#BookReview Can You See Me Now? by Trisha Sakhlecha @TrishaSakhlecha @PGCBooks @panmacmillan #TrishaSakhlecha #CanYouSeeMeNow #PGCBooks Title: Can You See Me Now?

Author: Trisha Sakhlecha

Published by: Pan Macmillan on May 3, 2022

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 416

Format: Paperback

Source: Publishers Group Canada

Book Rating: 8/10

From Trisha Sakhlecha,Can You See Me Now? is a gripping psychological suspense thriller about a young Indian woman, now a government minister, whose past secrets are about to reverberate into the present and shatter her life. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell and Erin Kelly.

Fifteen years ago, three sixteen-year-old girls meet at Wescott, an exclusive private school in India.
Two, Sabah and Noor, are the most popular girls in their year. One, Alia, is a new arrival from England, who feels her happiness depends on their acceptance.

Before she knows it, Sabah and Noor’s intoxicating world of privilege and intimacy opens up to Alia and, for the first time, after years of neglect from her parents, she feels she is exactly where, and with whom, she belongs.

But with intimacy comes jealousy, and with privilege, resentment, and Alia finds that it only takes one night for her bright new world to shatter around her.

Now Alia, a cabinet minister in the Indian government, is about to find her secrets have no intention of staying
buried . . .


Review:

Unpredictable, gripping, and dark!

Can You See Me Now? is a compelling, dual timeline thriller set fifteen years ago, as well as present-day that takes you into the life of successful government minister Alia as her world is about to be turned upside down when the past collides with the present and all the destructive behaviours, inexcusable actions, and long-buried secrets involving herself and her two best friends from school, Sabah and Noor, are finally unearthed.

The writing is intense and tight. The characters are self-involved, secretive, and insecure. And the plot using flashbacks and a back-and-forth, past/present style intertwines and unravels effortlessly into a sinister tale of lies, deception, drama, jealousy, obsession, competition, secrets, revelations, mayhem, and manipulation.

Overall, Can You See Me Now? is a cunning, disturbing, edgy whodunit by Sakhlecha that does a wonderful job of delving into the complex dynamics that exist between friends and family members and highlights just how toxic and parasitic some of those relationships can truly be.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

             

 

 

Thank you to Publishers Group Canada for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Trisha Sakhlecha

Trisha Sakhlecha grew up in New Delhi and now lives in London. She works in fashion and is a graduate of the acclaimed Faber Academy writing course. In the past, Trisha has worked as a designer, trend forecaster, and lecturer. Your Truth or Mine? is her first novel.

Photograph courtesy of Goodreads Author Page.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email