#BookReview Love Songs for Skeptics @ChristinaPi @Sourcebooks @sbkslandmark #LoveSongsforSkeptics #ChristinaPishiris Title: Love Songs for Skeptics

Author: Christina Pishiris

Published by: Sourcebooks Landmark on Jan. 5, 2021

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 416

Format: Paperback

Source: Sourcebooks Landmark

Book Rating: 8.5/10

For fans of Josie Silver and Emily Henry comes a debut rom-com about the life-changing magic of second chances.

Zoë Frixos gets the whole love song thing. Truly, she does. As an editor at a major music magazine in London, it’s part of her job description. But love? Let’s just say Zoë’s been a bit off-beat in that department. After falling hard for her best friend, Simon, at thirteen and missing every chance to tell him how she felt before he left town, Zoë came to one grand conclusion: Love stinks.

Twenty years later, Simon is returning to London, newly single and as charming as ever, and Zoë vows to take her second chance. But Zoë’s got other problems now: In order to save her magazine from closure, she has to land the biggest interview of her career with a notoriously elusive rock idol. There’s just one problem: Nick, the arrogant publicist who seems determined to stop the story and ruin Zoë’s life.

With her brother’s big(ish) fat(ish) Greek wedding on the horizon, Zoë begins to wonder if her first love is the right love. In the wake of a life-changing choice, Zoë must decide if she’s right to be skeptical about love, or if it’s time to change her tune…

This charming and quirky debut has it all: childhood friends, love triangles, enemies-to-lovers, and a My Big Fat Greek Wedding subplot.


Review:

Charming, comical, and delightfully uplifting!

Love Songs for Skeptics is a sweet, heartwarming tale that takes us into the life of the hardworking Zoë Frixos as she juggles her feelings for her newly returned, single best friend who she’s crushed on since she was thirteen, a cocky boy-bander with an overinflated ego, a potential interview with a famous, reclusive musician who could save her career, and a push-and-pull relationship with the arrogant, yet handsome publicist, Nick Jones.

The prose is sharp and fluid. The characters, including all the supporting characters, are multilayered, amusing and endearing. And the plot is a smart, engaging tale full of life, loss, love, tricky moments, awkward situations, quirky mishaps, delicious chemistry, romantic drama, tension, self-reflection, and a soundtrack of some of the most unforgettable, retro, love songs of all time. (Playlist can be found here: HERE )

Overall, Love Songs for Skeptics is a light, refreshing, entertaining debut by Pishiris that I thoroughly enjoyed and is the perfect choice for fans of contemporary romance novels that have a lot of humour, heart, and hope.

 

This book is available now. 

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

              

 

 

Thank you to Sourcebooks Landmark for providing me with a copy in an exchange for an honest review.

 

About Christina Pishiris

Christina Pishiris was born in London to Greek Cypriot parents. She studied English at the University of Sussex and went on to become a journalist. When not writing her hobbies include compiling cheesy eighties playlists, coveting the neighbour’s cat, and writing protest letters to Guerlain after they discontinued her favourite perfume. LOVE SONGS FOR SCEPTICS is her first book.

Photograph courtesy of Author's Website.