#BookReview Farewell Blues by Maggie Robinson @MaggieLRobinson @PPPress #FarewellBlues #MaggieRobinson #LadyAdelaideMystery #inkedinpoison Title: Farewell Blues

Author: Maggie Robinson

Series: Lady Adelaide Mystery #4

Published by: Poisoned Pen Press on Sep. 14, 2021

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 272

Format: Paperback

Source: Poisoned Pen Press

Book Rating: 8.5/10

Lady Adelaide Compton had prepared herself to say good-bye forever to Detective Inspector Devenand Hunter. It would be a welcome relief not to get mixed up in any more murders. Not to mention become un-haunted by her late and unlamented husband Rupert, whose post-life duty had been dedicated to detection and her protection. Surely he’d performed the necessary number of good deeds to get out of Addie’s fashionably bobbed hair and gain access to Heaven by now.

But when Addie’s prim and proper mother Constance, the Dowager Marchioness of Broughton is accused of murdering her secret lover, there can’t be enough ghosts and gentlemen detectives on hand to find the truth. The dead Duke of Rufford appeared to lead a blameless life, but appearances can be deceiving. Unless Addie, Dev and Rupert work together, Constance will hang, and Great War flying ace Rupert will never get his celestial wings.


Mysterious, atmospheric, and delightfully entertaining!

In this latest novel by Robinson, Farewell Blues, we head back to 1920s London where widow Lady Adelaide Compton finds herself once again teaming up with her two trusty sidekicks, the handsome Detective Inspector Devenand Hunter and the ghost of her late philandering husband, Major Rupert Compton to find the real killer of the Duke of Rufford as quickly as possible in order to free her courtly mother, the Dowager Marchioness of Broughton, from gaol and save her from possibly hanging for the crime.

The writing style is vivid and light. The characters, including the intelligent, independent heroine, are well-developed, complex, and intriguing. And the plot is a well-paced whodunit full of amateur sleuthing, scandalous behaviour, red herrings, suspects, deduction, and a little romance.

Farewell Blues is the fourth and final book in the Lady Adelaide Mystery series, and I have to admit it’s a little bittersweet to say goodbye to the characters we’ve come to know and love over these last four novels by Robinson. Nevertheless, if you love cosy mysteries that take you back in time to when social class was everything, forensics was almost nonexistent, and crimes could easily be solved by everyday snooping, stubborn determination, and shrewd reasoning, then this novel won’t disappoint, and this is definitely a series you’ll want to think about picking up.


This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.




Thank you to Poisoned Pen Press for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.


About Maggie Robinson

Maggie Robinson is a former teacher, library clerk and mother of four who woke up in the middle of the night, absolutely compelled to create the perfect man and use as many adverbs as possible doing so. A transplanted New Yorker, she lives with her not-quite perfect husband in Maine, where the cold winters are ideal for staying inside and writing hot historical romances and her latest venture, the Lady Adelaide Mysteries. Her books have been translated into nine languages.

She also wrote two erotic historical romances as Margaret Rowe.

Photo courtesy of Author's Website.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email