to get on his radar—and maybe snag him as a prom date—even befriend Wes Bennet.

The annoyingly attractive next-door neighbor might seem like a prime candidate for romantic comedy fantasies, but Wes has only been a pain in Liz’s butt since they were kids. Pranks involving frogs and decapitated lawn gnomes do not a potential boyfriend make. Yet, somehow, Wes and Michael are hitting it off, which means Wes is Liz’s in.

But as Liz and Wes scheme to get Liz noticed by Michael so she can have her magical prom moment, she’s shocked to discover that she likes being around Wes. And as they continue to grow closer, she must reexamine everything she thought she knew about love—and rethink her own ideas of what Happily Ever After should look like.


Review:

Cute, quirky, and absolutely adorable!

Better Than the Movies is a lighthearted, comical tale that takes you into the life of teenager Liz Buxbaum as she navigates a senior year full of emotional, momentous occasions, her childhood crush returning to town from Texas, and some dating help from her irritating, yet annoyingly sexy neighbour, Wes.

The writing is fluid and smooth. The characters are friendly, lovable, and sweet. And the plot is an entertaining, enjoyable mix of familial drama, teenage angst, hard work, awkward situations, embarrassing moments, goals, dreams, friendship, and first love.

Overall, Better Than the Movies is a humorous, charming, swoony read by Painter that pays homage to all the greatest romcoms, gave me a new book boyfriend in Wes, and reminded me as a tween in the 80s just how much I really wanted Jake Ryan to pick me up in his Porsche and ask me to make a wish over a birthday cake while If You Were Here by the Thompson Twins played in the background.

 

This book is available on May 4, 2021.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

         

 

 

Thank you to Simon & Schuster Canada for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Lynn Painter

Lynn Painter lives in Omaha, Nebraska, with her husband and pack of wild children. She’s a biweekly contributor to the Omaha World-Herald’s parenting section, even though she is the polar-opposite of a Pinterest mom. When she isn’t chasing kids, she can be found reading, writing, and shot-gunning Red Bulls.

Photo by Jackson Okun.

#BookReview The Murder Game by Carrie Doyle @SourcebooksFire @RaincoastBooks #TheMurderGame #CarrieDoyle

#BookReview The Murder Game by Carrie Doyle @SourcebooksFire @RaincoastBooks #TheMurderGame #CarrieDoyle Title: The Murder Game

Author: Carrie Doyle

Published by: Sourcebooks Fire on Apr. 6, 2021

Genres: Young Adult, Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 384

Format: Paperback, ARC

Source: Raincoast Books

Book Rating: 7/10

What if your best friend and roommate killed a teacher at your prep school? Or what if he didn’t do it, but he’s being framed, and you’re the only person who can save him?

Luke Chase didn’t mean to get caught up solving the mystery of Mrs. Heckler’s murder. He just wanted to spend alone time with the new British girl at their boarding school.

But little did he know someone would end up dead right next to their rendezvous spot in the woods, and his best friend and roommate Oscar Weymouth would be the one to take the blame. With suspects aplenty and a past that’s anything but innocent, Luke Chase reluctantly calls on his famous survival skills to solve the mystery and find the true killer.


Review:

Mysterious, twisty, and well-paced!

The Murder Game is an intriguing murder mystery that transports you to St. Benedict’s boarding school in eastern Connecticut and into the life of Luke Chase, a teenage student who, after a faculty member is found murdered and his roommate becomes the prime suspect, decides to conduct his own investigation to discover the real culprit and to prove his friend’s innocence once and for all.

The writing is light and smooth. The characters are intelligent, resourceful, and impulsive. And the plot is a creative whodunit full of amateur sleuthing, dangerous situations, suspects, deduction, friendship, secrets, and murder.

Overall, The Murder Game is a quick, engaging, sinister YA thriller by Doyle that is satisfying and entertaining as long as you’re able to suspend disbelief for a little while.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links. 

          

 

 

Thank you to Raincoast Books for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Carrie Doyle

Carrie Doyle is the best selling author of multiple novels and screenplays that span many genres, ranging from cozy mysteries to chick lit to comedies to Young Adult.

A born and bred New Yorker, Carrie has spent most of her life in Manhattan, with the exception of a six-year stint in Europe (Russia; France; England) and five years in Los Angeles. A former Editor-in-Chief of the Russian edition of Marie Claire, Carrie has written dozens of articles for various magazines, including countless celebrity profiles. She is also a screenwriter, and her movie Intern (co-written with Jill Kargman) premiered at the Sundance Film Festival.

Carrie has three books that will be published in 2021: Death on Bull Path (the fourth book of the Hamptons Murder Mystery Series); The Murder Game; and It Takes Two to Mango (the first book of the Trouble in Paradise Series.)

Carrie currently splits her time between New York and Long Island, with her husband and two teenage sons.

Photo courtesy of Author's Website.

#BookReview Girl From Nowhere by Tiffany Rosenhan @tiffanyrosenhan @uplitreads @bloomsburykids #GirlFromNowhere #TiffanyRosenhan #UplitReads

#BookReview Girl From Nowhere by Tiffany Rosenhan @tiffanyrosenhan @uplitreads @bloomsburykids #GirlFromNowhere #TiffanyRosenhan #UplitReads Title: Girl From Nowhere

Author: Tiffany Rosenhan

Published by: Bloomsbury Publishing on Jul. 21, 2020

Genres: Young Adult, Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 416

Format: Hardcover

Source: Uplit Reads

Book Rating: 8.5/10

Red Sparrow meets One of Us Is Lying in this action-packed, romance-filled YA debut about a girl trying to outrun her past.

Ninety-four countries. Thirty-one schools. Two bullets.
Now it’s over…or so she thinks.

Sophia arrives in Montana with the promise of a normal high school experience. But after a turbulent few years abroad with her diplomat parents, forgetting the past is easier said than done. After all, “normal” high schoolers aren’t trained in several forms of combat.

Then Sophia meets Aksel and finds herself opening up in ways she never thought she could. Except Sophia’s past is about to catch up with her, and she must confront who she really is, why she was betrayed, and what she is capable of in the name of love and survival.

Full of heart-stopping action and breathtaking romance, this cinematic debut features a girl willing to risk everything to save the life she built for herself.


Review:

Fierce, thrilling, and action-packed!

Girl From Nowhere is a gripping, suspenseful tale that takes us into the life of Sophia Hepworth, a sixteen-year-old girl who after suffering a distressing event in an overseas safe house eighteen hours previously, arrives with her diplomat parents in Waterford, Montana to finally settle down. But running from the past is never that easy and even though she’s making new friends, enjoying high school, and experiencing an unexplainable attraction with the green-eyed, mysterious, Aksel Fredricksen trouble is, unfortunately, brewing just around the corner.

The prose is taut and intense. The characters are complex, intelligent, and resourceful. And the plot is a riveting tale of twists, turns, espionage, passion, angst, intrigue, loyalty, tension, terrorism, violence, corruption, and murder.

Overall, Girl From Nowhere is an epic debut by Rosenhan that features lots of exotic locales, sexual chemistry, battles, adventure, and action. It keeps you invested, engaged, and on the edge of your seat from the very first page, and if you can suspend disbelief for a little while, you will certainly be satisfied and highly entertained.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links. 

          

 

 

Thank you to Uplit Reads for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Tiffany Rosenhan

TIFFANY ROSENHAN is the mother of four young daughters. She has a degree in political science and loves to travel the world with her family and husband, who is a critical care physician. She lives in Millcreek, Utah.

Photograph courtesy of Author's Goodreads Page.

#BookReview Be Dazzled by Ryan La Sala @Ryality @SourcebooksFire @RaincoastBooks #BeDazzled #RyanLaSala

#BookReview Be Dazzled by Ryan La Sala @Ryality @SourcebooksFire @RaincoastBooks #BeDazzled #RyanLaSala Title: Be Dazzled

Author: Ryan La Sala

Published by: Sourcebooks Fire on Jan. 5, 2020

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary Romance, LGBTQIA

Pages: 384

Format: Paperback, ARC

Source: Raincoast Books

Book Rating: 8.5/10

Who’s ready to sparkle??

Project Runway goes to Comic Con in an epic queer love story about creativity, passion, and finding the courage to be your most authentic self.

Raffy has a passion for bedazzling. Not just bedazzling, but sewing, stitching, draping, pattern making–for creation. He’s always chosen his art over everything–and everyone–else and is determined to make his mark at this year’s biggest cosplay competition. If he can wow there, it could lead to sponsorship, then art school, and finally earning real respect for his work. There’s only one small problem… Raffy’s ex-boyfriend, Luca, is his main competition.

Raffy tried to make it work with Luca. They almost made the perfect team last year after serendipitously meeting in the rhinestone aisle at the local craft store–or at least Raffy thought they did. But Luca’s insecurities and Raffy’s insistence on crafting perfection caused their relationship to crash and burn. Now, Raffy is after the perfect comeback, one that Luca can’t ruin.

But when Raffy is forced to partner with Luca on his most ambitious build yet, he’ll have to juggle unresolved feelings for the boy who broke his heart, and his own intense self-doubt, to get everything he’s ever wanted: choosing his art, his way.


Review:

Fresh, uplifting, and cute!

Be Dazzled is a heartwarming, amusing tale featuring the hesitant, closeted Luca and the creative, confident, Raffy as they discover through crafting, cosplay, and the highly competitive Controverse that the heart wants who the heart wants and that some things are definitely worth fighting for.

The writing is creative and light. The characters are talented, loyal, and supportive. And the plot using a back-and-forth, past-present style is a passionate, fascinating tale full of familial drama, teenage angst, hard work, goals, dreams, friendship, and first love.

Overall, Be Dazzled is an enjoyable, entertaining, satisfying novel by La Sala with its endearing characters, heartfelt moments, unique storyline, and happy-ever-after ending.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

            

 

 

Thank you to Raincoast Books for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Ryan La Sala

Ryan La Sala is the author of Reverie and Be Dazzled and is the co-host of Celebrity Book Club.

Photograph courtesy of Author's Goodreads Page.

#BookReview Stay With Me by Jessica Cunsolo @AvaViolet17 @wattpad @RaincoastBooks #StayWithMe #JessicaCunsolo

#BookReview Stay With Me by Jessica Cunsolo @AvaViolet17 @wattpad @RaincoastBooks #StayWithMe #JessicaCunsolo Title: Stay With Me

Author: Jessica Cunsolo

Series: She's With Me #2

Published by: Wattpad on Dec. 1, 2020

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary Romance

Pages: 312

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Raincoast Books

Book Rating: 8/10

Love has never been more dangerous.

In the sequel to her riveting debut, She’s With Me, Wattpad superstar Jessica Cunsolo brings us the dramatic continuation of a romance that always defies the odds…

Amelia Collins finally finds happiness in the arms of Aiden Parker, who accepts her for who she is―even when their pasts become hopelessly entangled in their present and threaten to completely unravel their futures. As Aiden’s accused of a crime he didn’t commit and struggles to keep his family together, Amelia fights a battle of her own: how to tell Aiden she needs to leave.

Determined to put real life on hold for just a little bit longer, Amelia and her friends leave the chaos of King City behind for a beach house and holiday celebrations. Still, it’s only a matter of time before close quarters reveal their secrets and Aiden fully understands the awful truth about the man pursuing Amelia.

Amelia knows she can’t outrun the painful memories of the past and the killer’s obsession with her. Her beloved friends are in danger, and she will not let them be harmed. Overwhelmed by love but haunted by fear, Amelia must decide if staying with the person she loves is worth risking his life.


Review:

Intense, romantic, and a little suspenseful!

Stay With Me is a gripping, coming-of-age tale that picks up right where She’s With Me left off taking us back into Amelia and Aiden’s world where uncertainty, unease, danger, and desperation hangs heavily around them.

The writing is clear and precise. The characters are secretive, impulsive, and supportive. And the plot is a compelling blend of friendship, family, drama, emotion, frustration, jealousy, perilous situations, and young love.

Overall, Stay With Me is another provocative, intriguing, menacing tale by Cunsolo that has the right amount of mystery, romance, and teenage angst to keep you engaged from the very start and with its cliffhanger ending certainly leaves you eager for more. 

Stay With Me should not be read as standalone to be truly appreciated and should only be read after reading She’s With Me (Book #1).

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

     

 

 

Thank you to Raincoast Books for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

About Jessica Cunsolo

Jessica Cunsolo is from a small town near Toronto, Canada. Her first young adult novel titled She's With Me, under the name "AvaViolet" has amassed over 100 million reads. It has since won the 2016 Wattys award, the 2016 Fiction Awards "Best Teen Fiction," and has been published in French and Spanish. It will make it's English debut January 7, 2020.

Jessica graduated with a B.A. in Law and Society. She enjoys the outdoors, cuddling with her dog Leo, and transforming her real life awkward situations into plot-lines for her viral stories.

Photograph courtesy of Author's Goodreads Page.

#BookReview Rage & Ruin (The Harbinger #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout @JLArmentrout @InkyardPress @HarlequinBooks @Bookclubbish #HarlequinPublicityTeam #TheHarbingerSeries #JenniferLArmentrout

#BookReview Rage & Ruin (The Harbinger #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout @JLArmentrout @InkyardPress @HarlequinBooks @Bookclubbish #HarlequinPublicityTeam #TheHarbingerSeries #JenniferLArmentrout Title: Rage and Ruin

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Series: The Harbinger #2

Published by: Inkyard Press on Jun. 9, 2020

Genres: Paranormal Romance, Young Adult, Fantasy

Pages: 576

Format: Hardcover

Source: Harlequin Books

Book Rating: 10/10

Half-angel Trinity and her bonded gargoyle protector, Zayne, have been working with demons to stop the apocalypse while avoiding falling in love. The Harbinger is coming…but who or what is it? All of humankind may fall if Trinity and Zayne can’t win the race against time as dark forces gather.

As tensions rise, they must stay close together and patrol the DC streets at night, seeking signs of the Harbinger, an entity that is killing Wardens and demons with no seeming rhyme or reason. Forbidden to be with each other, Zayne and Trinity fight their feelings and turn to unusual sources for help—the demon Roth and his cohorts. But as deaths pile up and they uncover a sinister plot involving the local high school and endangering someone dear to Zayne, Trin realizes she is being led…herded…played for some unknown end. As anger builds and feelings spiral out of control, it becomes clear that rage may be the ruin of them all.


Review:

Fierce, gripping, and action-packed!

Rage and Ruin is a suspenseful, thrilling tale that picks up right where Storm and Fury left off taking us back into the lives of trueborn Trinity and her protector Zayne as they adapt to their newly formed bond, resist the evergrowing attraction building between them, and hunt down the ever-elusive Harbinger that is increasingly leaving a trail of death and destruction in its wake.

The prose is seductive and intense. The characters are complex, fiery, and stubborn. And the plot is a creative, riveting tale of twists, turns, passion, angst, wrath, loyalty, heartbreak, duty, sizzling tension, violence, humour, forbidden romance, and supernatural abilities.

Overall, Rage and Ruin is another epic tale by Armentrout that features lots of bloody battles, determination, grit, sexual chemistry, heat, adventure, angels, demons, spirits, and fantastical elements. It keeps you invested, engaged, and on the edge of your seat from the very first page, and with its shocking, cliffhanger ending will undoubtedly leave you counting down the days until the third and final novel in this trilogy becomes available, and the battle between good and evil finally comes to a head.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links. 

          

 

 

Thank you to Harlequin Books for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

# 1 New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia with her husband and her Jack Russell, Loki. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn.

Photography courtesy of Author's Goodreads Page.

#BookReview They Went Left by Monica Hesse @MonicaHesse @littlebrown @HBGCanada #TheyWentLeft

#BookReview They Went Left by Monica Hesse @MonicaHesse @littlebrown @HBGCanada #TheyWentLeft Title: They Went Left

Author: Monica Hesse

Published by: Little Brown and Company on Apr. 7, 2020

Genres: Historical Fiction, Young Adult

Pages: 384

Format: Hardcover

Source: HBG Canada

Book Rating: 9/10

Germany, 1945. The soldiers who liberated the Gross-Rosen concentration camp said the war was over, but nothing feels over to eighteen-year-old Zofia Lederman. Her body has barely begun to heal; her mind feels broken. And her life is completely shattered: Three years ago, she and her younger brother, Abek, were the only members of their family to be sent to the right, away from the gas chambers of Auschwitz-Birkenau. Everyone else–her parents, her grandmother, radiant Aunt Maja–they went left.

Zofia’s last words to her brother were a promise: Abek to Zofia, A to Z. When I find you again, we will fill our alphabet. Now her journey to fulfill that vow takes her through Poland and Germany, and into a displaced persons camp where everyone she meets is trying to piece together a future from a painful past: Miriam, desperately searching for the twin she was separated from after they survived medical experimentation. Breine, a former heiress, who now longs only for a simple wedding with her new fiancé. And Josef, who guards his past behind a wall of secrets, and is beautiful and strange and magnetic all at once.

But the deeper Zofia digs, the more impossible her search seems. How can she find one boy in a sea of the missing? In the rubble of a broken continent, Zofia must delve into a mystery whose answers could break her–or help her rebuild her world.


Review:

Heartwrenching, haunting, and hopeful!

They Went Left is a poignant, compelling tale that sweeps you away to post-war Germany and into the life of Zofia Lederman, a young Jewish girl who after being liberated from a Nazi concentration camp and with a mind traumatized by cruelty and violence travels from her home town in Poland to the Foehrenwald Displaced Persons Camp to search for the one family member who may not be lost forever and that she swore to protect, her younger brother, Abek.

The prose is raw and tense. The characters are vulnerable, tortured, and resilient. And the plot is a moving tale about life, love, bravery, strength, loss, deception, hope, survival, and the enduring aftereffects of war.

Overall, They Went Left is a lovely blend of historical facts, realistic fiction, and palpable emotion that does a beautiful job of reminding us that even after suffering the most unimaginable cruelty and wickedness humanity still has an innate ability to want to love and be loved.

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                

 

 

Thank you to HBG Canada for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Monica Hesse

Monica Hesse is the national bestselling author of the true crime love story American Fire, and the historical mystery novel Girl in the Blue Coat, which has been translated into a dozen languages and won the 2017 Edgar award in the Young Adult category. She is a feature writer for the Washington Post, where she has been a winner of the Society for Feature Journalism's Narrative Storytelling award, and a finalist for a Livingston Award and a James Beard Award. Monica lives in Maryland. with her husband and a brainiac dog.

Photography courtesy of Author's Website.

#BookReview Of Curses and Kisses by Sandhya Menon @smenonbooks @simonkids @SimonSchusterCA

#BookReview Of Curses and Kisses by Sandhya Menon @smenonbooks @simonkids @SimonSchusterCA Title: Of Curses and Kisses

Author: Sandhya Menon

Series: St. Rosetta's Academy #1

Published by: Simon Pulse on Feb. 18, 2019

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary Romance

Pages: 384

Format: Paperback, ARC

Source: Simon & Schuster Canada

Book Rating: 8.5/10

From the New York Times bestselling author of When Dimple Met Rishi comes the first novel in a brand-new series set at an elite international boarding school, that’s a contemporary spin on Beauty and the Beast.

Will the princess save the beast?

For Princess Jaya Rao, nothing is more important than family. When the loathsome Emerson clan steps up their centuries-old feud to target Jaya’s little sister, nothing will keep Jaya from exacting her revenge. Then Jaya finds out she’ll be attending the same elite boarding school as Grey Emerson, and it feels like the opportunity of a lifetime. She knows what she must do: Make Grey fall in love with her and break his heart. But much to Jaya’s annoyance, Grey’s brooding demeanor and lupine blue eyes have drawn her in. There’s simply no way she and her sworn enemy could find their fairy-tale ending…right?

His Lordship Grey Emerson is a misanthrope. Thanks to an ancient curse by a Rao matriarch, Grey knows he’s doomed once he turns eighteen. Sequestered away in the mountains at St. Rosetta’s International Academy, he’s lived an isolated existence—until Jaya Rao bursts into his life, but he can’t shake the feeling that she’s hiding something. Something that might just have to do with the rose-shaped ruby pendant around her neck…

As the stars conspire to keep them apart, Jaya and Grey grapple with questions of love, loyalty, and whether it’s possible to write your own happy ending.


Review:

Fresh, uplifting, and magical!

Of Curses and Kisses is an engaging, heartwarming tale that transports you to the international boarding school, St. Rosetta’s Academy in Aspen, Colorado and into the lives of Princess Jaya Rao, a young, Indian senior determined to seek revenge on the Emmerson heir who seems to constantly wreak havoc on her family, and Emmerson Grey, a brooding, reclusive, young man who lives his days under the shadow of a curse placed on his family generations previously.

The writing is light and creative. The characters are diverse, loyal, supportive, and endearing. And the plot told from differing perspectives is a unique, uplifting, coming-of-age tale full of familial responsibility, teenage drama, dreams, goals, traditions, curses, friendship, and first love.

Overall, Of Curses and Kisses is an enjoyable, entertaining, modern retelling of the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast that’s a promising start to a new series by Menon with its amusing characters, heartfelt moments, imaginative storyline, and happy-ever-after ending.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

            

 

 

Thank you to Simon & Schuster Canada for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Sandhya Menon

Sandhya Menon is the New York Times bestselling author of several novels with lots of kissing, girl power, and swoony boys. Her books have been featured in several cool places, including on The Today Show, Teen Vogue, NPR Book Review, Buzzfeed, and Seventeen. A full-time dog servant and part-time writer, she makes her home in the foggy mountains of Colorado.

Photograph courtesy of Author's Goodreads Page.

#BookBlitz #Giveaway Summer Bucket List by T.K. Rapp @TKAM78 @XpressoReads

#BookBlitz #Giveaway Summer Bucket List by T.K. Rapp @TKAM78 @XpressoReads

#BookBlitz #Giveaway Summer Bucket List by T.K. Rapp @TKAM78 @XpressoReads Title: Summer Bucket List

Author: T.K. Rapp

Published by: Independently Published on Jul. 15, 2019

Genres: Contemporary Romance, Young Adult

Pages: 221

Recently graduated from high school, Holland Monroe had no expectations for her last summer before heading off to college to be anything but ordinary.
 
Until she got a job as a waitress at the local country club to make extra money for school.
 
Milo Davis was smart, cute, and absolutely not interested in Holland. At least that was what she believed. But the day she started working at the restaurant, everything changed.
 
Finally together, they were left with only three months to spend time together before she moved away.
 
Good thing they decided to make their time as memorable as possible.
 
But will they remain friends? Or will checking off items on their summer bucket list lead them to something they didn’t expect — Falling in love.
 

Goodreads/Amazon/B&N/iBooks/Kobo

 

EXCERPT:

“Have you ever gone swimming at night?” he asked.

Slowly I shook my head and looked over at him. All my fears, real and completely irrational, were beginning to choke me.

“No.” It was the only thing I was able to eke out.

“You don’t like it,” he questioned, but it was more of an observation.

“I’m terrified,” I admitted.

“But you can swim, right?”

I laughed, thankful he had lightened the mood. I nodded and turned my attention toward the dark abyss in front of me.

“What scares you?”

“Whatever might be in the water. Like the Loch Ness Monster.”

Milo laughed and reached for my hand. “Not real.”

“I know that,” I scoffed. “Doesn’t make me any less scared.”

“I’ll protect you.”

Milo opened his door, and reluctantly I opened my own. As I stepped out of the car I felt the fear travel up my spine, but I wanted to overcome it. He stood at the front of his car and waited for me to join him. Every step I took toward Milo felt heavier than the last until I finally reached him. He took my hand in his and carried a large backpack over his other shoulder.

“What’s the bag for? Are you going to kill me?”

Milo threw his head back and laughed hard. “You’re awesome. And no. It’s towels and some snacks.”

“Why night swimming? Isn’t it dangerous?”

“Well yeah…that’s why it’s the perfect date,” he answered.

My stomach flipped, and not because he was holding my hand. I found my nerves were working overtime and a flood of possibilities came to mind.

“Doesn’t sound so perfect.”

“Trust me,” he said as we continued to walk.

When we got to the shore, the water looked like glass, barely a breeze to make the surface move. Milo spread out a large blanket and set the backpack on top of it while I looked out at the horizon. In the distance, I could see the lights shining from homes across the way. The lake had few public spots that were accessible, and the park always closed at ten. I glanced at my watch and sighed because it was only eight. We had plenty of time to drown before anyone found us.

Milo pulled off his T-shirt and tossed it to the side by the bag. I tried not to look, but when I was caught staring at his stomach, I was thankful for the moonlit darkness.

“Are you going to get in?” he asked.

“I’m not sure.”

I figured he would be frustrated or that he would sulk because I didn’t jump at the chance to go with him. Instead, he walked over and kissed my cheek before walking toward the water.

As he took his first steps into the inky darkness, I watched his figure, admiring the way the moon illuminated his physique. Milo was not one to show off the muscles that he wore beneath his clothing, but they were on full display for me. I wanted so badly to follow him and let go of my fears, but all I could think of were the wild creatures that I saw in movies.

“It’s a little chilly,” he said as he stood waist deep, looking back at me.

“Not helping,” I laughed.

“Not trying to,” he answered with a chuckle.

I grabbed one of the towels that he had set out and opened it up so I could sit down. The warm air covered my body and I started to sweat. Maybe I was sweating because I was nervous, but whatever the reason I began to grow increasingly warm. Milo was still walking deeper into the water when I took off my cover-up, revealing my black bikini.

“Grow up,” I muttered to myself, hoping to gain some courage.

“How you doin’ over there?” Milo asked from the water.

“Great,” I said unconvincingly before laughing softly. “How ‘bout you?”

“Not too bad.”

His body disappeared beneath the water and I watched, waiting for him to come to the surface. When he didn’t come up right away, I sat up a little taller to see if there were any ripples in the water. Panic began to course through my veins and I started to get up as I searched for him in the darkness.

“Milo?” I called out, trying to contain my fear.

I walked toward the shoreline, the water lapping at my feet. Just as I started to take a step in, he surfaced with a loud splash.

 

About T.K. Rapp

T.K. Rapp is a Texas girl born and raised. She earned a B.A. in Journalism from Texas A&M and it was there that she met the love of her life. He had a contract with the U.S. Navy that would take them across both coasts, and ultimately land them back home in Texas.

Upon finally settling in Texas, T.K. worked as a graphic designer and photographer for the family business that her mom started years earlier. She was able to infuse her creativity and passion, into something she enjoyed, but something was still missing. There was a voice in the back of her head that told her to write, so write, she did. And, somewhere on an external hard drive, are several stories she started and never finished.

Now at home, raising her two daughters, T.K. has more time to do the things she loves, which includes photography and writing. When she's not doing one of those, she can be found with her family, which keeps her busy, hanging with family and friends, and mostly relaxing. She is a lover of raunchy humor, gossip blogs and a good books.

 

GIVEAWAY!

$25 Amazon gift card + signed copy of Summer Bucket List 

(Blitz-wide, International)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

XBTBanner1

#BookBlitz #Giveaway Right Girl, Wrong Timing by Natalie Decker @AuthorNatDecker @XpressoReads

#BookBlitz #Giveaway Right Girl, Wrong Timing by Natalie Decker @AuthorNatDecker @XpressoReads

#BookBlitz #Giveaway Right Girl, Wrong Timing by Natalie Decker @AuthorNatDecker @XpressoReads Title: Right Girl Wrong Timing

Author: Natalie Decker

Series: Offsides #3

Published by: Swoon Romance on Mar. 12, 2019

Genres: Contemporary Romance, Young Adult

Pages: 161

Adaline Frost’s life officially sucks. Now that her BFF has found her true love, Addy is constantly stuck being the third wheel. On top of that, she hasn’t started her junior project yet, so her advisor pairs her up with what could only be described as the “Reject Breakfast Club.” Instead of the weirdo and the troublemaker, Addy is forced to work with two stoners, a popular girl, and her crush, Austin Reed, the jock who broke her heart.
 
Austin Reed is sick of being labeled “dumb jock.” If he doesn’t get an A on this project, he can kiss his future goodbye. Austin thought he’d gotten lucky being partners with the very nerdy Adaline Frost, but boy was he wrong. Addy jumps down his throat about his being late and calls him names like “manwhore” on the daily. She has no idea Austin works before and after school in order to help his mom with the bills. Yeah, he’s made mistakes and has had lots of girlfriends, but he doesn’t need Adaline Frost to remind him of it every time he sees her.
 
Can Austin and Addy ever be a thing?
 
Right Girl Wrong Timing is book 3 in the Offsides series by Natalie Decker.
 
 

 

 

EXCERPT:

I’m about to go forward and talk to her, but I divert from that plan as soon as I see Greg stepping up next to her. He’s blocking her from my view with his douchiness.

She said they weren’t dating at the dance. That was weeks ago, so why the hell is he still hanging around her? Why are his fingers clasping wisps of her hair? He shouldn’t be touching her.

This feeling is not sitting right with me at all. Fact is, I’ve never been jealous. Have I been a little envious of the people who go here recently? Maybe. I mean, a few months ago I used to be just like them. New clothes, shoes, going to parties, not having a care in the world. Then my mom lost her awesome job at the hospital due to cuts, Dad left, and shit just went downhill. Now, I have to make sure my mom and I don’t get kicked out of the dump we live in or have anything shut off because of the lack of funds. I’ve never been jealous of a guy dating a girl I was interested in, though. Until Adaline, and I swear this is going to be a problem. It’s already cost me my childhood home. I can’t afford to lose any more.

My fingernails dig into my palm as my hands ball into fists at my sides while I watch Adaline tip back her head and laugh. I need to get a grip. I’m losing it. This shouldn’t bother me. In fact, I shouldn’t even give a shit that they’re hanging out. Adaline and I can’t be anything.

 

GIVEAWAY!

One (1) $10 Starbucks Gift Card (Blitz-wide, International)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

About Natalie Decker

Natalie Decker is the author of RIVAL LOVE series and the Scandalous Boys series. She loves oceans, sunsets, sand between her toes, and carefree days. Her imagination is always going, which some find odd. But she believes in seeing the world in a different light at all times. Her first passion for writing started at age twelve when she had to write a poem for English class. However, seventh grade wasn't her favorite time and books were her source of comfort. She took all college prep classes in High school, and attended the University of Akron. Although she studied Mathematics she never lost her passion for writing or her comfort in books. She's a mean cook in the kitchen, loves her family and friends and her awesome dog infinity times infinity. If she's not writing, reading, traveling, hanging out with her family and friends, then she's off having an adventure. Because Natalie believes in a saying: Your life is your own journey, so make it amazing!

 

XBTBanner1

%d bloggers like this: