Genre: Contemporary Romance

#BookReview
The Reckless Oath We Made
by Bryn Greenwood @bryngreenwood @PenguinRandomCA @PutnamBooks

#BookReview The Reckless Oath We Made by Bryn Greenwood @bryngreenwood @PenguinRandomCA @PutnamBooksTitle: The Reckless Oath We Made

Author: Bryn Greenwood

Published by: G.P. Putnam's Sons on August 20, 2019

Genres: General Fiction, Contemporary Romance

Pages: 448

Format: Hardcover

Source: Penguin Random House Canada

Book Rating: 8.5/10

 

 

Synopsis:

A provocative love story between a tough Kansas woman on a crooked path to redemption and the unlikeliest of champions, from the New York Times bestselling author of All the Ugly and Wonderful Things.

Zee is nobody’s fairy tale princess. Almost six-foot, with a redhead’s temper and a shattered hip, she has a long list of worries: never-ending bills, her beautiful, gullible sister, her five-year-old nephew, her housebound mother, and her drug-dealing boss.

Zee may not be a princess, but Gentry is an actual knight, complete with sword, armor, and a code of honor. Two years ago the voices he hears called him to be Zee’s champion. Both shy and autistic, he’s barely spoken to her since, but he has kept watch, ready to come to her aid.

When an abduction tears Zee’s family apart, she turns to the last person she ever imagined–Gentry–and sets in motion a chain of events that will not only change both of their lives, but bind them to one another forever.


Review:

Heart-tugging, unconventional, and gritty!

The Reckless Oath We Made is an incredibly raw, moving novel about life in small-town Kansas where making ends meet is hard, responsibility weighs heavy, and loyalty, innocence, and love comes in many different forms.

The writing style is unique, with the narration being a mixture of contemporary and Middle English. The characters are tormented, fragile, and opportunistic. And the plot takes us on an emotional rollercoaster ride full of life, love, violence, tension, special needs, incarceration, ignorance, injustice, death, loss and selfless heroism. 

The Reckless Oath We Made is a very complex, intriguing, tragic romance that highlights just how powerful and personally destructive a solemn promise can be. It grips you from the very first page and leaves your heart bleeding for every single character, even the ones who at times are truly difficult to even like.  

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from the following links.

                                            

 

 

Thank you to Penguin Random House Canada for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Bryn Greenwood

BRYN GREENWOOD is a fourth-generation Kansan and the daughter of a mostly reformed drug dealer. She is the author of the NYT bestseller All the Ugly and Wonderful Things. The Reckless Oath We Made is her fourth novel from Putnam. She lives in Lawrence, Kansas.

Photograph courtesy of Goodreads Author Page.

#BookReview #AudioBook
Never Have I Ever by Lauren Blakely
@laurenblakely3 @audible_com

#BookReview #AudioBook Never Have I Ever by Lauren Blakely @laurenblakely3 @audible_comTitle: Never Have I Ever

Author: Lauren Blakely

Narrated by: Amanda Ronconi, Jason Clarke

Published by: Audible Studios on July 30,2019

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Length: 8 hrs and 20 mins

Format: Audiobook

Source: Audible

Book Rating: 9/10

 

Synopsis:

What happens when two frenemies can’t stop pushing each other’s buttons? Find out in this tender, laugh-out-loud funny romance from number-one New York Times best-selling author Lauren Blakely, available in audio first!

Never Have I Ever been so infuriated by a man I wanted to kiss.

They say opposites attract, but I beg to differ. Combust is more like it. Because every single time I talk to Zach Nolan, I see red.

The too-good-looking, too-smart, too-effortlessly-charming single dad who works down the hall from me has turned getting under my skin into a sport. Call it the battle of wits between the wedding planner and the divorce attorney. Trouble is, when we’re forced into closer quarters, planning an engagement party for our best friends, I start to see his other sides.

And I fear I’m falling for the enemy.

***

I’m not out to make friends. My goals are simple — fight till the end for my clients, and my family. The last thing I need is a vibrant, outgoing, snarky, and surprisingly big-hearted wedding planner to spend my precious free time with…except, watching Piper bond with my daughter just might break down the cinder block walls I’ve built around my heart these last few years. Second chances don’t come around for guys like me…or do they?


Review:

Spicy, addictive, and intriguing!

Never Have I Ever is a hilarious, alluring, enemies-to-more romance that introduces us to the sweet, sassy, charming Piper who spends her days making brides happy and fairy tale weddings come true, and the intelligent, sharp, confident, divorce lawyer Zach who after losing the first love of his life is content to fill his days battling for his clients and spending time with his children.

The writing is titillating and fun. The characters are appealing, gregarious, and witty. And the plot is a sultry, push-pull tale full of red-hot chemistry, flirty banter, sexual innuendoes, tender moments, friendship, family, and unconditional love.

I have always been a fan of Lauren Blakely, and Never Have I Ever has just become one of my favourites. I loved the characters, I loved the storyline, and I loved the dual narration by Ronconi and Clarke. This story is an Audible Original title and is available now for free with any Audible Escape subscription. 

 

This audiobook is available now.

Pick up a copy from the following audible link.

 

Thank you to Audible for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Lauren Blakely

A #1 New York Times Bestselling, #1 Wall Street Journal Bestselling, and #1 Audible Bestselling author, Lauren Blakely is known for her contemporary romance style that's sweet, sexy and witty. Her heroines are strong and smart and her heroes have hearts of gold and fantastic funny bones. She'd love to give you a free book today! Check out her web site to grab your free read: https://laurenblakely.com/one-free-book/

#BlogTour #BookReview
Playing for Keeps by Kendall Ryan
@KendallRyan1

#BlogTour #BookReview Playing for Keeps by Kendall Ryan @KendallRyan1Title: Playing for Keeps

Author: Kendall Ryan

Series: Hot Jocks #1

Published by: Dream Press on August 13, 2019

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 258

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Kendall Ryan

Book Rating: 9/10

 

Synopsis:

I’ve never been so stupid in my entire life.

Elise Parrish, my teammate’s incredibly sweet and gorgeous younger sister, should have been off-limits, but my hockey stick didn’t get the memo.

After our team won the championship, our flirting turned physical, and I took her to bed. Then shame sent her running the next morning from our catastrophic mistake.

She thinks I don’t remember that night – but every detail is burned into my brain so deeply, I’ll never forget. The feel of her in my arms, the soft whimpers of pleasure I coaxed from her perfect lips….

And now I’ve spent three months trying to get her out of my head, but I’m starting to understand she’s the only girl I’ll ever want. 

I have one shot to show her I can be exactly what she needs, but Elise won’t be easily convinced. 

That’s okay, because I’m good under pressure, and this time, I’m playing for keeps.

Get ready to meet your new favorite hot jocks in an all new series of stand-alone novels. If you like sexy, confident men who know how to handle a stick (on and off the ice), and smart women who are strong enough to keep all those big egos in check, this series of athlete romances is perfect for you!


Review:

Spicy, sexy, and sweet!

Playing for Keeps is a beguiling, frisky, passionate tale that mixes the charming, slightly insecure Elise who may finally get more than just a drunken hookup with her forever crush, and Justin, the cocky, handsome hockey player who may finally discover his best friend’s little sister is more than he ever could have imagined and is definitely worthy of a long time instead of just a good time.

The writing style is smooth and steamy. The characters are playful, spirited, hesitant, and endearing. And the plot is a delicious combination of family, friendship, undeniable attraction, smoking chemistry, enticing innuendoes, light drama, swoon-worthy romance, and sporty action.

Overall, Playing for Keeps is an enticing, adorable, sizzling start to the Hot Jocks series and I can’t wait to read Owen & Becca’s story, All the Way, when it’s published September 24th.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                                       

 

 

 

About Kendall Ryan

A New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today bestselling author of more than two dozen titles, Kendall Ryan has sold over 1.5 million books and her books have been translated into several languages in countries around the world. She’s a traditionally published author with Simon & Schuster and Harper Collins UK, as well as an independently published author. Since she first began self-publishing in 2012, she’s appeared at #1 on Barnes & Noble and iBooks charts around the world. Her books have also appeared on the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists more than three dozen times. Ryan has been featured in such publications as USA Today, Newsweek, and InTouch Magazine.

 

Thank you to Kendall Ryan for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

#BookBlitz #Giveaway
Love Repaired by Deana Birch
@DeanaBirch @XpressoReads

#BookBlitz #Giveaway Love Repaired by Deana Birch @DeanaBirch @XpressoReads

#BookBlitz #Giveaway Love Repaired by Deana Birch @DeanaBirch @XpressoReadsTitle: Love Repaired

Author: Deana Birch

Published by: Totally Bound Publishing on July 30, 2019

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 305

 

 

 

 

Synopsis:

Attorney Amee sets aside her own needs to juggle the broken pieces of her life and family until mechanic Ben repairs her heart. 

Divorce attorney Amee Benton—who has an ex of her own—is pretty sure she’s a #MomFail. Showing up late on a Friday night to retrieve her car from the shop and finding the pink frosted cupcakes she forgot to leave at her daughter’s ballet camp confirms it.

When mechanic, Ben Mathis, confesses to stealing one of the confections and asks who is taking care of Amee, she knows he’s a unicorn—a magical, beautiful beast who surely only exists in fantasies. And she tells him just that. With an f bomb for good measure.

Amee has three things Ben finds irresistible in a woman—brains, a family, and a serious potty mouth. At a chance run-in at Ben’s own personal hell, AKA the mall, he summons the courage to ask her out. Though Amee is leery of dating a younger man, and Ben is more than aware of their social gap, the two take a chance.

But Amee’s life isn’t like his. And when her ex returns and the doubting divorcée blunders, all of Ben’s insecurities are piqued anew. Now, Amee must prove to Ben his worth is much more than stand-in dad and rebound boyfriend or she’ll watch magic gallop off into the forest forever.

 

Goodreads/Amazon/B&N/Google

 

EXCERPT:

Amee:

Duggan’s was a not-too-hip, not-too-chic coffee shop downtown. It had its own parking lot and outdoor seating with canvas umbrellas for overly sunny days.

Ben—I didn’t know his last name—was sitting at a table for two toward the edge of the terrace. His long-sleeved army green Henley was pushed up to the elbows and his casual sprawled posture opposed the nerves brewing in my belly. He stood when he saw me, those damn dimples pressing into his cheeks with his smile.

Time to face the unicorn.

He side-stepped around the table and pulled out the wicker chair for me. The earthy scent from Friday night returned, this time without the motor oil.

“Hey.”

The grittiness of his voice made me swallow hard, and I sat in the chair. He reached up to adjust the angle of the umbrella to protect us from the sun. What promised to be the perfectly formed V of his lower abdomen peeked out from between a black elastic waistband under his jeans and the green shirt.

Unicorn cupcake eating man candy. Shit. I was in over my head. He was wayout of my league. My workouts consisted of me taking the stairs and vacuuming with headphones on. I hadn’t even been on a date since Pete and I had divorced. I shouldn’t have been allowed to play ball.

New planExcuse my behavior from Friday night, tell him I was not ready for any kind of relationship, go home and take a long, long shower thinking about his stomach.

“Sorry I’m late,” I said as he took his seat.

“I assumed you would be.” He scooted in, and before he could say anything else, the waiter came over. I ordered a fluffy complicated sugary mess of caffeine and Ben asked for just a water.

“You don’t drink coffee?”

“Nope.” He crossed his arms. “So, let’s hear it, Amee Benton.”

“Hear what?” There was no way in hell I would tell him why I’d called him a unicorn. A fucking unicorn.

“Your list.” His blue gaze challenged me from the opposite side of the table, then he blinked.

“What list? I don’t have a list.”

“Yes, you do. You have a list of why you’re not going to give me your phone number and agree to see me again.”

I sank a little into my chair before puffing out my chest, mulling over my next move.

“Maybe you should tell me your list.” Every muscle on my cheeks wanted to smile but years of questioning witnesses had polished my game face. I shaped parallel lines with my forearms on the black wire tabletop.

“Which one do you want me to tell you about?” he asked with a casual grin.

Stupid dimples. His dimples were dumb. Dumb like puppies.

“How many are there?” I raised my eyebrows.

“Many. Many. So many lists…” Leaning in, he licked his lips. He lightly traced a semi-circle on the top of my hand. “Grocery lists, home repairs, back to school…”

The breath from the base of my lungs rose up my chest and escaped slowly through the ‘O’ I’d formed with my mouth. I hadn’t been touched like that in ages and mundane tasks had never sounded better. Christ. I was practically panting.

His recoil startled me and he cleared his throat. The waiter set down our drinks, breaking the beautiful tension.

Creamy froth parted as I blew into the mug before taking a cautious sip. Without the haze of his touch, I regrouped. I placed my coffee on the table and he drank from his water bottle.

“Why?” I asked.

“Why what?” He screwed the cap on and set the bottle on the table.

I’d studied body language. I knew liars and I knew nervousness. His open legs and arms were neither. He was confident, honest. Real.

“Why me?”

A small airy chuckle accompanied a shake of his head and his blond hair brushed against his shoulders.

“Why not you, Amee Benton?”

Questioning soon-to-be-ex-spouses was much more satisfying. They weren’t allowed to answer questions with questions.

“What’s your last name?” I squinted.

“Mathis. And because I like you.”

I sipped my coffee.

He propped his elbows on his knees and searched my eyes. “And you’re kinda beautiful. Beauty and a dirty mouth are a weakness of mine.”

“Like cupcakes?” I fought the smile, but when his dimples appeared, I lost the battle.

“Just like cupcakes.” He shifted in his seat and pulled his phone from his back pocket. Quick tapping from his thumbs hit the screen before he slid it to me.

“May I please have your phone number?”

Yes. He could. Shit.

I picked up the phone. Under the heading New Contact, there was one word. Cupcake. I giggled, like a school girl in a candy shop. Pitiful. I typed in my number, hit new message and sent myself a text.

Satisfied, I grinned and handed the phone back to him. Instead of reviewing my handiwork, he set it face-down on the table.

“You’re not going to check? Make sure it’s the real number?”

“Nope.” He popped the ‘p’.

My toes twitched in my flats. The remainder of my coffee and foam clung to the edges of my cup and trailed down to the empty bottom.

“Are you free Friday night?” Ben asked with a rasp.

Coffee had been one thing. Safe. The sun was shining. Friday night would be a date. Risky. Dark.

“What did you have in mind?” I asked. The man had other lists. Lists hidden in his dimples and heavenly touch.

“A movie. Popcorn.” He lifted a shoulder.

One small step for Ben Mathis and a giant leap for Amee Benton. Crap. A firetruck and its sirens raced by on Third Avenue and the intrusive sound gave me a minute to think. This is what I’d wanted when I’d divorced Pete, right? A chance for something deeper before I shriveled up and had as many cats as Shae had dolls.

But then Pete had gotten drunk and killed another human being. He’d pleaded guilty to a lesser charge and had been taken away to a correctional facility within months, locking away my bright future behind bars with him. Instead of free weekends to build a new life, I had one hundred percent parenting duties twenty-four-seven, not to mention my career.

But Ben’s touch had answered a faded call—a call to be selfish, a call to be human.

“Can I meet you there? I’m not sure the girls are ready for their mom to be on a date.”

“I’ll text you.” He flipped over the check and dug into his front pocket.

With the money and check secured under my used coffee cup, Ben walked me to my car. When we arrived at the driver’s side door, I turned around to face him. He pushed his arm into the window and crowded my space.

“I gotta admit that I’m a little disappointed.” He was close. So close. And the hair on the back of my neck stiffened with the scratch in his voice.

I could have kissed him. I could have absolutely kissed him. Right there. Broad daylight. Sunday morning. Did. Not. Care.

I summoned any courage I had and asked, “Why’s that?”

Soft stubble caressed my cheek as he leaned into my ear. His warm breath brushed my neck as he whispered with his ridiculous rasp, “I was looking forward to your dirty mouth.”

My expression must have been his desired response, because when he stepped back and freed the heat between us, his grin stretched from ear to ear.

“See ya Friday, Cupcake.”

He swaggered away and climbed into a beat-up truck.

Revised planShower and a lonely orgasm.

 

About Deana Birch

Contemporary romance and erotica writer Deana Birch was named after her father's first love, who just so happened not to be her mother. Born and raised in the Midwest, she made stops in Los Angeles and New York before settling in Europe where she lives with her own blue-eyed Happily Ever After. Her days are spent teaching yoga, playing tennis, ruining her children's French homework, cleaning up dog vomit, writing her next book, or reading someone else's.

 

GIVEAWAY!

$25 Amazon gift card + all of Deana Birch’s books in ebook

$15 Amazon gift card + an eBook copy of Love Repaired

eBook copy of Love Repaired

(Blitz-wide, International)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

XBTBanner1

#BookReview
The One Who Stays by Toni Blake
@AuthorToniBlake @HarlequinBooks

#BookReview The One Who Stays by Toni Blake @AuthorToniBlake @HarlequinBooksTitle: The One Who Stays

Author: Toni Blake

Series: Summer Island #1

Published by: HQN Books on July 30, 2019

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 448

Format: Paperback, ARC

Source: Harlequin Books

Book Rating: 7/10

 

Synopsis:

Lose your heart to Summer Island, where summers are easy, winters are cozy and friends welcome you with open arms.

Summer Island has always been home to Meg Sloan. She runs the Summerbrook Inn, like her grandmother did, and she loves the laid-back pace of life and the close-knit community the island offers. Meg also loves Zack Sheppard, a local man she’s been seeing for years. What she doesn’t love is Zack’s refusal to commit to her, his reluctance to be exclusive with her.

Seth Darden arrives on Summer Island in search of summer work, but also in search of something else—his past. There are secrets buried at the Summerbrook Inn, secrets that forged the path of Seth’s life. But he wasn’t counting on falling for the lovely innkeeper, Meg.

When Meg meets Seth, she can’t ignore the sparks that fly between them, even though she feels like her heart has been torn in half. But if Zack won’t commit, should she take the leap with Seth? And can she even have a future with him if he can’t reckon with his past?


Review:

Romantic, engaging, and sweet!

The One Who Stays is a heartwarming, inspiring tale featuring the dependable innkeeper and cancer survivor Meg and the charismatic, secretive, hardworking Seth as they work together to unravel secrets from the past and find a place to truly call home.

The prose is light and hopeful. The characters are supportive, welcoming, and authentic. And the plot is a dramatic tale full of relationship dynamics, genuine emotion, family, friendship, community, life, loss, love, and a touch of romance.

Overall, The One Who Stays is a heartfelt, entertaining tale about accepting the things you cannot change, letting go of the past, rediscovering one’s self, taking chances, and moving on.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                                       

 

 

Thank you to Harlequin Books for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Toni Blake

Toni Blake's love of writing began when she won an essay contest in the fifth grade. Soon after, she penned her first novel, nineteen notebook-pages long, and announced to her mother over breakfast one day that she was going to be a writer when she grew up. Since then, Toni has become the author of more than a dozen contemporary romance novels. Her work has been excerpted in Cosmo, she's been a recipient of the Kentucky Women Writers Fellowship and a nominee for the prestigious Pushcart Prize, and she's also had more than forty short stories and articles published. Toni lives in the Midwest and enjoys traveling, genealogy, crafts, and snow skiing.

Toni has also written under the name Toni Blair.

#BookReview #BlogTour
The Summer House in Santorini
by Samantha Parks @samanthajgale @HarperImpulse @rararesources

#BookReview #BlogTour The Summer House in Santorini by Samantha Parks @samanthajgale @HarperImpulse @rararesources

#BookReview #BlogTour The Summer House in Santorini by Samantha Parks @samanthajgale @HarperImpulse @rararesourcesTitle: The Summer House in Santorini

Author: Samantha Parks

Published by: HarperImpulse on June 7, 2019

Genres: Contemporary Romance, Women's Fiction

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: HarperImpulse, NetGalley

Book Rating: 8.5/10

 

 

 

Synopsis:

One summer in Greece will change everything…

Anna’s running away. From a failed relationship, a dead-end career and a complicated family life.

On the island of Santorini, with its picturesque villas, blue-tiled roofs, and the turquoise waters of the Aegean lapping at the white sand beaches, Anna inherits a less-than-picturesque summer house from her estranged father. As she rebuilds the house, she rebuilds her life, uncovering family secrets along the way that change everything. She starts to fall for her little slice of paradise, as well as for gorgeous, charming Nikos.
 
Will Anna lose her heart in more ways than one?


Review:

Breezy, hopeful, and romantic!

The Summer House in Santorini is a delightfully charming, touching tale that takes us into the life of Anna Linton at a time when her love life is in tatters, her career is stalling, and she’s reluctantly heading to the Mediterranean to sell a house she unexpectedly inherited from her recently deceased, estranged father.

The writing is light and smooth. The characters are independent, hardworking, and caring. And the plot is an uplifting tale of life, love, friendship, family, community, starting over, taking chances, old hurts, new beginnings, following one’s dreams, and contentment.

Overall, The Summer House in Santorini is a heartwarming, engaging, summery read that reminds us to always surround ourselves with those we love, stay open-minded, and be excited for whatever comes next.

 

This novel is available now. 

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from the following link.

 

 

Thank you to HarperImpulse and Rachel’s Random Resources for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Samantha Parks

Samantha Parks is the pen name of Sam Gale. Her pen name comes from her late grandmother Velma Hobbs nee Parks, who was one of Sam's greatest role models. Sam was born in North Carolina but now resides in Bournemouth, UK with her husband Alex. She owns a successful marketing company and is enjoying her slow descent into "crazy plant lady" status.

 

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

#BookReview #BookBlitz
Good Guy by Kate Meader
@KittyMeader @XpressoReads

#BookReview #BookBlitz Good Guy by Kate Meader @KittyMeader @XpressoReads

#BookReview #BookBlitz Good Guy by Kate Meader @KittyMeader @XpressoReadsTitle: Good Guy

Author: Kate Meader

Series: Rookie Rebels #1

Published by: Kate Meader LLC on July 30, 2019

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 340

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Kate Meader

Book Rating: 9/10

 

Synopsis:

He’s a Special Forces veteran making his pro hockey debut. She’s a dogged sports reporter determined to get a scoop. She’s also his best friend’s widow…

Fans can’t get enough of Levi Hunt, the Special Forces veteran who put his NHL career on hold to serve his country and fight the bad guys. So when his new Chicago Rebels bosses tell him to cooperate with the press on a profile, he’s ready to do his duty. Until he finds out who he has to work with: flame-haired, freckle-splashed, impossibly perky Jordan Cooke.

The woman he should not have kissed the night she buried her husband, Levi’s best friend in the service.

Hockey-stick-up-his-butt-serious Levi Hunt might despise Jordan for reasons she can’t fathom—okay, it’s to do with kissing—but her future in the cutthroat world of sports reporting hangs on delivering the goods on the league’s hottest, grumpiest rookie. So what if he’s not interested in having his life plated up for public consumption. Too bad. Jordan will have to play dirty to get her scoop and even dirtier to get her man. Only in winning the story, she might just lose her heart…


Review:

Sassy, steamy, and sexy!

Good Guy is a second-chance, hockey romance featuring the humble, publicity magnet, Levi Hunt who after having a harrowing career in the Green Berets becomes the oldest rookie in the NHL, and the spunky, tenacious widow, Jordan Cooke who may have to decide what’s more important the feelings of her late husband’s best friend or the opportunity at the career she’s always wanted.

The writing is crisp and fervent. The characters are charismatic, intriguing, and endearing. And the plot is a lighthearted, passionate tale filled with sizzling tension, poignant moments, scorching chemistry, flirty innuendoes, genuine emotion, and a swoon-worthy, happy-ever-after ending.

Overall, I found Good Guy to be a charming, entertaining, fantastic start to this new Rookie Rebels series by Meader that I am positive will be a big hit with fans of the sports romance genre and lovers of the Chicago Rebels series everywhere.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                                            

 

 

EXCERPT:

He needed to escape before he said or did something he’d regret, but he also needed her to be safe, which meant there was only one way this could proceed.

“I just hauled you out of there under the guise of doing this interview, so we—”

“Probably should keep up the pretense?”

“Correct.” He stalked toward the elevator bank, both relieved and on edge that she accompanied him.

“Were you headed to the bar to meet up with someone?”

“Just feeling restless in my room. Looking for company.”

“And I ruined it by making you think you needed to play target extraction.”

The elevator doors opened and when they closed again, he was inside and sharing the sultry air with Jordan. He pressed the button for the tenth floor. “You didn’t ruin it. Something else took precedence, is all.”

You.

In that moment, when he saw her, all thoughts of a night of dumb jokes with his crew dispersed to the outer limits of the Tri-State area. Sure, he noticed her discomfort with Stroger but even if he hadn’t, even if it had been Jordan in a room full of supermodels, there would have been no one else. Only her.

This was not controlling the narrative.

This was a fucking mess.

The elevator reached his floor and he stepped off, with her following.

Please. Fucking. No.

“Well, like I said, Levi, you didn’t have to rescue me.” She placed a hand on his arm and squeezed, probably intending to be friendly. Her touch flayed him. “I had it handled.”

He snapped. “Did you have it handled, Jordan? Because from what I can see you’re a beautiful woman forced to play nice with a bunch of jocks who probably think they have a shot with you.”

Her eyes flashed. “No one forcesme to do anything. I do this job because I love it, and yeah, the guys I cover usually enjoy a laugh and a joke. Unlike some people who’d rather scowl everyone around them into the grave. But I know where the line is and I’ve no problem redrawing it when necessary.”

Fury shouldn’t have made her more attractive. It shouldn’t have given that wrinkle between her eyebrows new purpose or the lips he wanted to kiss a plumpness that made his mouth water. It shouldn’t have made her chest heave with effort, which only drew his attention to their lush swell and the hint of cleavage he wanted to explore.

“I’m not saying you don’t. I’m saying that guys in this environment tend to turn into entitled asses and wouldn’t know a line if it was steamrolled all over their faces. I don’t want you to be in any situation where you have to even think about the line. Case in point, maybe you shouldn’t be fondling Kershaw’s biceps!”

She did a double take. “Fondling?”

“Yes, fondling. You’re a journalist. Haven’t you heard of it?”Weak, man. So weak.

“Yeah, I’ve heard of it,” she said, a rasp to her voice. “It’s one of my favorite words, actually. Are you seriously jealous … of Theo?”

Yes. All the yes.“Of course not. But he’s a dumb kid, and I don’t want him to get the wrong idea.”

She was closer now, close enough to share a breath. To stumble headlong into her. To fall into madness.

 

Thank you Kate Meader for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Kate Meader

Originally from Ireland, Kate Meader cut her romance reader teeth on Maeve Binchy and Jilly Cooper novels, with some Harlequins thrown in for variety. Give her tales about brooding mill owners, oversexed equestrians, and men who can rock an apron, a fire hose, or a hockey stick, and she's there. Now based in Chicago, she writes sexy contemporary romance with alpha heroes and strong heroines (and heroes) who can match their men quip for quip.

#BookReview
Professor with Benefits by Hazel Kelly
@hazelkellyauthor

#BookReview Professor with Benefits by Hazel Kelly @hazelkellyauthorTitle: Professor with Benefits

Author: Hazel Kelly

Series: Beta Brothers #3

Published by: Amazon Digital Services LLC on May 30, 2019

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 389

Format: eBook

Source: Hazel Kelly

Book Rating: 7.5/10

 

Synopsis:

Sadie’s no princess, and she doesn’t appreciate being treated like one. As far as she’s concerned, women who don’t wear ridiculous shoes don’t need to be swept off their feet, and the last thing the world needs right now is one more hopeless romantic maiming one more unsuspecting daisy.

But when a handsome, young professor takes an unprofessional interest in her mossy green eyes and muddy attitude, she can’t help but enjoy the sparkly feeling his attention stirs in her. And the more he lays on the charm, the more she fears she’s not as attached to her loneliness as she once thought.

Too bad he’s off limits. Then again, limits have never really interested Sadie.

But dreamy professors with penetrating blue eyes and sinfully sexy stubble? That’s a subject that’s about to make her senior year very interesting indeed…


Review:

Sultry, Steamy, and titillating!

Professor with Benefits is the slightly darker, third book in the Beta Brothers series that introduces us to Carter’s older brother Kellen, and Nina’s older cousin Sadie who immediately connect when they meet one night at the last frat party of the summer.

The writing is clear and seductive. The characters are damaged, fragile, and multilayered. And the plot told from alternating POVs is an emotionally passionate tale of friendship, familial drama, loss, love, grief, depression, support, and forbidden romance.

Overall, Professor with Benefits is an easy, alluring, entertaining read by Kelly that has characters you can’t help but root for and a storyline that does an excellent job of highlighting mental health struggles and their effect on everyday life.

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or the following link.

 

 

Thank you to Hazel Kelly for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Hazel Kelly

Hazel Kelly is an Amazon bestselling author who writes sweet and steamy romance that will make you smile all over.

When she's not traveling the globe in search of cozy hammocks to write in, she enjoys tackling her tbr list with a nice big glass of anything will do. She lives in Dublin with a handsome Irishman and their three-legged furbaby.

#BookReview #BlogTour #Giveaway
Secret Wishes and Summer Kisses on Lily Pond Lane by Emily Harvale
@emilyharvale @rararesources #LilyPondLane

#BookReview #BlogTour #Giveaway Secret Wishes and Summer Kisses on Lily Pond Lane by Emily Harvale @emilyharvale @rararesources #LilyPondLane

#BookReview #BlogTour #Giveaway Secret Wishes and Summer Kisses on Lily Pond Lane by Emily Harvale @emilyharvale @rararesources #LilyPondLaneTitle: Secret Wishes and Summer Kisses on Lily Pond Lane

Author: Emily Harvale

Published by: Crescent Gate Publishing on June 26, 2019

Genres: Contemporary Romance, Women's Fiction

Pages: 251

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Emily Harvale, Rachel's Random Resources

Book Rating: 9/10

 

Synopsis:

Everyone’s got a secret wish in Little Pondale this summer.  

Mia’s been exceptionally lucky since moving to Lily Pond Lane. But even on her honeymoon with the man of her dreams, she still has one remaining wish.

 Ella wishes Gill would propose. But since Mia’s wedding something’s changed in their relationship. Now he’s spending time with newcomer, Tabbie Talbaine, Ella wishes Tabbie will leave as quickly as she arrived. 

Tabbie wishes she hadn’t driven her car into a pond. But it could be the best thing that’s ever happened to her. When she discovers Hollywood heartthrob, Justin Lake’s staying in the village, getting an interview for her popular blog isn’t her only wish.

Bree was told she couldn’t have a baby. Now she’s expecting twins and is simply wishing it all goes well.

And as for Hettie … she wishes she could get her hands on an old map of the village. Because there’s something hidden in Little Pondale that Hettie Turner really wants to find.


Review:

Warm, delightful, and satisfying!

Secret Wishes and Summer Kisses on Lily Pond Lane is a sweet, feel-good romance that is pure escapism with its quaint village, gregarious villagers, tender moments, hilarious hijinks, and touch of magic.

The prose is smooth and light. The characters are friendly, welcoming, and easygoing. And the plot sweeps you away and immerses you in a fanciful tale full of friendship, family, community, hopes, dreams, love, blossoming romance, and wishes.

Secret Wishes and Summer Kisses on Lily Pond Lane is the last story in this wonderful series by Harvale. And even though it is bittersweet to say goodbye to the lovely gang we’ve come to know and love over the last eight novels it has been an absolute pleasure to be able to indulge in all the mystique, adventure, mishaps, and love that’s gone on in Little Pondale over the entire series.

 

Interactive Map of Little Pondale – https://www.emilyharvale.com/map/little-pondale.html

 

This book is available now. 

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from the following link.

 

 

And don’t forget to check out the other books in the series!

 

                     

                             

 

Giveaway:

Signed paperback of Secret Wishes and Summer Kisses, a pen, novelty sticky notes and a bookmark (Open INT)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then I reserve the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will be passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time I will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

 

About Emily Harvale

Having lived and worked in London for several years, Emily returned to her home town of Hastings where she now spends her days writing... and chatting on social media. Emily is a Member of the SoA, a PAN member of the RWA and a Pro Member of ALLi. She's an Amazon bestseller and a Kindle All Star. Emily loves writing and her stories are sure to bring a smile to your face and a warmth to your heart.

Emily says, "I write about friendship, family and falling in love. I believe in happing endings." When she isn't writing, she can be found enjoying the stunning East Sussex coast and countryside, or in a wine bar with friends, discussing life, love and the latest TV shows. Chocolate cake is often eaten. She dislikes housework almost as much as she dislikes anchovies - and will do anything to avoid both.

 

Thank you to Emily Harvale and Rachel’s Random Resources for providing me with a copy in an exchange for an honest review.

 

#BookReview
How to Hack a Heartbreak
by Kristin Rockaway @KristinRockaway @HarlequinBooks

#BookReview How to Hack a Heartbreak by Kristin Rockaway @KristinRockaway @HarlequinBooksTitle: How to Hack a Heartbreak

Author: Kristin Rockaway

Published by: Graydon House on July 30, 2019

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 352

Format: Paperback, ARC

Source: Harlequin Books

Book Rating: 8/10

 

 

Synopsis:

Swipe right for love. Swipe left for disaster.

By day, Mel Strickland is an underemployed helpdesk tech at a startup incubator, Hatch, where she helps entitled brogrammers—”Hatchlings”—who can’t even fix their own laptops, but are apparently the next wave of startup geniuses. And by night, she goes on bad dates with misbehaving dudes she’s matched with on the ubiquitous dating app, Fluttr.

But after one dick pic too many, Mel has had it. Using her brilliant coding skills, she designs an app of her own, one that allows users to log harrassers and abusers in online dating space. It’s called JerkAlert, and it goes viral overnight.

Mel is suddenly in way over her head. Worse still, her almost-boyfriend, the dreamy Alex Hernandez—the only non-douchey guy at Hatch—has no idea she’s the brains behind the app. Soon, Mel is faced with a terrible choice: one that could destroy her career, love life, and friendships, or change her life forever.


Review:

Light, cute, and timely!

How to Hack a Heartbreak is a sassy, witty rom-com about the determined, underestimated Melanie Strickland who after struggling through numerous bad dates, unsolicited dirty pics, and no shows decides to take online dating to another level by creating a website, JerkAlert, where women can identify those men who are not only sexist, obnoxious, and rude, but should definitely be avoided.

The writing style is sharp and clever. The characters are quirky, brazen, and amusing. And the plot is a funny blend of life, love, introspection, friendship, awkward moments, embarrassing situations, misunderstandings, taking chances, and the ups-and-downs of finding love in a high-tech world.

Overall, How to Hack a Heartbreak is a humorous, entertaining, easy read by Rockaway that’s bursting with female friendships, empowerment, and a nice dab of romance.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                                           

 

 

Thank you to Harlequin Books for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Kristin Rockaway

Kristin Rockaway is a native New Yorker and recovering corporate software engineer. After working in the IT industry for far too many years, she finally traded the city for the surf and chased her dreams out to Southern California, where she spends her days happily writing stories instead of code. When she’s not working, she enjoys spending time with her husband and son, browsing the aisles of her neighborhood bookstores, and planning her next big vacation.

Photograph by Kristin Rockaway.

%d bloggers like this: