Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books

#BlogTour #BookReview The Glittering Hour by Iona Grey @iona_grey @StMartinsPress #TheGlitteringHour

#BlogTour #BookReview The Glittering Hour by Iona Grey @iona_grey @StMartinsPress #TheGlitteringHour Title: The Glittering Hour

Author: Iona Grey

Published by: Thomas Dunne Books on Dec. 10, 2019

Genres: Historical Fiction

Pages: 480

Format: Paperback, ARC

Source: St. Martin's Press

Book Rating: 10/10

An unforgettable historical about true love found and lost and the secrets we keep from one another from an award-winning author

Selina Lennox is a Bright Young Thing. Her life is a whirl of parties and drinking, pursued by the press and staying on just the right side of scandal, all while running from the life her parents would choose for her.

Lawrence Weston is a penniless painter who stumbles into Selina’s orbit one night and can never let her go even while knowing someone of her stature could never end up with someone of his. Except Selina falls hard for Lawrence, envisioning a life of true happiness. But when tragedy strikes, Selina finds herself choosing what’s safe over what’s right.

Spanning two decades and a seismic shift in British history as World War II approaches, Iona Grey’s The Glittering Hour is an epic novel of passion, heartache and loss.


Review:

Mesmerizing, enthralling, and incredibly moving!

The Glittering Hour is set in London and the English countryside during 1925, as well as 1936, and is told from two different perspectives. Selina, a young woman in her prime who often finds herself and her friends gracing the pages of the gossip rags for their outrageous behaviour and antics, and Alice Carew, Selina’s nine-year-old daughter who after being relegated to her grandparents country home while her parents are abroad embarks on a treasure hunt to discover all her mother’s secrets.

The prose is eloquent and vivid. The characters are creative, intelligent, and rebellious. And the plot, including all the subplots, unravel and intertwine into a sweeping saga of life, loss, family, expectations, sacrifice, self-discovery, friendship, heartbreak, romance, forbidden love, and the special bonds shared between a mother and daughter.

Overall, The Glittering Hour is a bittersweet, beautifully expressive, exceptionally affecting story by Grey that illuminates the enduring passion and power of unconditional love and reminds us that life should always be lived to the fullest. It’s immersive, vibrant, and utterly heartwrenching in spots, and is without a doubt one of my favourite reads of the year. 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or one of the following links.

                                            

 

 

Thank you to St. Martin’s Press for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Iona Grey

Iona Grey has a degree in English Literature and Language from Manchester University, an obsession with history and an enduring fascination with the lives of women in the twentieth century. She lives in the rural North West of England with her husband and three daughters. She is the award-winning author of Letters to the Lost, and her new book The Glittering Hour is on sale October 17 2019 (UK) and December 10, 2019 (US).

#BookReview The Confectioner’s Tale by Laura Madeleine @esthercrumpet

#BookReview The Confectioner’s Tale by Laura Madeleine @esthercrumpet Title: The Confectioner's Tale

Author: Laura Madeleine

Published by: Thomas Dunne Books on Sep. 20, 2016

Genres: General Fiction, Women's Fiction

Pages: 336

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: St. Martin's Press, NetGalley

Book Rating: 8/10

What secrets are hiding in the heart of Paris?

At the famous Patisserie Clermont in Paris, 1909, a chance encounter with the owner’s daughter has given one young man a glimpse into a life he never knew existed: of sweet cream and melted chocolate, golden caramel and powdered sugar, of pastry light as air.

But it is not just the art of confectionery that holds him captive, and soon a forbidden love affair begins.

Almost eighty years later, an academic discovers a hidden photograph of her grandfather as a young man with two people she has never seen before. Scrawled on the back of the picture are the words ‘Forgive me’. Unable to resist the mystery behind it, she begins to unravel the story of two star-crossed lovers and one irrevocable betrayal.

Take a moment to savour an evocative, bittersweet love story that echoes through the decades – perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Victoria Hislop. 


Review:

Mesmerizing, heartwarming, and incredibly clever!

This story is set in two time periods, Paris in the early 1900s and Cambridge in the late 1980s, and is told from alternating points of view. Guillaume, a hardworking labourer who meets and falls in love with the privileged daughter of a famous pâtissier. And Petra, a young student, who endeavours to solve an age-old mystery plaguing the memory of her beloved grandfather, a famous journalist.

The writing is exceptionally descriptive and atmospheric. The characters are loyal, determined, and strong. And the plot, although simple in nature, flows effortlessly between time periods and enraptures you with not only drama, emotion, mystery, and romance, but with the inner workings of the finest pastries imaginable.

This is truly an intriguing mix of family dynamics, secrets, treachery, and enduring love and is a commendable debut novel.

 

This book is due to be published on September 20, 2016.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon CanadaChapters/IndigoBook Depository

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially St. Martin’s Press, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Laura Madeleine

Laura Madeleine is the author of The Confectioner’s Tale, Where the Wild Cherries Grow (2018, US) and The Secrets Between Us.

After a childhood spent acting professionally and training at a theatre school, Laura changed her mind, and went to study English Literature at Newnham College, Cambridge. She now writes fiction, as well as recipes, and was formerly the resident cake baker for Domestic Sluttery. She lives in Bristol, but can often be found visiting her family in Devon and getting up to mischief with her sister, fantasy author Lucy Hounsom

#BookReview The Marriage Pact by M. J. Pullen

#BookReview The Marriage Pact by M. J. Pullen Title: The Marriage Pact

Author: M.J. Pullen

Published by: Thomas Dunne Books on Nov. 3, 2015

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 304

Format: Hardcover

Source: Purchased

Book Rating: 7/10

Marci Thompson always knew what life would be like by her 30th birthday. A cozy suburban home, charming husband and two brilliant children. A celebrated career as an established writer, complete with wall-to-wall mahogany shelves and a summer book tour. A life full of adventure with her friends and family by her side. 

Instead, Marci lives alone in 480 square feet of converted motel space next to a punk rock band, hundreds of miles from her friends and family. She works in a temporary accounting assignment that has somehow stretched from two weeks into nine months. And the only bright spot in her life, not to mention the only sex she’s had in two years, is an illicit affair with her married boss, Doug. Thirty is not at all what it is cracked up to be.

Then the reappearance of a cocktail napkin she hasn’t seen in a decade opens a long-forgotten door, and Marci’s life gets complicated, fast. The lines between right and wrong, fantasy and reality, heartache and happiness are all about to get very blurry, as Marci faces the most difficult choices of her life.


Review:

This is a nice contemporary romance story.

The story revolves around a promise made between two friends that they will marry each other if they are not married by the time they are 30. It is written in a present-past style that gives you background into the friends-to-more relationship.

The characters are likeable and the story has enough drama, heartache, romance and humour to keep the story flowing nicely.

It is a sweet, easy read. Perfect for when you’re looking for something light and fluffy.

 

%d bloggers like this: