Publisher: Montlake Romance

#BookReview The Seat Filler by Sariah Wilson @AmazonPub #TheSeatFiller #SariahWilson #Montlake

#BookReview The Seat Filler by Sariah Wilson @AmazonPub #TheSeatFiller #SariahWilson #Montlake Title: The Seat Filler

Author: Sariah Wilson

Published by: Montlake Romance on Apr. 27, 2021

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 320

Format: Paperback

Source: Amazon Publishing

Book Rating: 9/10

The movie star and the dog groomer are one kiss away from the perfect love story. That’s the hiccup in a warm and witty romance by the bestselling author of Roommaid.

The meet-cute award goes to dog groomer Juliet Nolan. It’s one of Hollywood’s biggest nights when she volunteers as a seat filler and winds up next to movie heartthrob Noah freaking Douglas. Tongue tied and toes curling in her pink Converse, she pretends that she doesn’t have a clue who he is. It’s the only way to keep from swooning.

She’s pretty and unpretentious, loves his dog, and is not a worshipping fan. No way Noah’s giving up on her, even if his affectionate pursuit comes with a bump: Juliet has a pathological fear of kissing and the disappointments that follow. What odds does romance have without that momentous, stupendous, once-in-a-lifetime first smooch? Patient, empathetic, and carrying personal burdens of his own, Noah suggests a remedy: they rehearse.

The lessons begin. The guards come down. But there’s another hitch they weren’t betting on. As for that cue-the-orchestra-and-roll-credits happy ending? It might take more than practice to make it perfect.


Review:

Fun, uplifting, and super sweet!

The Seat Filler is a quick, light, flirty tale featuring the hardworking, hesitant Juliet and the handsome, successful Noah Douglas as they navigate a relationship that includes an awards show meet-cute, careers that are worlds apart, instant attraction, romantic moments, undeniable chemistry, and a crippling fear of kissing.

The writing is whimsical and smooth. The characters are charismatic, supportive, and endearing. And the plot is an irresistible blend of shameless flirting, friendship, family, light drama, tricky situations, philemaphobia, spirited shenanigans, awkward interactions, steamy romance, and adorable four-legged friends.

Overall, The Seat Filler is a witty, warm, charming tale by Wilson that I not only devoured in one sitting but absolutely loved.

This novel is available April 27, 2021.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

       

 

 

Thank you to Amazon Publishing for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Sariah Wilson

USA Today bestselling author Sariah Wilson has never jumped out of an airplane, never climbed Mt. Everest, and is not a former CIA operative. She has, however, been madly, passionately in love with her soulmate and is a fervent believer in happily ever afters—which is why she writes romance. She grew up in southern California, graduated from Brigham Young University (go Cougars!) with a semi-useless degree in history, and is the oldest of nine (yes, nine) children . She currently lives with the aforementioned soulmate and their four children in Utah, along with two cats named Pixel and Callie, who do not get along. (The cats, not the children. Although the children sometimes have their issues, too.)

Photo courtesy of Author's Website.

#BookReview Changing the Rules by Catherine Bybee @OverTheRiverPR #ChangingtheRules #RichterSeries #CatherineBybee #OTRPR #Montlake

#BookReview Changing the Rules by Catherine Bybee @OverTheRiverPR #ChangingtheRules #RichterSeries #CatherineBybee #OTRPR #Montlake Title: Changing the Rules

Author: Catherine Bybee

Series: Richter #1

Published by: Montlake Romance on Mar. 23, 2021

Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense

Pages: 336

Format: Paperback

Source: OTRPR

Book Rating: 9/10

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Catherine Bybee comes the steamy first novel in her new adrenaline-fueled Richter series.

As an employee of MacBain Securities and Solutions, Claire Kelly can certainly hold her own. Armed with an impressive set of covert skills, she’s more than prepared to tackle any job that comes her way…except one involving Cooper Lockman.

Cooper and Claire used to work together before his feelings for her sent him packing to Europe for six long years. But now he’s back and determined to ignore the still-smoldering heat that lingers between them.

Their current mission: go undercover together at a California high school to root out the mastermind behind a prostitution ring targeting young girls. The closer they get to the truth and the closer they get to each other, however, the deadlier their task becomes. As Claire and Cooper risk their lives to bring down their target, will their hearts be the final casualties?


Review:

Spicy, mysterious, and deliciously romantic!

Changing the Rules is a charged, alluring, suspenseful tale featuring the competent, handsome Cooper Lockman, who after finally returning to the California division of McBain Security and Solutions finds himself not only working undercover at a local high school as a substitute auto teacher and track coach to suss out those involved in a highly organized teen prostitution ring, but back working nice and close with the one woman, Claire Kelly, that caused him to flee to Europe six years ago and who he’s never been able to forget.

The prose is tight and seductive. The characters are dependable, multilayered, and swoon-worthy. And the plot is a steamy, rousing blend of friendship, family, tension, corruption, sizzling chemistry, flirty banter, red herrings, mayhem, sexy times, and dangerous situations.

Overall, Changing the Rules is an action-packed, menacing, addictive novel with irresistible characters that I devoured from start to finish. It captivated, amused, and thoroughly entertained me, and now I can’t wait for the release of the next book in the series, A Thin Disguise.

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

       

 

 

Thank you to OTRPR and Amazon Publishing for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Catherine Bybee

Catherine Bybee is a New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today bestselling author of twenty-five books that have collectively sold more than three million copies and have been translated into twelve languages. Raised in Washington State, Bybee moved to Southern California in hopes of becoming a movie star. After growing bored with waiting tables, she returned to school and became a registered nurse, spending most of her career in urban emergency rooms. She now writes full-time and has penned the Not Quite series, the Weekday Brides series, and the Most Likely To series.

#BookReview Until Then (Cape Harbor #2) by Heidi McLaughlin @AmazonPub #UntilThen #HeidiMcLaughlin #CapeHarbor

#BookReview Until Then (Cape Harbor #2) by Heidi McLaughlin @AmazonPub #UntilThen #HeidiMcLaughlin #CapeHarbor Title: Until Then

Author: Heidi McLaughlin

Series: Cape Harbor #2

Published by: Montlake Romance on Feb. 2, 2021

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 348

Format: Paperback

Source: Amazon Publishing

Book Rating: 8.5/10

From New York Times bestselling author Heidi McLaughlin comes an uplifting story about two old friends finding new love.

Rennie Wallace has it all: a boyfriend, a good job, a best friend who lives a stone’s throw away…but something’s missing. She isn’t sure what until she returns to Cape Harbor, her favorite home away from home. There, she crosses paths with an old love, Graham. Rennie’s drawn to him but senses their paths in life have wandered too far apart.

Graham Chamberlain has returned to Cape Harbor to care for his brother, the town alcoholic. Managing and serving drinks at his family’s bar, Graham can’t believe how mundane his life has become. He’s resigned himself to living for others, his own desires for adventure and romance taking a back seat to running the family business—until Rennie walks through his door.

Graham feels the weight of his small-town life; Rennie has a boyfriend and a busy life in the city. But neither can deny the rekindled spark between them. Will they find their way back to one another?


Review:

Emotional, sobering, and optimistic!

Until Then is a sweet, slow-burning, second-chance romance that takes us into the life of the hardworking, Rennie Wallace who at first glance seems to have it all, a successful career and a handsome fiance, but when events send her back to the small town of Cape Harbor, Washington for the first time in fifteen years, and she comes face-to-face with Graham Chamberlain her on-again, off-again friend and lover from college timing may once again become everything.

The prose is heartfelt and genuine. The characters are supportive, compassionate, and kind. And the plot is an uplifting mix of relationship dynamics, introspection, communication, heartbreak, trust, family, friendship, community, and unconditional love.

Overall, Until Then is a charming, authentic, tender addition to the Cape Harbor series by McLaughlin that definitely has the perfect amount of hope, heart, and humour to keep me yearning for more.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

         

 

 

Thank you to Amazon Publishing for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Heidi McLaughlin

Heidi McLaughlin is a New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author of The Beaumont Series, The Boys of Summer, and The Archers.

Originally, from the Pacific Northwest, she now lives in picturesque Vermont, with her husband, two daughters, and their three dogs.

In 2012, Heidi turned her passion for reading into a full-fledged literary career, writing over twenty novels, including the acclaimed Forever My Girl.

When writing isn’t occupying her time, you can find her sitting courtside at either of her daughters’ basketball games.

Heidi’s first novel, Forever My Girl, has been adapted into a motion picture with LD Entertainment and Roadside Attractions, starring Alex Roe and Jessica Rothe, and opened in theaters on January 19, 2018.

Photograph courtesy of Author's Goodreads Page.

#BookReview If You Must Know (Potomac Point #1) by Jamie Beck @writerjamiebeck @AmazonPub #montlakeromance

#BookReview If You Must Know (Potomac Point #1) by Jamie Beck @writerjamiebeck @AmazonPub #montlakeromance Title: If You Must Know

Author: Jamie Beck

Series: Potomac Point #1

Published by: Montlake Romance on Jun. 1, 2020

Genres: Contemporary Romance, Women's Fiction

Pages: 368

Format: Paperback, ARC

Source: Amazon Publishing

Book Rating: 8/10

Life turns upside down for two sisters in Wall Street Journalbestselling author Jamie Beck’s emotional novel about how secrets and differences can break—or bind—a family.

Sisters Amanda Foster and Erin Turner have little in common except the childhood bedroom they once shared and the certainty each feels that her way of life is best. Amanda follows the rules—at the school where she works; in her community; and as a picture-perfect daughter, wife, and mother-to-be. Erin follows her heart—in love and otherwise—living a bohemian lifestyle on a shoestring budget and honoring her late father’s memory with a passion for music and her fledgling bath-products business.

The sisters are content leading separate but happy lives in their hometown of Potomac Point until everything is upended by lies that force them to confront unsettling truths about their family, themselves, and each other. For sisters as different as these two, building trust doesn’t come easily—especially with one secret still between them—but it may be the only way to save their family.


Review:

Absorbing, hopeful, and bittersweet!

If You Must Know is a heartwarming, engaging tale set in the small-town of Potomac Point that takes us into the lives of two main characters. Erin, a free spirit who is fun-loving and kind but often impulsive and reckless, and Amanda, a straightlaced, happily married, pregnant teacher whose idyllic world is suddenly shattered when her husband runs off with another woman and all of her mother’s savings.

The writing is smooth and fluid. The characterization is well-developed with an intriguing cast of characters, including two generations of strong, determined women who must learn to support forgive and embrace the future. And the plot is a delightful blend of heart, hope, angst, grief, drama and love.

If You Must Know is, ultimately, a story about family dynamics, heartbreak, secrets, friendship, loss, dreams, regrets, romance, contentment, sibling rivalry, discovering one’s true self, and the complex relationship between sisters. It’s a sweet, tender, emotional tale that does a lovely job of reminding us that no matter how challenging life might often seem things always seem to work themselves out in the end.

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

     

 

 

 

Thank you to Amazon Publishing for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Jamie Beck

Wall Street Journal and USA Today bestselling author Jamie Beck’s realistic and heartwarming stories have sold more than three million copies. She is a two-time Booksellers’ Best Award finalist, a National Readers’ Choice Award winner, and critics at Kirkus, Publishers Weekly, and Booklist have respectively called her work “smart,” “uplifting,” and “entertaining.” In addition to writing novels, she enjoys dancing around the kitchen while cooking and hitting the slopes in Vermont and Utah. Above all, she is a grateful wife and mother to a very patient, supportive family.

Photograph courtesy of Author's Website.

#BookReview After All (Cape Harbor #1) by Heidi McLaughlin @HeidiJoVT @AmazonPub @ThomasAllenLTD #CapeHarbor

#BookReview After All (Cape Harbor #1) by Heidi McLaughlin @HeidiJoVT @AmazonPub @ThomasAllenLTD #CapeHarbor Title: After All

Author: Heidi McLaughlin

Series: Cape Harbor #1

Published by: Montlake Romance on Mar. 24, 2020

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 336

Format: Paperback

Source: Thomas Allen & Son

Book Rating: 8.5/10

From New York Times bestselling author Heidi McLaughlin comes a heartfelt story about overcoming great loss and forgiving past sins to find happiness again.

Brooklyn Hewett hasn’t set foot in Cape Harbor for fifteen years—not since an accident claimed the love of her life, Austin Woods. Desperate to move forward, Brooklyn has focused on raising her daughter for the past fourteen years. But when the opportunity comes along to renovate the old Driftwood Inn, Brooklyn knows it’s time to go home.

But it won’t be easy. For one, Austin’s best friend, Bowie Holmes, still lives in Cape Harbor. Brooklyn hasn’t quite been able to forget him: not since the night they spent together—the same night they both lost Austin. Separated by tragedy and guilt, they’re brought together by the Driftwood project. And as they rebuild the inn, they discover they’re also rebuilding something else.

Brooklyn’s always been desperate to move on, not knowing that she first needs to reconcile past transgressions. She can’t forget, but she can forgive—Austin, Bowie, and herself—on her way toward long-awaited happiness.


Review:

Moving, uplifting, and sweet!

After All is an engaging, heartwarming tale that brings together the independent, single mom Brooklyn and the hardworking, patient Bowie as they discover that beneath all the past miscommunication, secrets, and heartbreak is an unconditional friendship and love that is still smouldering after fifteen years of absence.

The prose is emotive and sincere. The characters are hesitant, dependable, and endearing. And the plot is a tender tale brimming with relationship dynamics, introspection, parenthood, acceptance, forgiveness, love, romance, family, community, and new beginnings.

Overall, After All is an intimate, optimistic, bittersweet tale by McLaughlin that has characters you can’t help but root for and a happy-ever-after ending that leaves you eager for more.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

              

 

 

Thank you to Thomas Allen & Son for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Heidi McLaughlin

Heidi McLaughlin is a New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author of The Beaumont Series, The Boys of Summer, and The Archers.

Originally, from the Pacific Northwest, she now lives in picturesque Vermont, with her husband, two daughters, and their three dogs.

In 2012, Heidi turned her passion for reading into a full-fledged literary career, writing over twenty novels, including the acclaimed Forever My Girl.

When writing isn’t occupying her time, you can find her sitting courtside at either of her daughters’ basketball games.

Heidi’s first novel, Forever My Girl, has been adapted into a motion picture with LD Entertainment and Roadside Attractions, starring Alex Roe and Jessica Rothe, and opened in theaters on January 19, 2018.

Photograph courtesy of Author's Goodreads Page.

#BookReview Always Enough (Meet Me in Montana #2) by Kelly Elliott @author_kelly @AmazonPub

#BookReview Always Enough (Meet Me in Montana #2) by Kelly Elliott @author_kelly @AmazonPub Title: Always Enough

Author: Kelly Elliott

Series: Meet Me in Montana #2

Published by: Montlake Romance on Apr. 7, 2020

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 304

Format: Paperback

Source: Amazon Publishing

Book Rating: 9/10

The second novel in New York Times bestselling author Kelly Elliott’s Meet Me in Montana series turns up the emotion with a story about finding true love and healing broken hearts.

Grieving the loss of her fiancé two years ago, Kaylee longs for a fresh start. When she follows her best friend from Atlanta to Hamilton, Montana, Kaylee looks forward to the wild terrain and a new town to help her forget the memories and dreams of a life that will never be hers.

After a tragic car accident, Ty Shaw is told he may never walk again. But Ty doesn’t easily accept defeat, and through grit, determination, and more physical therapy than any man should ever endure, he beats the odds. Even though he’ll never ride again, Ty longs to feel alive—the way he did on the Professional Bull Riders circuit.

When Kaylee meets Ty, she finds him just as captivating as the rugged landscape of Montana. When Ty is with Kaylee, he remembers just how good life can be. But can they move beyond their broken hearts and dreams to find a second chance with each other?

Only Griff didn’t want to meet. He asked that I trust him and said it was for the best. But I wanted more—more Griff, in the flesh—so I took a big chance and went looking for him. People have done crazier things for love.

But what I found could change everything.


Review:

Optimistic, heartfelt, and passionate!

Always Enough is a lighthearted, intimate tale that takes you on a journey into the lives of the sweet, charming Kaylee who’s ready to move on and start anew after the devastating loss of her fiancé, and the rugged, tormented, ex-bull rider Ty who’s still struggling to recover from an accident that stole his career and resulted in an addiction to pain medication.

The prose is emotive and honest. The characters are wounded, supportive, and loveable. And the plot is a push-pull tale full of life, love, family, friendship, understanding, angst, instant attraction, red-hot chemistry, emotional baggage, sexy times, and tender moments.

Overall, Always Enough is an emotive, uplifting, engaging tale by Elliott that has characters you can’t help but fall in love with and a happy-ever-after ending that leaves you with a smile.

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

              

 

 

Thank you to Amazon Publishing for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Kelly Elliott

Kelly Elliott is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling contemporary romance author. Since finishing her bestselling Wanted series, Kelly continues to spread her wings while remaining true to her roots and giving readers stories rich with hot protective men, strong women and beautiful surroundings.

Her bestselling works include, Wanted, Broken, Without You, and Unconditional Love, to name just a few.

Kelly has been passionate about writing since she was fifteen. After years of filling journals with stories, she finally followed her dream and published her first novel, Wanted, in November of 2012.

Kelly lives in central Texas with her husband, daughter, and two pups. When she’s not writing, Kelly enjoys reading and spending time with her family. She is down to earth and very in touch with her readers, both on social media and at signings.

Photograph courtesy of Author's Website.

#BookReview Cross Her Heart (Bree Taggert #1) by Melinda Leigh @MelindaLeigh1 @AmazonPub #montlakeromance

#BookReview Cross Her Heart (Bree Taggert #1) by Melinda Leigh @MelindaLeigh1 @AmazonPub #montlakeromance Title: Cross Her Heart

Author: Melinda Leigh

Series: Bree Taggert #1

Published by: Montlake Romance on Mar. 17, 2020

Genres: Romantic Suspense, Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 327

Format: Paperback, ARC

Source: Amazon Publishing

Book Rating: 8/10

A homicide detective’s violent family history repeats itself in #1 Amazon Charts and Wall Street Journal bestselling author Melinda Leigh’s novel of murder, secrets, and retribution.

For more than twenty-five years, Philadelphia homicide detective Bree Taggert has tucked away the nightmarish childhood memories of her parents’ murder-suicide…Until her younger sister, Erin, is killed in a crime that echoes that tragic night: innocent witnesses and a stormy marriage that ended in gunfire. There’s just one chilling difference. Erin’s husband, Justin, has vanished.

Bree knows how explosive the line between love and hate can be, yet the evidence against her troubled brother-in-law isn’t adding up. Teaming up with Justin’s old friend, former sheriff’s investigator and K-9 handler Matt Flynn, Bree vows to uncover the secrets of her sister’s life and death, as she promised Erin’s children. But as her investigation unfolds, the danger hits close to home. Once again, Bree’s family is caught in a death grip. And this time, it could be fatal for her.


Review:

Twisty, menacing, and intense!

In this compelling first installment in the Bree Taggert series, Cross Her Heart, Leigh has written a well-paced whodunit where cases from the past and the present collide, suspects are numerous, and danger lurks around every corner.

The writing is smooth and tight. The characters are dependable, persistent, and troubled. And the plot is a captivating police procedural with lots of twists, turns, red herrings, familial drama, deception, jealousy, obsession, abuse, murder and a dab of romance.

Overall, Cross Her Heart is a suspenseful, entertaining, sinister tale that’s an encouraging start for this new series with its intriguing characters, and engaging storyline.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

           

 

 

Thank you to Amazon Publishing for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Melinda Leigh

#1 Wall Street Journal and #1 Amazon bestselling author Melinda Leigh is a fully recovered banker who learned that writing books is way more fun than analyzing financial statements. Melinda's debut novel, SHE CAN RUN, was nominated for Best First Novel by the International Thriller Writers. Since then, she has garnered numerous writing accolades, including two RITA® Award nominations and an induction into the NJ Romance Writers Hall of Fame. Her novels have sold more than 7.5 million copies across the world. Melinda loves martial arts, rescue dogs, and sea turtles.

Photograph courtesy of Author's Website.

#BookReview A Favour for a Favor (All In #2) by Helena Hunting @helenahunting @AmazonPub @ThomasAllenLTD

#BookReview A Favour for a Favor (All In #2) by Helena Hunting @helenahunting @AmazonPub @ThomasAllenLTD Title: A Favor for a Favor

Author: Helena Hunting

Series: All In #2

Published by: Montlake Romance on Jan. 28, 2020

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 302

Format: Paperback

Source: Thomas Allen & Son

Book Rating: 10/10

From the New York Times bestselling author of Pucked and A Lie for a Lie, a new stand-alone romance about trading favors, battling wills, and winning love.

When I joined Seattle’s NHL expansion team, I thought it was the start of something great. But nothing ever goes the way you expect. Take my introduction to my new neighbor. She came rolling in on the hot mess express at midnight, making a racket while she tried to get into my team captain’s apartment. Did I mention that he’s married to a woman who definitely was not her?

Imagine my surprise when I end up with an injury that has me out of the game for weeks, and she’s the one to offer to help me. I should probably add that she’s not the captain’s mistress. She’s his sexy, pastel-haired younger sister.

So we come up with an arrangement: she rehabs me so that I can get back on the ice sooner, and she can add a professional athlete that isn’t her brother to her client list. Seems simple enough. As long as I can keep my hands to myself and my hormones in check.


Review:

Swoon-worthy, witty, and fun!

A Favor for a Favor is a sassy, heartwarming, delightful tale featuring the focused, feisty Stevie and the intense, broody Bishop as they both discover firsthand just how powerful attraction, temptation, and chemistry can truly be.

The writing is sharp and humorous. The characters are quirky, engaging, and charismatic. And the plot is an irresistible blend of friendship, family, light drama, tricky moments, awkward situations, hilarious hijinks, sporty action, snappy dialogue, shameless flirting, and sizzling romance.

Overall, A Favor for a Favor is a cheeky, amusing, entertaining tale by Hunting that had everything I look for in a lighthearted rom-com and more. I loved the characters, I loved the storyline, and I loved the happy-ever-after ending, and it is without a doubt one of my favourite reads of the year.

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

             

 

 

Thank you to Thomas Allen & Son for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Helena Hunting

Helena Hunting is the author of The USA Today and NYT bestselling PUCKED Series. She lives on the outskirts of Toronto with her incredibly tolerant family and two moderately intolerant cats. She writes everything from romantic sports comedy to new adult angst.

Photograph courtesy of Author's Website.

#BookReview The Last Sister (Columbia River #1) by Kendra Elliot @kendraelliot @AmazonPub @ThomasAllenLTD

#BookReview The Last Sister (Columbia River #1) by Kendra Elliot @kendraelliot @AmazonPub @ThomasAllenLTD Title: The Last Sister

Series: Columbia River #1

Published by: Montlake Romance on Jan. 14, 2020

Genres: Mystery/Thriller, Romantic Suspense

Pages: 336

Format: Paperback

Source: Thomas Allen & Son

Book Rating: 8.5/10

Three sisters’ secrets collide in a shocking novel of suspense by the Wall Street Journal and Amazon Charts bestselling author of the Mercy Kilpatrick series.

Twenty years ago Emily Mills’s father was murdered, and she found his body hanging in the backyard. Her younger sister, Madison, claims she was asleep in her room. Her older sister, Tara, claims she was out with friends. The tragedy drove their mother to suicide and Tara to leave town forever. The killer was caught. The case closed.

Ever since, Emily and Madison have tried to forget what happened that night—until an eerily similar murder brings it all back. It also brings FBI special agent Zander Wells to the Oregon logging town. As eager as he is to solve the brutal double slaying, he is just as intrigued with the mystery of Emily’s and her sisters’ past.

When more blood is shed, Zander suspects there’s a secret buried in this town no one wants unearthed. Is it something Emily and Madison don’t know? Or aren’t telling? And Tara? Maybe Emily can’t bear to find her. Because when Tara disappeared, she took a secret of her own with her.


Review:

Riveting, edgy, and suspenseful!

In this compelling first instalment in the Columbia River series, The Last Sister, Elliot has written a tortuous whodunit where cases from the present and the past intertwine, suspects are in abundance, and deep-rooted racism runs rampant.

The writing is taut and intense. The characters are vulnerable, persistent, and driven. And the plot is an ominous tale full of twists, turns, red herrings, family drama, deception, corruption, hatred, murder, and a smidgen of romance.

Overall, I would have to say that The Last Sister, is an intricately woven, provocative, highly entertaining mystery that’s a promising start for this new series with its nice pace, well-developed characters, and action-packed plot.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                   

 

 

Thank you to Thomas Allen & Son for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Kendra Elliott

An Amazon #1 selling author, Kendra Elliot has sold over 7 Million books and been on the WSJ bestseller list ten times.

She grew up in the lush Pacific Northwest and still lives there with her family and three cats. She's fascinated with forensics, refuses to eat anything green, and dreams of living every day in flip flops.

Photograph courtesy of Author's Goodreads Page.

 

#BookReview Dirty Letters by Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward @vikeeland @PenelopeAuthor @AmazonPub @ThomasAllenLTD

#BookReview Dirty Letters by Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward @vikeeland @PenelopeAuthor @AmazonPub @ThomasAllenLTD Title: Dirty Letters

Author: Vi Keeland, Penelope Ward

Published by: Montlake Romance on Nov. 5, 2019

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 300

Format: Paperback

Source: Thomas Allen & Son

Book Rating: 8/10

I’d never forgotten him—a man I’d yet to meet.

Griffin Quinn was my childhood pen pal, the British boy who couldn’t have been more different from me. Over the years, through hundreds of letters, we became best friends, sharing our deepest, darkest secrets and forming a connection I never thought could break.

Until one day it did.

Then, out of the blue, a new letter arrived. A scathing one—one with eight years of pent-up anger. I had no choice but to finally come clean as to why I stopped writing.

Griffin forgave me, and somehow we were able to rekindle our childhood connection. Only now we were adults, and that connection had grown to a spark. Our letters quickly went from fun to flirty to downright dirty, revealing our wildest fantasies. So it only made sense that we would take our relationship to the next level and see each other in person.

Only Griff didn’t want to meet. He asked that I trust him and said it was for the best. But I wanted more—more Griff, in the flesh—so I took a big chance and went looking for him. People have done crazier things for love.

But what I found could change everything.


Review:

Intimate, hopeful, and sweet!

Dirty Letters is a lighthearted, passionate tale that takes you on a journey into the lives of the creative, reclusive Luca who after surviving a fire that claimed her best friend is still struggling with trepidation and fear towards the outside, congested world, and the successful, famous, rocker Griffin whose life is full yet empty and who has never forgotten the attraction and special bond he felt for his childhood pen pal.

The prose is emotive and honest. The characters are unique, vulnerable, and lonely. And the plot using an intriguing mixture of narration, letters, texts, and inner musings is a delightfully romantic, charming tale about life, love, loss, family, friendship, self-discovery, happiness, taking chances, enduring love, and the struggles associated with an anxiety disorder and agoraphobia.

Overall, Dirty Letters is an uplifting, heartfelt, sensual tale by Keeland and Ward that has characters you can’t help but root for and a happy-ever-after ending that leaves you smiling, satisfied, and hoping for more. It’s an absolute treat and a beautiful example of what happens when two of the most successful authors of a genre collaborate.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

              

 

 

Thank you to Thomas Allen & Son for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Penelope Ward

Penelope Ward is a New York Times, USA Today and #1 Wall Street Journal Bestselling author.

She grew up in Boston with five older brothers and spent most of her twenties as a television news anchor before switching to a more family-friendly career.

Penelope lives for reading books in the new adult genre, coffee and hanging out with her friends and family on weekends.

She is the proud mother of a beautiful 13-year-old girl with autism (the inspiration for the character Callie in Gemini) and an 11-year-old boy, both of whom are the lights of her life.

Penelope, her husband and kids reside in Rhode Island.

She is a twenty-time New York Times bestseller and the author of over twenty novels.

Photography courtesy of Author's Goodreads Page.

About Vi Keeland

Author Image - Vi Keeland

Vi Keeland is a #1 New York Times, #1 Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author. With millions of books sold, her titles have appeared in over one hundred Bestseller lists and are currently translated in twenty-six languages. She resides in New York with her husband and their three children where she is living out her own happily ever after with the boy she met at age six.

Photograph courtesy of Author's Goodreads Page.

%d bloggers like this: