Author: Carter Wilson

USA Today and #1 Denver Post bestselling author Carter Wilson explores the depths of psychological tension and paranoia in his dark, domestic thrillers. Carter is a two-time winner of the Colorado Book Award and his novels have received starred reviews from Publishers Weekly, Booklist, and Library Journal. He lives outside Boulder, Colorado.

Photo by Eldeen Annette Headshots.

#BookReview The New Neighbor by Carter Wilson @PPPress #TheNewNeighbor #CarterWilson #inkedinpoison

#BookReview The New Neighbor by Carter Wilson @PPPress #TheNewNeighbor #CarterWilson #inkedinpoison Title: The New Neighbor

Author: Carter Wilson

Published by: Poisoned Pen Press on Apr. 12, 2022

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 384

Format: Paperback

Source: Poisoned Pen Press

Book Rating: 8/10

USA Today bestselling author Carter Wilson returns with a chilling psychological thriller about Bury, NH, a standalone story with crossover to his previous novel The Dead Husband. A must for readers of Megan Miranda and Alex Michaelides.

Aidan holds the winning Powerball numbers.

Is today the best day of his life… or the worst?

Aidan Marlowe is the superstitious type—he’s been playing the same lottery numbers for fifteen years, never hitting the jackpot. Until now. On the day of his wife’s funeral.

Aidan struggles to cope with these two sudden extremes: instant wealth beyond his imagination, and the loss of the only woman he’s ever loved, the mother of his twin children. But the money gives him and his kids options they didn’t have before. They can leave everything behind. They can start a new life in a new town. So they do.

But a huge new house and all the money in the world can’t replace what they’ve lost, and it’s not long before Aidan realizes he’s merely trading old demons for new ones. Because someone is watching him and his family very closely. Someone who knows exactly who they are, where they’ve come from, and what they’re trying to hide. Someone who will stop at nothing to get what they want…


Review:

Cunning, intricate, and dark!

The New Neighbor is a crafty, sinister thriller that takes you into the life of Aidan Marlow, a father of seven-year-old twins who, after the sudden death of his beautiful wife, Holly, becomes a multi-millionaire overnight when he wins the Powerball jackpot and thus decides to relocate to Bury, New Hampshire for a new start only to discover upon arriving that the mansion he has moved into has a haunted past and someone nearby has decided he’s easy prey.

The prose is unsettling and tight. The characters are secretive, troubled, and unstable. And the plot, told through an unreliable narrator, builds and unravels briskly into an ominous tale filled with familial drama, suspicious personalities, unexpected twists, secrets, deception, jealousy, violence, and greed.

Overall, The New Neighbor is another menacing, twisty, eerie tale by Wilson that keeps you guessing from the very first page and is fast-paced, creepy, and highly entertaining.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

           

 

 

Thank you to Poisoned Pen Press for gifting me a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Carter Wilson

USA Today and #1 Denver Post bestselling author Carter Wilson explores the depths of psychological tension and paranoia in his dark, domestic thrillers. Carter is a two-time winner of the Colorado Book Award and his novels have received starred reviews from Publishers Weekly, Booklist, and Library Journal. He lives outside Boulder, Colorado.

Photo by Eldeen Annette Headshots.

#BookReview The Dead Husband by Carter Wilson @PPPress #TheDeadHusband #CarterWilson #inkedinpoison

#BookReview The Dead Husband by Carter Wilson @PPPress #TheDeadHusband #CarterWilson #inkedinpoison Title: The Dead Husband

Author: Carter Wilson

Published by: Poisoned Pen Press on May 4, 2021

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 400

Format: Paperback

Source: Poisoned Pen Press

Book Rating: 7.5/10

A murderer, a victim, and a witness… but no one in this house is innocent

Twenty years ago an unspeakable tragedy rocked Rose Yates’s small, affluent hometown… and only Rose and her family know the truth about what happened.

Haunted by guilt, Rose escaped into a new life. Now she seems to have it all: a marriage, a son, a career. And then her husband is found dead.

As far as Detective Colin Pearson is concerned, Rose is guilty. Her marriage wasn’t as happy as she’d led everyone to believe, and worse, she’s connected to a twenty-year-old cold case. She can play the part of the victim, but he won’t let her or her family escape justice this time around.

Grieving her husband and struggling to make ends meet, Rose returns home, hoping to finally confront her domineering father and unstable sister. But memories of a horrific crime echo through the house, and Rose soon learns that she can’t trust anyone, especially not the people closest to her.

From USA Today bestselling author Carter Wilson comes a story of deception, hereditary sin, and what we’ll do to protect our own.


Review:

Complex, sly, and ominous!

The Dead Husband is an unnerving, menacing, domestic thriller that takes us into the life of Rose Yates, a mystery writer and mother who, after the recent death of her husband, reluctantly moves back to her childhood home where tragic memories reside, powerful emotions swirl, and long-buried skeletons and secrets are in abundance.

The prose is tight and intense. The characters are secretive, unstable, and troubled. And the plot builds and unravels quickly into a suspenseful tale filled with familial drama, heartache, tension, obsession, death, cruelty, desperation, tragedy, and violence.

Overall, The Dead Husband is a tortuous, cunning, sinister tale by Carter that is intense, creepy, and eerily entertaining.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

           

 

 

Thank you to Poisoned Pen Press for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Carter Wilson

USA Today and #1 Denver Post bestselling author Carter Wilson explores the depths of psychological tension and paranoia in his dark, domestic thrillers. Carter is a two-time winner of the Colorado Book Award and his novels have received starred reviews from Publishers Weekly, Booklist, and Library Journal. He lives outside Boulder, Colorado.

Photo by Eldeen Annette Headshots.

%d bloggers like this: