#BookReview The Offing by Roz Nay @roznay1 @PenguinRandomCA #TheOffing #RozNay #PenguinReads Title: The Offing

Author: Roz Nay

Published by: Viking on May 28, 2024

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 360

Format: ARC, Paperback

Source: Penguin Random House

Book Rating: 8.5/10

Two young women are trapped in a deadly chase through the beautiful, dangerous waters around Australia in the new thriller from the bestselling author of Our Little Secret—perfect for fans of The Woman in Cabin 10 and The Drowning Woman.

Ivy is in trouble. A recent break-up has left her humiliated and raw, so when her best friend, Regan, offers her a month-long escape in the form of a trip to Australia, it feels like a lifeline, one that Ivy grabs with both hands.

Regan is everything Ivy’s not—confident, free-spirited, charismatic—and a natural at backpacker fun. But Ivy is drawn to a calmer type of holiday, so when she spots an ad for crewmembers on a small yacht being sailed by a doting father and his daughter, the girls decide to take the job. Together with a handsome third crewmember, they set off north into tropical heat, but it’s not long before doubts start to creep in. Are the girls simply claustrophobic on the boat, or have they stumbled into something they don’t understand?

Tensions rise as the past threatens to catch up with them, and dark secrets emerge that will change everything. A dangerous cat-and-mouse game on land and at sea, this fast-paced, twisty thriller keeps you guessing until the very last page.


Review:

Ominous, intense, and addictive!

The Offing is an eerily gripping tale that sweeps you away to Australia and into the lives of Ivy and Regan, two troubled American friends who, after taking jobs as crew members on a ship owned by a middle-aged man and his young daughter, suddenly discover that they are not the only ones trying to escape the recent past, everyone on the boat has something to hide, and danger is much closer than they think.

The prose is sharp and crisp. The characters are secretive, determined, and multilayered. And the plot unfolds and unravels quickly into a foreboding tale of lies, secrets, abuse, deception, drama, manipulation, friendship, desperation, revenge, violence, and murder.

Overall, The Offing is another dark, taut, unnerving thriller by Nay that did a wonderful job of keeping me mystified, surprised, and guessing from start to finish while at the same time reminding me that everything is not always what it seems.

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

         

 

 

Thank you to Penguin Random House Canada for gifting me a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Roz Nay

Roz Nay grew up in England and studied at Oxford University. She has been published in The Antigonish Review and the anthology Refuge. Roz has worked as an underwater fish counter in Africa, a snowboard videographer in Vermont, and a high school teacher in both the UK and Australia. She now lives in British Columbia, Canada, with her husband and two children. Our Little Secret is her first novel.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email