#BookReview It’s Not You, It’s Them by Portia MacIntosh @PortiaMacIntoshTitle: It's Not You, It's Them

Author: Portia MacIntosh

Published by Carina UK on November 4, 2016

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 216

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: HQ Digital, NetGalley

Book Rating: 9/10

 

 

Synopsis:

An irresistible, feel-good romance, perfect for fans of Rosie Blake, Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk.

First comes love. Then comes family…

After a lifetime of kissing frogs, Roxie Pratt has given up on finding her own fairytale romance. That is, until she meets her very own Prince Charming, Mark Wright, and he sweeps Roxie off her feet!

So when Mark finally gets down on one knee and pops the question, there’s only one thing left to do: meet the family! And when everything has been picture-perfect so far, what could possibly go wrong…?


Review:

Outrageously funny, exceptionally charming, and adorably romantic!

This novel is a hilarious journey to “meet the family”, complete with a meddling mother, conniving ex, eccentric father, and whimsical cousin.

The writing is smooth and effortless. The plot is clever, humorous, flirty, and a barrel full of laughs, romps, embarrassing moments, awkward situations, and entertaining hijinks. And the characters are affable, quirky, self reflective, and genuine.

It’s not often as a book lover that I read a book and wish I could see it as a movie, but this book I can honestly say I think would be a great rom com. It’s definitely got that perfect combination of humour and heart.

If you haven’t had an opportunity to read my review of “Truth or Date”, also by Portia MacIntosh, check it our HERE!

 

This book is due to be published on November 4, 2016. 

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from the following links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon Canada

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially HQ, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Portia MacIntosh

Portia MacIntosh has been 'making stuff up' for as long as she can remember - or so she says. Whether it was blaming her siblings for that broken vase when she was growing up, blagging her way backstage during her rock chick phase or, most recently, whatever justification she can fabricate to explain away those lunchtime cocktails, Portia just loves telling tales. After years working as a music journalist, Portia decided it was time to use her powers for good and started writing novels. Taking inspiration from her experiences on tour with bands, the real struggle of dating in your twenties and just trying to survive as an adult human female generally, Portia writes about what it's really like for women who don't find this life stuff as easy as it seems.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email