Publisher: Zaffre

#BookReview #BlogTour
Exile by James Swallow
@jmswallow @BonnierZaffre

#BookReview #BlogTour Exile by James Swallow @jmswallow @BonnierZaffreTitle: Exile

Author: James Swallow

Series: Marc Dane #2

Published by Zaffre on June 1st 2017

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 496

Format: Hardcover

Source: Bonnier Zaffre

Book Rating: 8.5/10

 

 

Synopsis:

A vicious Serbian gang whose profits come from fake nuclear weapons

A disgraced Russian general, with access to the real thing.

A vengeful Somali warlord, with a cause for which he’d let the world burn.

A jaded government agency, without the information to stop him.

Only one man sees what’s coming. And even he might not be able to prevent it . . .

Racing breathlessly from uncharted CIA prisons to the skyscrapers of Dubai, from stormbeaten oil rigs off the African coast to the ancient caverns beneath the city of Naples, Marc Dane returns in the explosive new thriller from the internationally bestselling author of NOMAD


Review:

Intelligent, gripping, and chillingly plausible!

Exile is an adrenaline-pumping thrill ride that immerses you in the dark, gritty underworld of arms dealing and terrorism and reminds us that corruption, greed, and revenge often has no limits.

The writing is intense and well paced. The characters are strong-willed, tenacious, and resilient. And the plot is a riveting tale full of twists, turns, action, intrigue, power, violence, duplicity, manipulation, terror, and murder.

Overall Exile is a timely, suspenseful, action-packed thriller that showcases Swallow’s exceptional knowledge of cyber warfare, military weapons, and covert operations.

Exile is the second book in the “Marc Dane” series, and even though there are some references to events from the previous novel, Nomad, it can certainly be read as a standalone.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

            

 

 

Thank you to Bonnier Zaffre for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About James Swallow

James Swallow is a New York Times, Sunday Times and Amazon bestselling author and scriptwriter, a BAFTA nominee, a former journalist and the award-winning writer of over forty-five books, along with numerous scripts for videogames, radio and television.

His writing includes the Marc Dane action thriller series, the Sundowners steampunk Westerns and fiction from the worlds of Star Trek, Warhammer 40,000, Doctor Who, 24, Deus Ex, Stargate, Tannhauser and 2000AD.

 

#BookReview
The Ice Beneath Her by Camilla Grebe
@camillagrebe

#BookReview The Ice Beneath Her by Camilla Grebe @camillagrebeTitle: The Ice Beneath Her

Author: Camilla Grebe

Published by Zaffre on September 8, 2016

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 400

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Bonnier Zaffre, NetGalley

Book Rating: 8.5/10

 

 

Synopsis:

The Ice Beneath Her is a gripping and deeply disturbing story about love, betrayal and obsession that is impossible to put down. Fast-paced and peopled with compelling characters, it surprises at every turn as it hurtles towards an unforgettable ending with a twist you really won’t see coming . . .

A young woman is found beheaded in an infamous business tycoon’s marble-lined hallway.

The businessman, scandal-ridden CEO of the retail chain Clothes & More, is missing without a trace.

But who is the dead woman? And who is the brutal killer who wielded the machete?

Rewind two months earlier to meet Emma Bohman, a sales assistant for Clothes & More, whose life is turned upside down by a chance encounter with Jesper Orre. Insisting that their love affair is kept secret, he shakes Emma’s world a second time when he suddenly leaves her with no explanation.

As frightening things begin to happen to Emma, she suspects Jesper is responsible. But why does he want to hurt her? And how far would he go to silence his secret lover?


Review:

Wickedly complex, macabre, and highly entertaining!

This story reminds us of the complexity and fragility of the human mind and the extent to which our relationships and familial environments affect our physical and mental health. It is, ultimately, a story about love, loss, murder, abuse, and obsession.

The writing is clever and precise. The characters are damaged, lonely, and despondent. And the plot is told from differing perspectives, that shifts back-and-forth effortlessly, to create a wonderfully dark, captivating story that’s full of twists, turns, tension, and suspense.

This is an intriguing, debut psychological thriller that is perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo or Henning Mankell.

 

This book is due to be published on September 8, 2016.

Pick up a copy of this story from your favourite retailer or from the following Amazon links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon Canada

 

For more information on Camilla Grebe, follow her on Twitter at: @camillagrebe

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Bonnier Publishing, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

%d bloggers like this: