Publisher: Thomas & Mercer

#BlogTour #BookReview
Truth and Lies by Caroline Mitchell
@Caroline_writes @midaspr

#BlogTour #BookReview Truth and Lies by Caroline Mitchell @Caroline_writes @midasprTitle: Truth and Lies

Author: Caroline Mitchell

Series: DI Amy Winter #1

Published by Thomas & Mercer on August 30, 2018

Genres: Mystery/Thriller, Police Procedural

Pages: 348

Format: Paperback, ARC

Source: Thomas & Mercer, Midas PR

Book Rating: 9/10

 

Synopsis:

Meet Amy Winter: Detective Inspector, daughter of a serial killer.

DI Amy Winter is hoping to follow in the footsteps of her highly respected police officer father. But when a letter arrives from the prison cell of Lillian Grimes, one half of a notorious husband-and-wife serial-killer team, it contains a revelation that will tear her life apart.

Responsible for a string of heinous killings decades ago, Lillian is pure evil. A psychopathic murderer. And Amy’s biological mother. Now, she is ready to reveal the location of three of her victims—but only if Amy plays along with her twisted game.

While her fellow detectives frantically search for a young girl taken from her mother’s doorstep, Amy must confront her own dark past. Haunted by blurred memories of a sister who sacrificed herself to save her, Amy faces a race against time to uncover the missing bodies.

But what if, from behind bars, Grimes has been pulling the strings even tighter than Amy thought? And can she overcome her demons to prevent another murder?


Review:

Gripping, twisty, and sophisticated!

Truth and Lies is an intelligent, suspenseful, police procedural that introduces us to DI Amy Winter, a resilient, determined young woman who finds herself immersed in the investigation to find a missing teen, while also struggling to come to grips with the knowledge that her biological parents were serial killers and three of their victims still need to be found.

The prose is intricate and absorbing. The characters, including the sinister, despicable villainess are intriguing and multilayered. And the plot, including all the subplots, unravel and intertwine into a compelling tale full of deception, abuse, deprivation, manipulation, mayhem, violence, and murder.

Overall, Truth and Lies is a dark, entertaining, creepy read that has all the elements you look for in a thrilling mystery and is an excellent start for the new DI Amy Winter series by Mitchell.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                              

 

 

Thank you to Caroline Mitchell and Midas PR for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Caroline Mitchell

Caroline originates from Ireland and now lives with her family in a pretty village on the coast of Essex. A former police detective, Caroline has worked in CID and specialised in roles dealing with vulnerable victims, high-risk victims of domestic abuse, and serious sexual offences. She now writes full time.
Set in Shoreditch, London, her DS Ruby Preston trilogy is described as terrifying, addictive serial killer thrillers.
Caroline also writes psychological thrillers. The most recent, Silent Victim, has been described as ‘brilliantly gripping and deliciously creepy’. Her new DI Amy Winter series is published by Thomas & Mercer and launches 2018.

#BookReview
A Steep Price by Robert Dugoni
@robertdugoni @midaspr

#BookReview A Steep Price by Robert Dugoni @robertdugoni @midasprTitle: A Steep Price

Author: Robert Dugoni

Series: Tracy Crosswhite #6

Published by Thomas & Mercer on June 26, 2018

Genres: Mystery/Thriller, Police Procedural

Pages: 380

Format: Paperback, ARC

Source: Midas PR

Book Rating: 9/10

 

Synopsis:

New York Times bestselling author Robert Dugoni’s thrilling series continues as Seattle homicide detective Tracy Crosswhite is plunged into a case of family secrets and murder…

Called in to consult after a young woman disappears, Tracy Crosswhite has the uneasy feeling that this is no ordinary missing-persons case. When the body turns up in an abandoned well, Tracy’s suspicions are confirmed. Estranged from her family, the victim had balked at an arranged marriage and had planned to attend graduate school. But someone cut her dreams short.

Solving the mystery behind the murder isn’t Tracy’s only challenge. The detective is keeping a secret of her own: she’s pregnant. And now her biggest fear seems to be coming true when a new detective arrives to replace her. Meanwhile, Tracy’s colleague Vic Fazzio is about to take a fall after his investigation into the murder of a local community activist turns violent and leaves an invaluable witness dead.

Two careers are on the line. And when more deadly secrets emerge, jobs might not be the only things at risk.


Review:

Solid, intense, and captivating!

In this latest novel by Dugoni, A Steep Price, we head back to Seattle where Tracy Crosswhite and her coworkers on the Seattle PD find themselves immersed in both the investigation of a murdered mother with some dangerous enemies and the disappearance of an Indian American, pre-med student whose moonlighting may or may not have gotten her killed.

The prose is descriptive and gritty. The characterization is spot on with all the usual gang back including the tough, determined Tracy Crosswhite whose greatest struggles involve her memories, secrets, and new pregnancy. And the engrossing plot is a tightly-paced, ominous tale full of twists, turns, surprises, violence, and murder.

Overall, A Steep Price is a highly entertaining, gripping, timely thriller that highlights Dugoni’s exceptionally ability to write police procedurals that have well-drawn characters and authentic storylines. It is the sixth novel in the Tracy Crosswhite series, and if you’re not already reading this series, you really should be!

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links!

                              

 

 

Thank you to Midas PR and Thomas & Mercer for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Robert Dugoni

Robert Dugoni is the No. 1 Kindle bestselling and No. 1 Wall Street Journal bestselling author of the Tracy Crosswhite series, including My Sister’s Grave, Her Final Breath, In the Clearing, The Trapped Girl, and Close to Home. His books with Amazon Publishing have reached more than 3 million readers through print sales and digital downloads, and have twice been nominated for the International Thriller Award. He is also the author of the Edgar Award–nominated The 7th Canon; the New York Times bestselling David Sloane series, which includes The Jury Master, Wrongful Death, Bodily Harm, Murder One, and The Conviction; the stand-alone novel Damage Control; and the nonfiction exposé The Cyanide Canary, a Washington Post Best Book of the Year selection.

Dugoni is a two-time nominee for the Harper Lee Award for Legal Fiction and the recipient of the Nancy Pearl Award for fiction.

 

#BlogTour #Excerpt
A Steep Price by Robert Dugoni
@robertdugoni @midaspr

#BlogTour #Excerpt A Steep Price by Robert Dugoni @robertdugoni @midasprTitle: A Steep Price

Author: Robert Dugoni

Series: Tracy Crosswhite #6

Published by Thomas & Mercer on June 26, 2018

Genres: Mystery/Thriller, Police Procedural

Pages: 380

 

 

 

Synopsis:

New York Times bestselling author Robert Dugoni’s thrilling series continues as Seattle homicide detective Tracy Crosswhite is plunged into a case of family secrets and murder…

Called in to consult after a young woman disappears, Tracy Crosswhite has the uneasy feeling that this is no ordinary missing-persons case. When the body turns up in an abandoned well, Tracy’s suspicions are confirmed. Estranged from her family, the victim had balked at an arranged marriage and had planned to attend graduate school. But someone cut her dreams short.

Solving the mystery behind the murder isn’t Tracy’s only challenge. The detective is keeping a secret of her own: she’s pregnant. And now her biggest fear seems to be coming true when a new detective arrives to replace her. Meanwhile, Tracy’s colleague Vic Fazzio is about to take a fall after his investigation into the murder of a local community activist turns violent and leaves an invaluable witness dead.

Two careers are on the line. And when more deadly secrets emerge, jobs might not be the only things at risk.

 

Excerpt:

Faz looked up when he heard the thrum of a hovering news helicopter. First thing they’d need to do, if Billy hadn’t done it already, was to get the helicopter the hell out of the area. They badged the officer holding the police log, scribbled their names, badge numbers, and time of their arrival in the log, and ducked beneath yellow-and-black crime scene tape. Most of the officers had congregated around a small playground in the center courtyard of the U-shaped apartment building. The body lay beneath a blue sheet near a green jungle gym. Billy stood talking to one of several uniformed officers but he broke off the conversation when he saw Faz and Del.

“You call in about the helicopter?” Faz asked.

“Yeah,” Billy said, not sounding optimistic his call  would do any good. News helicopters could only be fined for being in a police no-fly zone. If the story were big enough, the station would stay and pay the fine.

“Any chance we can argue the apartment is in King County?” Del said.

“I wish,” Billy said.

Some of the streets in South Park were within the King County Sheriff’s jurisdiction, and the running joke between the two agencies was that officers rolled bodies across streets to put them in the other’s jurisdiction. Though he meant it as a joke, Del refrained from smiling. With the union trying out body cameras on their uniformed officers, humor no longer had any place at a crime scene. They’d all be on Zoloft by the end of the year.

Billy adjusted his driving cap, which shielded his shaved head from the sun. “This one could get ugly, fast. The decedent is Monique Rodgers.” He paused, as if the name should mean something to them. “You might have read about her or seen her on the news, advocating against gangs and drugs in South Park.”

“The activist?” Faz said. He recalled something on the news about an African American woman speaking to the city council about drugs and gangs in the South Park community.

“Would-be activist,” Billy said. “She didn’t get all that far.”

“Could be the reason she was shot in broad daylight,” Faz said. “Someone sending a message.”

“Likely,” Billy said.

“I’m assuming someone saw it?” Del asked.

“One would think, wouldn’t he?” Billy said. “I’m told there were half a dozen moms out here with their kids, but so far everyone is doing the see no, hear no, speak no English act.”

“They’re scared,” Faz said.

“Anyone else hurt?” Del asked.

Billy shook his head. “Nothing reported.”

“So then we’re assuming she was the intended victim?” Faz asked the question as he considered two brick pony walls along the sidewalk, which would have made for good cover if two rival gangs had started shooting at one another—South Park was also home to the Crips and to a couple Asian gangs, though in far fewer numbers than the Sureños. If two gangs had opened fire, Rodgers could have been an innocent victim caught in the cross fire.

“We are,” Billy said, “given that no one else was shot, and witnesses said they only heard the one shooter.” He glanced up at the news helicopter, still hovering. “TV is going to play up big the fact that it was broad daylight with kids around.”

“Where’s her family now?” Faz asked.

“Grandmother got the kids out of here and took them into the apartment.” He pointed to a corner of the U-shaped building. “Husband has apparently come home from work and is also with them.”

“Is anyone saying anything?” Faz asked.

Billy shook his head. “We can’t even get confirmation on the number of shots or from what direction they were fired. One woman told the responding officer she thought she heard three bullets coming from over there.” Williams pointed to a corner of the building.

“They find shell casings?” Del asked.

“None,” Billy said.

“So the witness either got it wrong,” Faz said, “or the shooter used a revolver.”

“I got patrol searching for casings,” Billy said. He pointed again to the apartments. “And Anderson-Cooper is going door-to-door.”

Desmond Anderson and Lee Cooper worked out of the B Team. Since theAnderson Cooper had become CNN’s regular nightly news anchor, the detectives in Violent Crimes referred to the two-man detective team in the singular.

“We’re going to need the video unit,” Faz said. “One of the businesses around here might have picked up the shooter fleeing or getting into a car.” The street was mixed-use, with apartment buildings, small homes, and corner stores.

“Already on their way,” Billy said.

“How much did the kids see?” Faz asked.

“All of it,” Billy said.

Faz turned to the sound of trumpets and guitars—Mexican music—coming from the street. A cherry-red, two-door Chevelle with black stripes and gold hubcaps bounced up and down as it drove past the apartment complex.

“Send in the clowns,” Del said.

The passenger had a shaved head and a thin mustache that extended to a goatee. Dark sunglasses hugged his face, giving him fly’s eyes. His right arm, heavily tattooed, hung out the window. The car slowed and the man removed his sunglasses, staring at Faz.

“Little Jimmy,” Faz said. “All grown-up.”

Ten years earlier, Faz had put Little Jimmy’s father in prison. Big Jimmy lasted six months. A rival gang member killed him with a shiv.

Little Jimmy smiled, then he made a gun with his thumb and index finger and took aim at Faz, imitating the kick of the barrel as the gun discharged.

 

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy of this novel from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links!

                              

 

 

Thank you to Robert Dugoni and Midas PR for being featured on my blog today!

 

About Robert Dugoni

Robert Dugoni is the No. 1 Kindle bestselling and No. 1 Wall Street Journal bestselling author of the Tracy Crosswhite series, including My Sister’s Grave, Her Final Breath, In the Clearing, The Trapped Girl, and Close to Home. His books with Amazon Publishing have reached more than 3 million readers through print sales and digital downloads, and have twice been nominated for the International Thriller Award. He is also the author of the Edgar Award–nominated The 7th Canon; the New York Times bestselling David Sloane series, which includes The Jury Master, Wrongful Death, Bodily Harm, Murder One, and The Conviction; the stand-alone novel Damage Control; and the nonfiction exposé The Cyanide Canary, a Washington Post Best Book of the Year selection.

Dugoni is a two-time nominee for the Harper Lee Award for Legal Fiction and the recipient of the Nancy Pearl Award for fiction.

#BlogTour #BookReview #Extract
Silent Victim by Caroline Mitchell
@Caroline_writes @midaspr

#BlogTour #BookReview #Extract Silent Victim by Caroline Mitchell @Caroline_writes @midasprTitle: Silent Victim

Author: Caroline Mitchell

Published by Thomas & Mercer on March 1, 2018

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 325

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Thomas & Mercer, NetGalley

Book Rating: 10/10

 

 

Synopsis:

Emma’s darkest secrets are buried in the past. But the truth can’t stay hidden for long.

Emma is a loving wife, a devoted mother…and an involuntary killer. For years she’s been hiding the dead body of the teacher who seduced her as a teen.

It’s a secret that might have stayed buried if only her life had been less perfect. A promotion for Emma’s husband, Alex, means they can finally move to a bigger home with their young son. But with a buyer lined up for their old house, Emma can’t leave without destroying every last trace of her final revenge…

Returning to the shallow grave in the garden, she finds it empty. The body is gone.

Panicked, Emma confesses to her husband. But this is only the beginning. Soon, Alex will discover things about her he’ll wish he’d learned sooner. And others he’ll long to forget.


Review:

Atmospheric, menacing, and incredibly riveting!

Silent Victim is a character-driven, thrill ride that reminds us that skeletons often find their way out of the closet no matter how well they are hidden or buried and highlights just how easily someone’s behaviour can be manipulated, misinterpreted, questioned, and used against them.

The writing is taut and complex. The characterization is spot on with a cast of characters that are distressed, raw and consumed, and a setting, Mersea Island, that is a character itself with its remoteness and isolation. And the plot, told from multiple perspectives, uses a past/present, back-and-forth style to create suspense and tension as it unravels all the histories, personalities, relationships, and motivations within it.

Silent Victim is a without a doubt a clever, masterfully plotted, twisty page-turner that keeps you on the edge of your seat from the very first page and leaves you shocked, surprised, and thoroughly entertained. It’s one of the best psychological thrillers I’ve read in a long time and is definitely a must read!

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                              

 

 

Extract:

EMMA 

I am not a bad person, but I’ve done a very bad thing.
A sense of unreality washes over me, cushioning the consequences of my act.
I am a murderer. My soul is damned to hell.
My thoughts are speared by a seagull’s cry as it glides across the dusky sky. It is
mournful in its bidding, and I stand over the ditch, my knuckles white, gripping the shovel
in my right hand. A trickle of sweat rolls down the curve of my back, cooled by the twilight
breeze. From the bottom of the ditch Luke stares with empty eyes, the soil beneath his head
absorbing his blood. My lips part to accommodate my heavy breath while my lungs drive
the panicked rise and fall of my chest. Is he truly dead? Did I really kill him? Legs shaking,
I cling to the shovel – the only thing keeping me standing in this desolate field. The breeze
plays with my hair, blowing dark strands into my eyes and lips. I draw them back behind
my ear as I struggle for clarity. Just how long have I been standing here? The cogs of my
brain whirr, trying to snap back the pieces of the complex edifice that has toppled all around
me. My gaze falls to the shovel where his blood still stains the blade. You need to clean
that off. A voice inside me whispers. But first, hide the body.

My thoughts are cloaked in darkness as self-preservation kicks in. My husband will be
wondering where I am. He might even come looking for me. I should check Luke’s pulse,
call for an ambulance. Deep down, I know it’s too late for that now. The ditch is lined with
freshly shed leaves from the trees that border the field: a suitable resting place, if only for
tonight.
Pressing my boot against metal, I slice the shovel into the earth. I draw up a wedge of
soil, pausing only for a second before flinging it on to his face. As the dirt hits his parted
lips, my stomach rolls over, the gravity of the situation hitting me with the force of a punch.
I fall to my knees and vomit noisily into a patch of dandelions. Digging my fingers into the
earth, I try to ground myself, coughing and spitting until my throat has cleared. I dare not
look at Luke’s body as I stand and brush the soil from my jeans. Picking up my shovel, I
fling dirt into the ditch until my biceps ache. My armpits are damp with sweat; the skin on
my face burning with effort. Opposing thoughts circle my brain, like vultures ready to pick
over the carcass of my actions. I have committed a mortal sin. Hot tears of regret trail down
my face. A thought resurfaces, telling me that I had no choice

 

Thank you to Caroline Mitchell for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Caroline Mitchell

Caroline originates from Ireland and now lives with her family in a pretty village on the coast of Essex. A former police detective, Caroline has worked in CID and specialised in roles dealing with vulnerable victims, high-risk victims of domestic abuse, and serious sexual offences. She now writes full time.
Set in Shoreditch, London, her DS Ruby Preston trilogy is described as terrifying, addictive serial killer thrillers.
Caroline also writes psychological thrillers. The most recent, Silent Victim, has been described as ‘brilliantly gripping and deliciously creepy’. Her new DI Amy Winter series is published by Thomas & Mercer and launches 2018.

 

#BookReview
Away From The Dark by Aleatha Romig
@AleathaRomig

#BookReview Away From The Dark by Aleatha Romig @AleathaRomigTitle: Away from the Dark

Author: Aleatha Romig

Series: The Light #2

Published by Thomas & Mercer on October 18, 2016

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 363

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Thomas & Mercer, NetGalley

Book Rating: 9/10

 

Synopsis:

Nine months ago, Sara Adams awoke with no memory. The man holding her hand told her she’s a member of The Light, a tight-knit religious group led by the terrifying and charismatic Father Gabriel. As a woman in the community of The Light, her duty is to be unquestionably obedient and to submit to the will of her husband.

But as Sara’s memory starts to return and she remembers her past, she sees that everything she’s been told is a lie. The Light is an insidious and dangerous organization, and its corrupting influence reaches well beyond the confines of the remote campus where Sara is being held.

With everything at stake, Sara struggles to sort out her true memories from her indoctrination. The desire to escape consumes her, but who can she trust? And which other followers of The Light were forced into this life, brainwashed to believe they belonged? The more she remembers, the more it becomes clear that Jacob, the man who calls himself her husband, is keeping shattering secrets of his own.

But Sara cannot flee alone, leaving innocents behind. She must fight to extinguish The Light.


Review:

Intelligent, spine-chilling, and incredibly eerie!

Once again, in this second book in the series, we are taken on a journey into the dark and sinister sect, known as “The Light”, and are immersed into a world full of deviance, violence, exploitation, dominance, and manipulation. 

The prose is clear, exact and vivid. The characters are intriguing, complicated, and resilient.  And the plot is exceptionally executed with the perfect mix of twists, turns, and emotion.

This is a story that will not only captivate and ensnare you from the very first page, but will also have you on the edge of your seat until the very end.

As mentioned, this is the sequel to the novel “Into the Light”, and therefore I would highly recommend you read it prior to reading this one. If you haven’t had a chance to read my review for Into the Light, you can check it out Here.

 

This novel is due to be published on October 18, 2016.

Pick up a copy of this book from your favourite retailer or from the following links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon CanadaChapters/IndigoBook Depository

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Thomas & Mercer, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Aleatha Romig

Aleatha Romig is a New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today bestselling author who lives in Indiana. She grew up in Mishawaka, graduated from Indiana University, and is currently living south of Indianapolis. Together with her high-school sweetheart and husband of over thirty years, they've raised three children. Before she became a full-time author, she worked days as a dental hygienist and spent her nights writing. Now, when she’s not imagining mind-blowing twists and turns or her new lighter side, she likes to spend her time with her family and friends. Her pastimes include reading and creating heroes/anti-heroes who haunt your dreams!

#BookReview
Into the Light by Aleatha Romig
@AleathaRomig

#BookReview Into the Light by Aleatha Romig @AleathaRomigTitle: Into the Light

Author: Aleatha Romig

Series: The Light #1

Published by Thomas & Mercer on June 14, 2016

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 352

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Thomas & Mercer, NetGalley

Book Rating: 10/10

 

Synopsis:

Sara Adams awakes blind, unable to remember the most basic details of her life, but her darkness seems a blessing when she discovers the terrors of The Light.

Stella Montgomery investigates the news on the mean streets of Detroit, where she’s noticed a disturbing trend: young women are vanishing. When her best friend disappears, Stella investigates—despite warnings from her police detective boyfriend—following a twisted trail that leads her through the city’s most dangerous and forsaken precincts. There she uncovers something more sinister than she could have imagined: a shadowy organization known as The Light, led by the enigmatic Father Gabriel.

As Sara struggles to understand her place in the strange world she’s awakened to—an oppressive cult demanding unquestioning obedience—and her feelings for Jacob, the husband she can’t recall and whose harsh and tender attentions confuse and beguile her, Stella risks all to discover the truth. But enlightenment always comes with a price…


Review:

Incredibly clever, disturbingly realistic, and positively creepy!

This is a thriller that transports you into the darkest corners of the human psyche and takes you on a roller coaster ride of psychological manipulation, control, indoctrination, murder, corruption, and deviant ideologies.

The prose is precise, original, and descriptive . The characters are dynamic and complex. And the story is perfectly plotted, powerful, creative, and magnificently twisty.

I guarantee that this story will ensnare you right from the prologue and the ending will blow you away.

This is the first book in the, The Light, series and is set to be published on June 14, 2016. And after reading this story you will definitely be counting down the days until the second book “Away From the Dark” is released later in the fall.

 

This novel is due to be published on June 14, 2016.

Pick up a copy of this book from your favourite retailer or from the following links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon CanadaChapters/IndigoBook Depository

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Thomas & Mercer, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Aleatha Romig

Aleatha Romig is a New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today bestselling author who lives in Indiana. She grew up in Mishawaka, graduated from Indiana University, and is currently living south of Indianapolis. Together with her high-school sweetheart and husband of over thirty years, they've raised three children. Before she became a full-time author, she worked days as a dental hygienist and spent her nights writing. Now, when she’s not imagining mind-blowing twists and turns or her new lighter side, she likes to spend her time with her family and friends. Her pastimes include reading and creating heroes/anti-heroes who haunt your dreams!

%d bloggers like this: