#BookReview The House of Wolves by James Patterson & Mike Lupica @JP_Books @littlebrown @HBGCanada #TheHouseofWolves #JamesPatterson #HBGCanada Title: The House of Wolves

Author: James Patterson, Mike Lupica

Series: House of Wolves #1

Published by: Little Brown and Company on Jan. 9, 2023

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 400

Format: Hardcover

Source: HBG Canada

Book Rating: 9/10

The murder of a billionaire patriarch triggers a bloody battle for control of his empire. For fans of Succession, Yellowstone—and #1 bestselling duo James Patterson and Mike Lupica.

Joe Wolf applies a cutthroat determination to his life’s work, from to building a California business empire to parenting three sons and a daughter. Kill or be killed. So when the patriarch takes a deadly cruise on San Francisco Bay, Joe Wolf’s bloodline becomes SFPD’s lifeline. 
 
Detective Ben Cantor trails the “pack of wolves” as the siblings vie for control of their legacy of power and assets. All four have the means and the motive to commit murder, but only one of them is most like Joe Wolf. Only one of them earned their father’s love.
 
Lurking in the shadows is the real alpha wolf. That creature survives on instinct. And desire. To kill all the wolves dead.  


Review:

Edgy, menacing, and tortuously thrilling!

The House of Wolves is a gripping, suspenseful tale that takes you into the life of the ruthless Wolf family, especially Jennifer Wolf, a science teacher and high school football coach whose comfortable life gets turned upside down when her father dies unexpectedly, leaving her in charge of both the family’s NFL team and local newspaper which ruffles a lot of feathers and leaves her a target for those who are willing to do whatever it takes, even kill, to get what they want.

The writing is tight and gritty. The characters are secretive, deceptive, stubborn, and driven. And the plot is a sharp, sinister tale filled with twists, turns, power, mayhem, coercion, politics, obsession, greed, lies, secrets, surprises, football, and murder.

Overall, The House of Wolves is a dark, intense, action-packed brilliant start to a new series by Patterson that has everything I’ve come to expect and love about his novels, and honestly, I can’t wait for more.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

            

 

 

Thank you to HBG Canada for gifting me a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About James Patterson

JAMES PATTERSON is one of the best-known and biggest-selling writers of all time. His books have sold in excess of 385 million copies worldwide. He is the author of some of the most popular series of the past two decades - the Alex Cross, Women's Murder Club, Detective Michael Bennett and Private novels - and he has written many other number one bestsellers including romance novels and stand- alone thrillers.

Photo courtesy of Author's Goodreads Page.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email