Publisher: Mantle Books

#BookReview The Double Life of Daisy Hemmings by Joanna Nadin @joannanadin @PGCBooks @MantleBooks #TheDoubleLifeofDaisyHemmings #JoannaNadin #PGCBooks

#BookReview The Double Life of Daisy Hemmings by Joanna Nadin @joannanadin @PGCBooks @MantleBooks #TheDoubleLifeofDaisyHemmings #JoannaNadin #PGCBooks Title: The Double Life of Daisy Hemmings

Author: Joanna Nadin

Published by: Mantle Books on Sep. 5, 2022

Genres: General Fiction

Pages: 384

Format: Hardcover

Source: Publishers Group Canada

Book Rating: 8/10

The characters in this book are works of fiction. But, then, isn’t everyone . . . ?

1988, Pencalenick, Cornwall.
At seventeen, Jason wants much more from life than working at his father’s pub and when fate, in the form of twins Daisy and Bea and their small circle of friends, offers him a glimpse of another, more glamorous, world, he’s determined to become a part of it. It’s Daisy who Jason is most entranced by, though. Everyone is: she’s the sun around which others orbit.
The trouble with the sun, of course, is that those who get too close risk getting burned – and by the end of the summer, one of the group will be dead.

2018, Camberwell, London.
When famous actress Daisy Hemmings decides it’s time to publish her autobiography, she chooses James Tate to write it. James is a ghost writer: it’s his job to step into other people’s shoes; to tell their stories for them. And he’s good at it. Very good. After all, he’s had years of practice at pretending to be someone he’s not.
But what happens when past and present – and truth and lies – collide?

Joanna Nadin’s The Double Life of Daisy Hemmings is an unflinching, unforgettable novel about the people we are, the people we’d like to be, and the price we pay for getting what we want . . .


Review:

Intricate, intriguing and twisty!

The Double Life of Daisy Hemmings is an intense, complex tale set in Cornwall during 1988, as well as 2018, that takes you into the life of Jason Pengelly, a.k.a. James Tate, a working-class teen who, after getting swept up with a group of wealthy visitors, including twins Daisy and Bea Hicks, has his life irrevocably changed one night when an accident leaves one twin dead and Jason himself presumed dead.

The writing is tense and tight. The characters are secretive, self-involved, and troubled. And the plot, using a past/present, back-and-forth style, unfolds slowly into a simmering tale full of emotion, manipulation, deception, desperation, jealousy, obsession, overindulgence, social status, and competition.

Overall, The Double Life of Daisy Hemmings is a captivating, eerie, bewildering tale by Nadin that does a wonderful job of delving into the dynamic relationship between sisters, especially twins, and reminds us that we only see what people want us to see, and even then we only see what we want to see.

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

         

 

 

 

Thank you to PGC Books for gifting me a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Joanna Nadin

A former broadcast journalist, Downing Street political adviser and government speechwriter, Joanna Nadin is the author of more than eighty books for children and teenagers, including the Flying Fergus series with Sir Chris Hoy, the bestselling Rachel Riley diaries, based on the author’s teenage years, and the Carnegie Medal-nominated Joe All Alone, which is now a BAFTA-winning BBC drama. She is also a lecturer on the MA in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University.

The Talk of Pram Town is her second novel for adults; her first was The Queen of Bloody Everything.

Photo courtesy of Pan Macmillan's Website.

#BookReview The Love of My Life by Rosie Walsh @TheRosieWalsh @PGCBooks @MantleBooks #TheLoveofMyLife #RosieWalsh #PGCBooks

#BookReview The Love of My Life by Rosie Walsh @TheRosieWalsh @PGCBooks @MantleBooks #TheLoveofMyLife #RosieWalsh #PGCBooks Title: The Love of My Life

Author: Rosie Walsh

Published by: Mantle Books on Mar. 15, 2022

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 368

Format: Paperback

Source: Publishers Group Canada

Book Rating: 8.5/10

From the New York Times bestselling author of Ghosted comes a love story wrapped in a mystery: an up-all-night page-turner with a dark secret at its core

I have held you at night for ten years and I didn’t even know your name. We have a child together. A dog, a house.

Who are you?

Emma loves her husband Leo and their young daughter Ruby: she’d do anything for them. But almost everything she’s told them about herself is a lie.

And she might just have got away with it, if it weren’t for her husband’s job. Leo is an obituary writer; Emma a well-known marine biologist. When she suffers a serious illness, Leo copes by doing what he knows best – researching and writing about his wife’s life. But as he starts to unravel the truth, he discovers the woman he loves doesn’t really exist. Even her name isn’t real.

When the very darkest moments of Emma’s past finally emerge, she must somehow prove to Leo that she really is the woman he always thought she was . . .

But first, she must tell him about the other love of her life.


Review:

Intricate, heart-wrenching and guileful!

The Love of My Life is a meticulous, character-driven, domestic thriller that immerses you into the lives of married couple Emma and Leo as they grapple with weighty decisions, potentially make unforgivable choices, and unearth devastating secrets that could destroy their lives forever.

The writing is tight and edgy. The characters are complex, secretive, and troubled. And the plot told from dual perspectives builds briskly as it twists, turns, shocks, surprises, and unravels all the behaviours, motivations, personalities, and relationships within it.

The Love of My Life at its core is a novel about love, life, loss, marriage, family, friendship, secrets, parenting, expectations, manipulation, deception, depression, and the powerful bonds that exist between a parent and their child. It’s an emotionally compelling, absorbing tale that highlights just how many secrets people keep even from those closest to them.

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

            

 

 

 

Thank you to PGC Books for gifting me a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Rosie Walsh

Rosie Walsh is the author of the international bestseller, THE MAN WHO DIDN'T CALL (which was a New York Times bestseller in the US under the title GHOSTED). The book was published in thirty-five languages and has sold more than 1.5 million copies. Her next novel, THE LOVE OF MY LIFE, publishes in the UK and US in Spring 2022, with translations following around the world. THE LOVE OF MY LIFE has already spent several weeks in the top ten bestseller list in Germany after an early release. 

Rosie came to writing after a career in factual television, which took her to some of the remotest places on earth. She wrote her first novel while living in South America, where she met her partner, George. They now live in Devon, UK, with their two young children. 

Photo by Verity Rivers.

#BookReview Annie Stanley, All At Sea by Sue Teddern @PGCBooks @MantleBooks #AnnieStanleyAllAtSea #SueTeddern

#BookReview Annie Stanley, All At Sea by Sue Teddern @PGCBooks @MantleBooks #AnnieStanleyAllAtSea #SueTeddern Title: Annie Stanley, All At Sea

Author: Sue Teddern

Published by: Mantle Books on Feb. 1, 2022

Genres: Women's Fiction

Pages: 368

Format: Hardcover

Source: Publishers Group Canada

Book Rating: 8.5/10

Will losing her dad be the thing that finally prompts Annie Stanley to find herself?

Only she could decide to say goodbye by stealing her father’s ashes and taking him on one last adventure . . .

Annie Stanley is single, unemployed and just a bit stuck when her beloved father dies unexpectedly. Furious at her stepmother’s plans to scatter his ashes somewhere of no emotional significance, Annie seizes the urn and, on a whim, decides to take it on a tour of the thirty-one sea areas that make up the shipping forecast, which her father used to love, despite spending his life in landlocked St Albans.

Travelling around the coastline of Britain searching for the perfect place to say goodbye, Annie meets a unique cast of characters and reconnects with various figures from her past. As she works through her grief and tries to fix her combative relationship with both her stepmother and her sister, she starts to wonder if it might be time to re-think some of the other decisions in her life – including breaking up with her ex . . . but is it too late for a second chance?

A novel about love, loss and the importance of living life to the full, Annie Stanley, All at Sea by Sue Teddern is proof that it’s often the most difficult moments in life that show us what really matters.


Review:

Charming, witty, and uplifting!

Annie Stanley, All At Sea is a sweet, hopeful, delightfully moving tale that takes you into the life of the lonely, grief-stricken Annie Stanley as she unexpectedly embarks on a journey with her father’s ashes to the coastal towns featured in the shipping forecast her father loved and where along the way she’ll end up confronting the past, facing some tough truths, finding peace and contentment, and ultimately discovering her true self.

The prose is smooth and light. The characters are quirky, endearing, and genuine. And the plot is a touching, adventurous tale about life, loss, family, friendship, independence, heartbreak, grief, self-discovery, and love.

Overall, Annie Stanley, All At Sea is one of those books that snuck up and caught me by surprise and was much better than I ever expected. It’s a lovely, emotive, absorbing read by Teddern that reminds us to always live life to the fullest and never be afraid to try something new.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

            

 

 

Thank you to PGC Books for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Sue Teddern

Sue Teddern has been a window dresser, a secretary, a feature writer and a university lecturer. She has over twenty years' scriptwriting experience from episodes of Birds of a Feather for TV and Cooking in a Bedsitter for radio. Annie Stanley, All At Sea is her first novel. She is married and lives in Hove.

Photo courtesy of panmacmillan.com

#BookReview I Thought I Knew You by Penny Hancock @Pennyhancock @MantleBooks @PGCBooks

#BookReview I Thought I Knew You by Penny Hancock @Pennyhancock @MantleBooks @PGCBooks Title: I Thought I Knew You

Author: Penny Hancock

Published by: Mantle Books on Feb. 4, 2020

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 400

Format: Hardcover

Source: Publishers Group Canada

Book Rating: 8/10

For fans of He Said/She Said and Anatomy of a Scandal, Penny Hancock’s I Thought I Knew You is about secrets and lies – and whose side you take when it really matters.

Who do you know better? Your oldest friend? Or your child?
And who should you believe when one accuses the other of an abhorrent crime?

Jules and Holly have been best friends since university. They tell each other everything, trading revelations and confessions, and sharing both the big moments and the small details of their lives: Holly is the only person who knows about Jules’s affair; Jules was there for Holly when her husband died. And their two children – just three years apart – have grown up together.

So when Jules’s daughter Saffie makes a serious allegation against Holly’s son Saul, neither woman is prepared for the devastating impact this will have on their friendship or their families.

Especially as Holly, in spite of her principles, refuses to believe her son is guilty.


Review:

Pensive, intricate, and raw!

I Thought I Knew You is a gripping, domestic drama that delves into the unbreakable bond between a mother and her child and reminds us that when push comes to shove a mother will defend her child to the detriment of all other relationships regardless of how close or enduring.

The prose is eloquent and absorbing. The characters are multilayered, well developed, and troubled. And the plot told from two different perspectives uses an alternating, back-and-forth style to create tension and unease as it subtly unravels all the personalities, behaviours, relationships, and histories within it.

I Thought I Knew You is, ultimately, a novel about parenting, friendship, trust, loyalty, secrets, betrayal, repercussions, scandal, and community fallout. It is certainly an edgy novel by Hancock that is not only thought-provoking but emotionally compelling.

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                

 

 

Thank you to Publishers Group Canada for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Penny Hancock

Penny grew up in South East London and then did an English degree in Newcastle Upon Tyne. For several years she taught English as a foreign language in Italy, Greece and Morocco. She then took a PGCE, got a job as a Primary school teacher in an inner city London school, and moved into her partner Andy’s short-life house in East London, which is now part of the hardcore under the M11 that links their new home in Cambridge with her birth place in Greenwich!

While bringing up their three children, she continued to teach in primary schools, taught English to asylum seekers, and ran adult education classes in writing. She also wrote articles for various papers (The Independent, The Guardian, The Times Ed, The Sunday Express magazine, and Child Education, amongst others) specialising in family and education. Penny has also written readers for English language learners for Cambridge University Press, and a Primary English course for children published by Longmans. It was an Arvon writing course and an MA in creative writing at Anglia Ruskin University that encouraged her to complete her first novel.

Photograph courtesy of Author's Goodreads Page.

#BookReview The Glovemaker by Ann Weisgarber @AnnWeisgarber @MantleBooks @PGCBooks

#BookReview The Glovemaker by Ann Weisgarber @AnnWeisgarber @MantleBooks @PGCBooks Title: The Glovemaker

Author: Ann Weisgarber

Published by: Mantle Books on Apr. 9, 2019

Genres: Historical Fiction

Pages: 304

Format: Paperback, ARC

Source: Publishers Group Canada

Book Rating: 8.5/10

From the critically acclaimed author of The Personal History of Rachel DuPree, comes a stunning historical novel for fans of Cold Mountain.

For almost four years, men came to my cabin carrying trouble on their backs, each one haunted and looking over their shoulders. They showed up during the spring, they appeared in the summer and early fall. But never now, never in January…

Winter, 1888. In the inhospitable lands of Utah Territory, glovemaker Deborah Tyler awaits her husband’s return home after months working across the state. But as his due date comes and goes without a word, Deborah starts to fear the worst. Facing a future alone, matters are only compounded when a desperate stranger arrives on her doorstep. And with him, trouble.

For although the man claims just to need a place to rest for the night, he wouldn’t be here in the bitter month of January if he wasn’t on the run. And where he goes, lawmen are sure to follow. Lawmen who wouldn’t think twice about burning Deborah’s home to the ground if they thought she’d helped their fugitive.

With her husband’s absence felt stronger by the minute, Deborah must make a decision. A decision that will change her life forever.


Review:

Unnerving, atmospheric, and insightful!

The Glovemaker is an immersive tale that sweeps you away to the harsh territory of canyon country, Southern Utah during the late 1880s when the strict rules and practice of polygamy by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints prompted even some of their most faithful followers to drift away to remote areas and create new, smaller communities of their own.

The prose is concise and expressive. The characters are hardy, resourceful, isolated, and tormented. And the plot, with an underlying current of dread, is a suspenseful, emotional filled tale of family, faith, loss, love, secrets, persecution, determination, morality, community, and violence.

Overall, The Glovemaker is a beautifully written, powerful, unique story, and even though there is not much known about these small groups of Mormon nonconformists, Weisberger has done a remarkable job of taking the barest of historical facts and surrounding them with fiction that is richly described, mysterious, believable, and exceptionally fascinating.

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                                            

 

 

Thank you to Publishers Group Canada for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Ann Weisgarber

Ann Weisgarber was born and raised in Kettering, Ohio. She has lived in Boston, Massachusetts, and Iowa, but now splits her time between Sugar
Land and Galveston, Texas. Her first novel,The Personal History of Rachel Dupree, was longlisted for the Orange Prize and shortlisted for the Orange Prize for New Writers. Her follow-up book, The Promise, was a finalist in the Western Writers of America Best Historical Fiction Awards.The Glovemaker is Ann's third novel.

 

%d bloggers like this: