Publisher: Montlake Romance

#BookReview A Favour for a Favor (All In #2) by Helena Hunting @helenahunting @AmazonPub @ThomasAllenLTD

#BookReview A Favour for a Favor (All In #2) by Helena Hunting @helenahunting @AmazonPub @ThomasAllenLTD Title: A Favor for a Favor

Author: Helena Hunting

Series: All In #2

Published by: Montlake Romance on Jan. 28, 2020

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 302

Format: Paperback

Source: Thomas Allen & Son

Book Rating: 10/10

From the New York Times bestselling author of Pucked and A Lie for a Lie, a new stand-alone romance about trading favors, battling wills, and winning love.

When I joined Seattle’s NHL expansion team, I thought it was the start of something great. But nothing ever goes the way you expect. Take my introduction to my new neighbor. She came rolling in on the hot mess express at midnight, making a racket while she tried to get into my team captain’s apartment. Did I mention that he’s married to a woman who definitely was not her?

Imagine my surprise when I end up with an injury that has me out of the game for weeks, and she’s the one to offer to help me. I should probably add that she’s not the captain’s mistress. She’s his sexy, pastel-haired younger sister.

So we come up with an arrangement: she rehabs me so that I can get back on the ice sooner, and she can add a professional athlete that isn’t her brother to her client list. Seems simple enough. As long as I can keep my hands to myself and my hormones in check.


Review:

Swoon-worthy, witty, and fun!

A Favor for a Favor is a sassy, heartwarming, delightful tale featuring the focused, feisty Stevie and the intense, broody Bishop as they both discover firsthand just how powerful attraction, temptation, and chemistry can truly be.

The writing is sharp and humorous. The characters are quirky, engaging, and charismatic. And the plot is an irresistible blend of friendship, family, light drama, tricky moments, awkward situations, hilarious hijinks, sporty action, snappy dialogue, shameless flirting, and sizzling romance.

Overall, A Favor for a Favor is a cheeky, amusing, entertaining tale by Hunting that had everything I look for in a lighthearted rom-com and more. I loved the characters, I loved the storyline, and I loved the happy-ever-after ending, and it is without a doubt one of my favourite reads of the year.

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

             

 

 

Thank you to Thomas Allen & Son for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Helena Hunting

Helena Hunting is the author of The USA Today and NYT bestselling PUCKED Series. She lives on the outskirts of Toronto with her incredibly tolerant family and two moderately intolerant cats. She writes everything from romantic sports comedy to new adult angst.

Photograph courtesy of Author's Website.

#BookReview The Last Sister (Columbia River #1) by Kendra Elliot @kendraelliot @AmazonPub @ThomasAllenLTD

#BookReview The Last Sister (Columbia River #1) by Kendra Elliot @kendraelliot @AmazonPub @ThomasAllenLTD Title: The Last Sister

Series: Columbia River #1

Published by: Montlake Romance on Jan. 14, 2020

Genres: Mystery/Thriller, Romantic Suspense

Pages: 336

Format: Paperback

Source: Thomas Allen & Son

Book Rating: 8.5/10

Three sisters’ secrets collide in a shocking novel of suspense by the Wall Street Journal and Amazon Charts bestselling author of the Mercy Kilpatrick series.

Twenty years ago Emily Mills’s father was murdered, and she found his body hanging in the backyard. Her younger sister, Madison, claims she was asleep in her room. Her older sister, Tara, claims she was out with friends. The tragedy drove their mother to suicide and Tara to leave town forever. The killer was caught. The case closed.

Ever since, Emily and Madison have tried to forget what happened that night—until an eerily similar murder brings it all back. It also brings FBI special agent Zander Wells to the Oregon logging town. As eager as he is to solve the brutal double slaying, he is just as intrigued with the mystery of Emily’s and her sisters’ past.

When more blood is shed, Zander suspects there’s a secret buried in this town no one wants unearthed. Is it something Emily and Madison don’t know? Or aren’t telling? And Tara? Maybe Emily can’t bear to find her. Because when Tara disappeared, she took a secret of her own with her.


Review:

Riveting, edgy, and suspenseful!

In this compelling first instalment in the Columbia River series, The Last Sister, Elliot has written a tortuous whodunit where cases from the present and the past intertwine, suspects are in abundance, and deep-rooted racism runs rampant.

The writing is taut and intense. The characters are vulnerable, persistent, and driven. And the plot is an ominous tale full of twists, turns, red herrings, family drama, deception, corruption, hatred, murder, and a smidgen of romance.

Overall, I would have to say that The Last Sister, is an intricately woven, provocative, highly entertaining mystery that’s a promising start for this new series with its nice pace, well-developed characters, and action-packed plot.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                   

 

 

Thank you to Thomas Allen & Son for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Kendra Elliott

An Amazon #1 selling author, Kendra Elliot has sold over 7 Million books and been on the WSJ bestseller list ten times.

She grew up in the lush Pacific Northwest and still lives there with her family and three cats. She's fascinated with forensics, refuses to eat anything green, and dreams of living every day in flip flops.

Photograph courtesy of Author's Goodreads Page.

 

#BookReview Dirty Letters by Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward @vikeeland @PenelopeAuthor @AmazonPub @ThomasAllenLTD

#BookReview Dirty Letters by Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward @vikeeland @PenelopeAuthor @AmazonPub @ThomasAllenLTD Title: Dirty Letters

Author: Vi Keeland, Penelope Ward

Published by: Montlake Romance on Nov. 5, 2019

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 300

Format: Paperback

Source: Thomas Allen & Son

Book Rating: 8/10

I’d never forgotten him—a man I’d yet to meet.

Griffin Quinn was my childhood pen pal, the British boy who couldn’t have been more different from me. Over the years, through hundreds of letters, we became best friends, sharing our deepest, darkest secrets and forming a connection I never thought could break.

Until one day it did.

Then, out of the blue, a new letter arrived. A scathing one—one with eight years of pent-up anger. I had no choice but to finally come clean as to why I stopped writing.

Griffin forgave me, and somehow we were able to rekindle our childhood connection. Only now we were adults, and that connection had grown to a spark. Our letters quickly went from fun to flirty to downright dirty, revealing our wildest fantasies. So it only made sense that we would take our relationship to the next level and see each other in person.

Only Griff didn’t want to meet. He asked that I trust him and said it was for the best. But I wanted more—more Griff, in the flesh—so I took a big chance and went looking for him. People have done crazier things for love.

But what I found could change everything.


Review:

Intimate, hopeful, and sweet!

Dirty Letters is a lighthearted, passionate tale that takes you on a journey into the lives of the creative, reclusive Luca who after surviving a fire that claimed her best friend is still struggling with trepidation and fear towards the outside, congested world, and the successful, famous, rocker Griffin whose life is full yet empty and who has never forgotten the attraction and special bond he felt for his childhood pen pal.

The prose is emotive and honest. The characters are unique, vulnerable, and lonely. And the plot using an intriguing mixture of narration, letters, texts, and inner musings is a delightfully romantic, charming tale about life, love, loss, family, friendship, self-discovery, happiness, taking chances, enduring love, and the struggles associated with an anxiety disorder and agoraphobia.

Overall, Dirty Letters is an uplifting, heartfelt, sensual tale by Keeland and Ward that has characters you can’t help but root for and a happy-ever-after ending that leaves you smiling, satisfied, and hoping for more. It’s an absolute treat and a beautiful example of what happens when two of the most successful authors of a genre collaborate.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

              

 

 

Thank you to Thomas Allen & Son for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Vi Keeland

Author Image - Vi Keeland

Vi Keeland is a #1 New York Times, #1 Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author. With millions of books sold, her titles have appeared in over one hundred Bestseller lists and are currently translated in twenty-six languages. She resides in New York with her husband and their three children where she is living out her own happily ever after with the boy she met at age six.

Photograph courtesy of Author's Goodreads Page.

About Penelope Ward

Penelope Ward is a New York Times, USA Today and #1 Wall Street Journal Bestselling author.

She grew up in Boston with five older brothers and spent most of her twenties as a television news anchor before switching to a more family-friendly career.

Penelope lives for reading books in the new adult genre, coffee and hanging out with her friends and family on weekends.

She is the proud mother of a beautiful 13-year-old girl with autism (the inspiration for the character Callie in Gemini) and an 11-year-old boy, both of whom are the lights of her life.

Penelope, her husband and kids reside in Rhode Island.

She is a twenty-time New York Times bestseller and the author of over twenty novels.

Photography courtesy of Author's Goodreads Page.

#BlogTour #BookReview Butterfly in Frost by Sylvia Day @SylDay @AmazonPub @midaspr #ButterflyinFrost

#BlogTour #BookReview Butterfly in Frost by Sylvia Day @SylDay @AmazonPub @midaspr #ButterflyinFrost Title: Butterfly in Frost

Author: Sylvia Day

Published by: Montlake Romance on Aug. 27, 2019

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 204

Format: Paperback, ARC

Source: Midas PR

Book Rating: 7/10

Teagan Ransom has finally settled in a place she can call home, spending time with new friends she adores, focusing on a fulfilling job, whilst reconciling the past and laying the groundwork for the future.

That is until Garrett Frost moves in next door. He’s obstinate and too bold, a raging and disruptive force of nature. Teagan recognizes the ghosts that haunt him, the torment driving him. Garrett would be risky in any form, but wounded, he’s far more dangerous. Tegan fears he could pull apart everything she has worked so hard to build, but Garrett’s too determined…and too tempting.

Emotional and heartrending, Butterfly in Frost marks a brilliant return by global sensation Sylvia Day, the No.1 international multimillion bestselling author of the Crossfire saga.


Review:

Quick, fervent, and surprising!

Butterfly in Frost is an emotionally-charged, erotic novella that takes you on a journey into the life of Teagan Ransom, a fragile, hesitant, plastic surgeon who finds herself inadvertently in the crosshairs of her sexy, secretive, new neighbour, Garrett Frost whose determined to sweep her off her feet.

The prose is seductive and tight. The characters are wounded, lonely, and hopeful. And the plot is a dramatic tale with a sliver of mystery that’s full of heartache, loss, guilt, grief, relationship dynamics, friendship, community, romance, explosive chemistry, and enduring love.

Overall, Butterfly in Frost is a sensual, emotive, uplifting tale that highlights the importance of letting go of the past, forgiving one’s self, taking chances, and moving on. And even though the plot seemed to move quite fast at times and could have been a bit longer to allow for some more depth in the characterization and storyline there’s a fantastic little twist that will almost certainly have you eager to start it all over again.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                                      

 

 

Thank you to Midas PR and Montlake Romance for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Sylvia Day

Sylvia Day is the #1 New York Times, #1 USA Today, and #1 international bestselling author of over twenty award-winning novels translated into 41 languages. With tens of millions of copies of her books in print, she is a No. 1 bestseller in 28 countries. Sylvia served as the 22nd President of Romance Writers of America and presently serves on the Authors Guild's Board of Directors. Sylvia's work has been covered in Time, Variety, People, The Wall Street Journal, Cosmopolitan, Associated Press, USA Today, and Entertainment Weekly.

Photograph courtesy of Goodreads Author Page.

 

#BookReview Hide and Seek by Mary Burton @MaryBurtonBooks @JoanSchulhafer

#BookReview Hide and Seek by Mary Burton @MaryBurtonBooks @JoanSchulhafer Title: Hide and Seek

Author: Mary Burton

Series: Criminal Profiler #1

Published by: Montlake Romance on Apr. 23, 2019

Genres: Mystery/Thriller, Romantic Suspense

Pages: 344

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Mary Burton, NetGalley

Book Rating: 9/10

She’s hunting. He’s watching.

Special Agent Macy Crow is a survivor. After a vicious hit-and-run nearly kills her, she gets right back to work, and now she’s gunning for a spot on the FBI’s elite profiling team. As an audition, she offers to investigate the recently discovered bones of Tobi Turner, a high school girl who disappeared fifteen years ago.

While investigating with local sheriff Mike Nevada, a former colleague and onetime lover, Macy discovers a link between Tobi’s case and several others that occurred around the same time as her disappearance. As Macy interviews victims and examines old cases, she uncovers a sinister picture of a stalker who graduated to sexual assault—and then murder.

Macy and Nevada race to put this monster behind bars before he can come out of hiding. But the murderer’s had years to hone his skills, and soon Macy herself becomes a target. She’s no stranger to pain and terror, but will Macy’s first profiling case be her last?


Review:

Darkly intriguing, incredibly menacing, and briskly paced!

In this compelling first installment in the Criminal Profiler series, Hide and Seek, Burton has written a tortuous whodunit where cases from the present and the past will intertwine, suspects will be abundant, and danger will lurk just around the corner.

The writing is tight and tense. The characters are astute, consumed, dependable, and persistent. And the plot keeps you on the edge of your seat as it submerges you, page after page, into a world of murder, abduction, arrogance, rape, violence, terror, deception, palpable chemistry, and a side of steamy romance.

It’s no secret that I’m a massive fan of Mary Burton’s stories, and like all of her previous novels I’ve read, Hide and Seek keeps you engrossed, guessing, and without a doubt wanting more.

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                   

 

 

Thank you to Mary Burton and Joan Schulhafer Publishing for providing me with a copy of this story in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Mary Burton

New York Times and USA Today bestselling novelist Mary Burton is the highly praised author of twenty-six romance and suspense novels and five novellas. She lives in Virginia with her husband and three miniature dachshunds.

 

#BookReview Her Last Word by Mary Burton @MaryBurtonBooks @JoanSchulhafer

#BookReview Her Last Word by Mary Burton @MaryBurtonBooks @JoanSchulhafer Title: Her Last Word

Author: Mary Burton

Published by: Montlake Romance on May 8, 2018

Genres: Mystery/Thriller, Romantic Suspense

Pages: 360

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Mary Burton, NetGalley

Book Rating: 9/10

An unsolved crime pits a desperate woman against a relentless killer in New York Times bestselling author Mary Burton’s heart-stopping novel of psychological suspense…

Fourteen years ago, Kaitlin Roe was the lone witness to the abduction of her cousin Gina. She still remembers that lonely Virginia road. She can still see the masked stranger and hear Gina’s screams. And she still suffers the guilt of running away in fear and resents being interrogated as a suspect in the immediate aftermath. Now Kaitlin has only one way to assuage the pain and nightmares—by interviewing everyone associated with the unsolved crime for a podcast that could finally bring closure to a case gone cold.

But when a woman Kaitlin questions is later found stabbed to death, she fears that she’s drawn a killer out of hiding. It’s Detective John Adler’s fear that the murders have only just begun. Now his job is to keep Kaitlin safe. As a bond between Kaitlin and Adler builds, the past closes in just as fast—and it’s darker than Kaitlin remembers. Soon, her wish will come true. She’s going to find out exactly what happened to Gina. Someone has been dying to tell her.


Review:

Suspenseful, sinister, and exceptionally gripping!

Her Last Word is a fast-paced, intense police procedural that not only delves into a 14-year-old cold case involving a missing teen but takes you on a hunt for an obsessed serial killer consumed with revenge.

The writing is sharp and crisp. The characters are flawed, scarred, and tenacious. And the complex plot told through a mixture of narration and interview-style musings interweaves into a compelling story with lots of twists, turns, red herrings, violence, sexual attraction, mayhem, and murder.

Once again with Her Last Word, Burton has written a highly entertaining, intricately woven mystery with a touch of romance that is satisfying, enthralling, and doesn’t disappoint.

This book will be available May 8, 2018.

Preorder now from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

             

 

 

Thank you to Mary Burton and Joan Schulhafer Publishing for providing me with a copy of this story in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Mary Burton

New York Times and USA Today bestselling novelist Mary Burton is the highly praised author of twenty-six romance and suspense novels and five novellas. She lives in Virginia with her husband and three miniature dachshunds.

 

#BookReview The Lullaby Girl by Loreth Anne White @Loreth @AmazonPub

#BookReview The Lullaby Girl by Loreth Anne White @Loreth @AmazonPub Title: The Lullaby Girl

Author: Loreth Anne White

Series: Angie Pallorino #2

Published by: Montlake Romance on Nov. 14, 2017

Genres: Mystery/Thriller, Police Procedural

Pages: 384

Format: Paperback

Source: Loreth Anne White

Book Rating: 10/10

Detective Angie Pallorino took down a serial killer permanently and, according to her superiors, with excessive force. Benched on a desk assignment for twelve months, Angie struggles to maintain her sense of identity—if she’s not a detective, who is she? Then a decades-old cold case washes ashore, pulling her into an investigation she recognizes as deeply personal.

Angie’s lover and partner, James Maddocks, sees it, too. But spearheading an ongoing probe into a sex-trafficking ring and keeping Angie’s increasing obsession with her case in check is taking its toll. However, as startling connections between the parallel investigations emerge, Maddocks realizes he has more than Angie’s emotional state to worry about.

Driven and desperate to solve her case, Angie goes rogue, risking her relationship, career, and very life in pursuit of answers. She’ll learn that some truths are too painful to bear, and some sacrifices include collateral damage.

But Angie Pallorino won’t let it go. She can’t. It’s not in her blood.


Review:

Edgy, enthralling, and adrenaline pumping!

The Lullaby Girl is an engrossing, eerie thriller that takes you on a journey into the dark and disturbing criminal underworld and immerses you in all the manipulation, violence, murder, immorality, depravity, wickedness, and pure evil found there.

The writing is skillfully crafted and crisp. The characters are relentless and determined, including the self-destructive, stubborn Angie Pallorino whose greatest struggles involve her inability to conform to authority, her secretive past, and the newly expanding intimacy with Maddocks. And the masterful plot will keep you on the edge of your seat from start to finish with all its twists, turns, and surprises.

The Lullaby Girl blew me away. It was so much more than I ever expected. It had exceptional pace and great depth in both the character development and storyline and made it very evident and clear that White is an impressive storyteller.

The Lullaby Girl is the second novel in the Angie Pallorino series and even though there are some references to events from the previous book it can certainly be read as a standalone. However, I would have to recommend you start this brilliantly clever, satisfying series from the start by picking up The Drowned Girls, book #1, first.

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

             

 

 

Thank you to Loreth Anne White for providing me with a copy of this story in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Loreth Anne White

Loreth Anne White is an award-winning, bestselling author of romantic suspense, thrillers, and mysteries.

A three-time RITA finalist, she has also won the Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award, the National Readers’ Choice Award, and the Romantic Crown for Best Romantic Suspense and Best Book Overall, in addition to being a Booksellers’ Best finalist, a multiple Daphne Du Maurier Award finalist, and a multiple CataRomance Reviewers’ Choice Award winner.

A former journalist and newspaper editor who has worked in both South Africa and Canada, she now resides in the mountains of the Pacific Northwest with her family. When she’s not writing, you will find her skiing, biking, or hiking the trails with her Black Dog.

#BookReview The Last Move by Mary Burton @MaryBurtonBooks @JoanSchulhafer

#BookReview The Last Move by Mary Burton @MaryBurtonBooks @JoanSchulhafer Title: The Last Move

Author: Mary Burton

Published by: Montlake Romance on Sep. 19, 2017

Genres: Mystery/Thriller, Romantic Suspense

Pages: 338

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Mary Burton, NetGalley

Book Rating: 9/10

In this gripping stand-alone from bestselling author Mary Burton, an FBI agent must catch a copycat killer. The only difference this time: she’s the final victim.

Catching monsters helps FBI agent Kate Hayden keep her nightmares at bay. Now an urgent call brings her back to San Antonio, the scene of her violent past. A brutal new murder shows hallmarks of a serial killer nicknamed the Samaritan. Tricky part is, Kate already caught him.

Either Kate made a deadly error, or she’s got a copycat on her hands. Paired with homicide detective Theo Mazur, she quickly realizes this murder is more twisted than it first appeared. Then a second body is found, the mode of death identical to a different case that Kate thought she’d put behind her.

Now Kate and Detective Mazur aren’t just working a homicide; the investigative pair is facing a formidable enemy who knows Kate intimately. While Mazur is personally trying to protect Kate, the closer they are drawn to the killer, the clearer it becomes that in this terrifying game, there is only one rule: don’t believe everything you see…


Review:

Disturbing, engrossing, and adrenaline pumping!

The Last Move, the latest novel by Burton, is a well-paced thrill ride featuring the tenacious and tough FBI agent, Kate, and the intelligent, patient homicide detective, Theo, as they join forces to hunt a serial killer with a penchant for reenacting the most heinous of crimes.

The writing is taut and tight. The characterization is well done. And the plot is a captivating police procedural with twists, turns, red herrings, family drama, deception, vengeance, depravity, murder and a smidgen of romance.

I have yet to pick up a Mary Burton book that wasn’t an entertaining, eerie, romantic mystery with exceptionally intriguing characters and The Last Move is no exception. And even though this novel is being billed as a standalone I sure hope we get to see Hayden and Mazur on another case sometime down the road.

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

             

 

 

Thank you to Mary Burton and Joan Schulhafer Publishing for providing me with a copy of this story in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Mary Burton

New York Times and USA Today bestselling novelist Mary Burton is the highly praised author of twenty-six romance and suspense novels and five novellas. She lives in Virginia with her husband and three miniature dachshunds.

 

#BookReview All The Lies We Tell by Megan Hart @Megan_Hart

#BookReview All The Lies We Tell by Megan Hart @Megan_Hart Title: All the Lies We Tell

Author: Megan Hart

Series: Quarry Road #1

Published by: Montlake Romance on May 1, 2017

Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense

Pages: 303

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Montlake Romance, NetGalley

Book Rating: 6.5/10

Everyone knew Alicia Harrison’s marriage to Ilya Stern wouldn’t last. They’d grown up on a remote stretch of Quarry Street, where there were two houses, two sets of siblings, and eventually, a tangled mess of betrayal, longing, and loss. Tragedy catapulted Allie and Ilya together, but divorce—even as neighbors—has been relatively uncomplicated.

Then Ilya’s brother, Nikolai, comes home for their grandmother’s last days. He’s the guy who teased and fought with Allie, infuriated her, then fled town without a good-bye. Now Niko makes her feel something else entirely—a rush of connection and pure desire that she’s been trying to quench since one secret kiss years ago. Niko’s not sticking around. She’s not going to leave. And after all that’s happened between their families, this can’t be anything more than brief pleasure and a bad idea.

But the lies we tell ourselves can’t compete with the truths our hearts refuse to let go…


Review:

Intense, poignant and full of angst!

This is a dark, married-the-wrong-brother romance that highlights how tragedy affects us all differently; sometimes we cling to each other and sometimes we runaway.

The prose is fluid and smooth. The characters are troubled, complex but not entirely endearing. And the plot, which is ultimately about guilt, love, life, loss, heartbreak, yearning, sexual tension, friendship and family does have some of the sexy and steamy we’ve come to expect in Hart’s novels but at the same time seemed to have just a little too much going on for me.

I have to admit that this wasn’t one of my favourite novels by Hart but her exceptional ability to write stories about unconventional relationships and to push people to understand and accept that there is no one norm will always make me a huge fan.

If you haven’t already had a chance to read my review for one of her previous novels “Beg For It” be sure to check it out HERE!

 

This book is due to be published on May 1, 2017.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

             

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Montlake Romance, for providing me with a copy of this story in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Megan Hart

Megan Hart has written in almost every genre of romantic fiction, including historical, contemporary, romantic suspense, romantic comedy, futuristic, fantasy and perhaps most notably, erotic. She also writes non-erotic fantasy and science fiction, as well as continuing to occasionally dabble in horror.

#BookReview The Hangman by Mary Burton @MaryBurtonBooks @JoanSchulhafer

#BookReview The Hangman by Mary Burton @MaryBurtonBooks @JoanSchulhafer Title: The Hangman

Author: Mary Burton

Series: The Forgotten Files #3

Published by: Montlake Romance on Apr. 25, 2017

Genres: Mystery/Thriller, Romantic Suspense

Pages: 350

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Mary Burton, NetGalley

Book Rating: 10/10

Julia Vargas is a cop with a mission. When she’s not chasing down bad guys, Julia dedicates her time to investigating the Hangman serial killer…the same unsolved case that her father, Jim Vargas, was working on when he supposedly shot and killed himself three decades before. While rumors continue to swirl around her father’s death, Julia attempts to hunt down the truth.

The case once again hits dangerously close, however, when a woman’s bones are discovered in a historic downtown home, together with a photograph of Jim and Julia as a young girl. As horrifying as this discovery is, it may just be the break Julia has waited for. Working alongside Tobias Novak, a homicide detective with whom she shares a complicated—and steamy—history, she’s forced to confront her own past even as the Hangman looms in the shadows. But as the mysterious killer circles closer, Julia can feel her own noose begin to tighten…


Review:

Action-packed, riveting and impeccably executed!

This is a well crafted, gripping thriller that takes us on a hunt to find a ruthless serial killer and reminds us that when it comes to organized crime, secrecy, trust and loyalty means everything.

The writing is fluid and seamless. The characters are intriguing, determined, scarred, strong and sexy. And the storyline is a roller coaster ride of secrets, lies, danger, red herrings, murder, sizzling chemistry, tension, and romance.

To me this series just keeps getting better and better. This book is incredibly entertaining, extremely suspenseful and I absolutely loved it and can hardly wait for the next one. If you love romantic suspense this is one series you don’t want to miss.

If you haven’t yet read any of the previous novels in the “The Forgotten Files” series be sure to check out my review for “The Shark” (The Forgotten Files #1) HERE and my review for “The Dollmaker” (The Forgotten Files #2) HERE.

This book is due to be published on April 25, 2017.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

             

 

 

Thank you to Mary Burton and Joan Schulhafer Publishing for providing me with a copy of this story in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Mary Burton

New York Times and USA Today bestselling novelist Mary Burton is the highly praised author of twenty-six romance and suspense novels and five novellas. She lives in Virginia with her husband and three miniature dachshunds.

%d bloggers like this: