Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books

#BookReview
The Confectioner’s Tale by Laura Madeleine
@esthercrumpet

#BookReview The Confectioner’s Tale by Laura Madeleine @esthercrumpetTitle: The Confectioner's Tale

Author: Laura Madeleine

Published by Thomas Dunne Books on September 20, 2016

Genres: General Fiction, Women's Fiction

Pages: 336

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: St. Martin's Press, NetGalley

Book Rating: 8/10

 

 

Synopsis:

What secrets are hiding in the heart of Paris?

At the famous Patisserie Clermont in Paris, 1909, a chance encounter with the owner’s daughter has given one young man a glimpse into a life he never knew existed: of sweet cream and melted chocolate, golden caramel and powdered sugar, of pastry light as air.

But it is not just the art of confectionery that holds him captive, and soon a forbidden love affair begins.

Almost eighty years later, an academic discovers a hidden photograph of her grandfather as a young man with two people she has never seen before. Scrawled on the back of the picture are the words ‘Forgive me’. Unable to resist the mystery behind it, she begins to unravel the story of two star-crossed lovers and one irrevocable betrayal.

Take a moment to savour an evocative, bittersweet love story that echoes through the decades – perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Victoria Hislop. 


Review:

Mesmerizing, heartwarming, and incredibly clever!

This story is set in two time periods, Paris in the early 1900s and Cambridge in the late 1980s, and is told from alternating points of view. Guillaume, a hardworking labourer who meets and falls in love with the privileged daughter of a famous pâtissier. And Petra, a young student, who endeavours to solve an age-old mystery plaguing the memory of her beloved grandfather, a famous journalist.

The writing is exceptionally descriptive and atmospheric. The characters are loyal, determined, and strong. And the plot, although simple in nature, flows effortlessly between time periods and enraptures you with not only drama, emotion, mystery, and romance, but with the inner workings of the finest pastries imaginable.

This is truly an intriguing mix of family dynamics, secrets, treachery, and enduring love and is a commendable debut novel.

 

This book is due to be published on September 20, 2016.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon CanadaChapters/IndigoBook Depository

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially St. Martin’s Press, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Laura Madeleine

Laura Madeleine is the author of The Confectioner’s Tale, Where the Wild Cherries Grow (2018, US) and The Secrets Between Us.

After a childhood spent acting professionally and training at a theatre school, Laura changed her mind, and went to study English Literature at Newnham College, Cambridge. She now writes fiction, as well as recipes, and was formerly the resident cake baker for Domestic Sluttery. She lives in Bristol, but can often be found visiting her family in Devon and getting up to mischief with her sister, fantasy author Lucy Hounsom

#BookReview
The Marriage Pact by M. J. Pullen

#BookReview The Marriage Pact by M. J. PullenTitle: The Marriage Pact

Author: M.J. Pullen

Published by Thomas Dunne Books on November 3, 2015

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 304

Format: Hardcover

Source: Purchased

Book Rating: 7/10

 

 

Synopsis:

Marci Thompson always knew what life would be like by her 30th birthday. A cozy suburban home, charming husband and two brilliant children. A celebrated career as an established writer, complete with wall-to-wall mahogany shelves and a summer book tour. A life full of adventure with her friends and family by her side. 

Instead, Marci lives alone in 480 square feet of converted motel space next to a punk rock band, hundreds of miles from her friends and family. She works in a temporary accounting assignment that has somehow stretched from two weeks into nine months. And the only bright spot in her life, not to mention the only sex she’s had in two years, is an illicit affair with her married boss, Doug. Thirty is not at all what it is cracked up to be.

Then the reappearance of a cocktail napkin she hasn’t seen in a decade opens a long-forgotten door, and Marci’s life gets complicated, fast. The lines between right and wrong, fantasy and reality, heartache and happiness are all about to get very blurry, as Marci faces the most difficult choices of her life.


Review:

This is a nice contemporary romance story.

The story revolves around a promise made between two friends that they will marry each other if they are not married by the time they are 30. It is written in a present-past style that gives you background into the friends-to-more relationship.

The characters are likeable and the story has enough drama, heartache, romance and humour to keep the story flowing nicely.

It is a sweet, easy read. Perfect for when you’re looking for something light and fluffy.

 

%d bloggers like this: