Publisher: Mobius

#BlogTour #BookReview The Three Dahlias by Katy Watson @Mobius_Books #TheThreeDahlias #KatyWatson #MobiusBooksUS

#BlogTour #BookReview The Three Dahlias by Katy Watson @Mobius_Books #TheThreeDahlias #KatyWatson #MobiusBooksUS Title: The Three Dahlias

Author: Katy Watson

Published by: Mobius on Jul. 26, 2022

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 304

Format: Hardcover

Source: Mobius Books US

Book Rating: 9/10

Three rival actresses team up to solve a murder at the stately home of the author who made them famous – only to discover the solution lies in the stories themselves. A contemporary mystery with a Golden Age feel, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Jessica Fellowes.

In attendance: the VIP fans, staying at Aldermere; the fan club president turned convention organizer; the team behind the newest movie adaptation of Davenport’s books; the Davenport family themselves – and the three actresses famous for portraying Lettice’s 1930s detective, Dahlia Lively.

National treasure Rosalind King, from the original movies. TV Dahlia for thirteen seasons, Caro Hooper. And ex-child star Posy Starling, fresh out of the fame wilderness (and rehab) to take on the Dahlia mantle for the new movie.

Each actress has her own interpretation of the character – but this English summer weekend they will have to put aside their differences, as the crimes at Aldermere turns anything but cosy.

When fictional death turns into real bodies, can the three Dahlias find the answers to the murders among the fans, the film crew, the family – or even in Lettice’s books themselves?


Review:

Humorous, atmospheric, and mysterious!

The Three Dahlias is a clue-like murder mystery set in England on the estate of the late mystery writer extraordinaire Lettice Davenport, as long-time fans, family members, as well as some of the cast and crew from the past and present movie and tv adaptions converge for a convention and weekend to celebrate their love for her 1930s based Dahlia Lively series, but when things don’t go as smoothly as expected and bodies start racking up quickly the three actresses lucky enough to be chosen to play the famed female detective decide to work together and use everything they know from fiction to solve the real-life crimes playing out right in front of them.

The prose is witty and light. The characters are quirky, intelligent, and intriguing. And the plot is a well-paced, engaging whodunit full of secrets, greed, suspects, deduction, red herrings, amateur sleuthing, and the unlikeliest of friendships.

Overall, The Three Dahlias is a cosy, satisfying, entertaining read by Watson that was so much fun with all its intricacies and drama, and which I do hope, and was slightly hinted at, may just be the first in a multitude of books in a series that would definitely have a spot on my must-read list.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

            

 

 

Thank you to Mobius Books US for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Katy Watson

Growing up in a family of murder mystery addicts, KATY WATSON learned early to look for means, motive and opportunity.

After studying English Literature - with a sideline in crime fiction - at Lancaster University, she set about teaching herself to write her own stories, while also experiencing enough of the world to have things to write about.

Two careers, a lot of air miles, one husband, two children, three houses and forty five published books for children and adults later, lockdown finally gave her the means, motive and opportunity to create her own murder mystery - with the aid of her scientist husband's knowledge of potions. Three Dahlias is the result.

 

#BlogTour #BookReview The Lover by Helene Flood @Mobius_Books #TheLover #HeleneFlood #MobiusBooksUS

#BlogTour #BookReview The Lover by Helene Flood @Mobius_Books #TheLover #HeleneFlood #MobiusBooksUS Title: The Lover

Author: Helene Flood

Published by: Mobius on Jul. 12, 2022

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 320

Format: Hardcover

Source: Mobius Books US

Book Rating: 8/10

Is it worse to lie to your husband or the police?

Rikke is deceiving them both. When their upstairs neighbor Jørgen is found dead, she’s questioned alongside her husband Åsmund.

How can Rikke admit in front of Åsmund that Jørgen and she were having an affair? Or explain to the police the complexity of her feelings for Jørgen? The hint of relief that he’s dead. And, as the investigation closes in on the neighborhood, how long can she conceal the affair from her neighbors, her husband, and her teenage daughter?

Rikke knows she can’t hide the phone calls, emails and messages from the police. So she cuts herself a deal. In return for a few days’ grace to tell Åsmund before anyone else does, she’ll share everything about the affair.

But before she can summon the courage to confess, Rikke is struck by a chilling revelation. Jørgen can only have been killed by someone living in their small apartment building.


Review:

Slow burning, sinister, and sophisticated!

The Lover is a thought-provoking, character-driven thriller that takes you to the Tåsen neighbourhood of Oslo and immerses you into the lives of four families living in a house of flats whose worlds suddenly intersect, unravel, and collide when an affair between neighbours turns deadly.

The writing is taut and intense. The characters are multilayered, secretive, and suspicious. And the plot, including all the subplots, unravel and intertwine into a suspenseful tale about life, loss, family, drama, deception, mayhem, infidelity, disillusionment, morality, murder, and the weight of a guilty conscience.

Overall, The Lover is a tight, intricate, cunning tale by Flood that does a wonderful job of reminding us that secrets and lies often eat away at the soul and leave more than a little wave of destruction behind them.

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

            

 

 

Thank you to Mobius Books US for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Helene Flood

Pseudonym used by Helene Flood Aakvaag

Helene Flood is a psychologist who obtained her doctoral degree on violence, revictimization and trauma-related shame and guilt in 2016. She now works as a psychologist and researcher at the National Centre for Violence and Traumatic Stress. She lives in Oslo with her husband and two children. The Therapist is her first adult novel. It has been sold in 27 counties and film rights have been bought by Anonymous Content. Her second novel, The Lover, will be published in English in 2022.

Photo courtesy of Goodreads.

 

#BookReview The Therapist by Helene Flood @Mobius_Books #TheTherapist #HeleneFlood #MobiusBooksUS

#BookReview The Therapist by Helene Flood @Mobius_Books #TheTherapist #HeleneFlood #MobiusBooksUS Title: The Therapist

Author: Helene Flood

Published by: Mobius on Feb. 1, 2021

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 336

Format: Paperback

Source: Mobius Books US

Book Rating: 8/10

At first it’s the lie that hurts.

A voicemail from her husband tells Sara he’s arrived at the holiday cabin. Then a call from his friend confirms he never did.

She tries to carry on as normal, teasing out her clients’ deepest fears, but as the hours stretch out, her own begin to surface. And when the police finally take an interest, they want to know why Sara deleted that voicemail.

To get to the root of Sigurd’s disappearance, Sara must question everything she knows about her relationship.

Could the truth about what happened be inside her head?

Translated from the Norwegian by Alison McCullough


Review:

Simmering, tight, and mysterious!

The Therapist is an intense, nordic noir that introduces us to Sara, a young psychologist who specializes in teenage patients and is looking forward to a nice weekend alone, only to have her world turned upside down when she receives a call from her husband’s friends that he never actually turned up for their weekend away, and danger suddenly seems to be lurking around every corner inside and out of the home they shared.

The writing is tight and tense. The characters are flawed, unreliable, and insecure. And the plot using flashbacks and a back-and-forth style intertwines and unravels into a slow-burning tale of twists, turns, lies, deception, manipulation, suspicions, revelations, mayhem, familial drama, and obsession.

Overall, The Therapist is an atmospheric, sinister, satisfying debut by Flood that does a wonderful job of highlighting just how easily people can be psychologically and emotionally manipulated, and reminds us that even those we think we know so well often have darker sides they choose to hide.

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

            

 

 

Thank you to Mobius Books US for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Helene Flood

Pseudonym used by Helene Flood Aakvaag

Helene Flood is a psychologist who obtained her doctoral degree on violence, revictimization and trauma-related shame and guilt in 2016. She now works as a psychologist and researcher at the National Centre for Violence and Traumatic Stress. She lives in Oslo with her husband and two children. The Therapist is her first adult novel. It has been sold in 27 counties and film rights have been bought by Anonymous Content. Her second novel, The Lover, will be published in English in 2022.

Photo courtesy of Goodreads.

%d bloggers like this: