Author: Kelly Jamieson

Kelly Jamieson is a USA Today bestselling author of over 40 romance novels and novellas. Her writing has been described as “emotionally complex”, “sweet and satisfying” and “blisteringly sexy”. She likes black coffee, white wine and high heels…and of course cheering on her Winnipeg Jets during hockey season!

#BookReview
Slap Shot by Kelly Jamieson
@KellyJamieson @readloveswept

#BookReview Slap Shot by Kelly Jamieson @KellyJamieson @readlovesweptTitle: Slap Shot

Author: Kelly Jamieson

Series: Aces Hockey #5

Published by Loveswept on October 17, 2017

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 276

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Loveswept, NetGalley

Book Rating: 8/10

 

Synopsis:

My name’s Max Hall, and I need to f***. As a pro hockey player who’s been away from the game for over a year, my libido has picked one hell of an inconvenient time to come roaring back to life.
 
After my wife died from a rare form of cancer, sex was the last thing on my mind. Same with hockey, the other love of my life. Now, after fifteen months of eating too much, drinking too much, and generally just feeling sorry for myself, I’m facing a steep uphill battle to get my ass in shape and play my way back onto the Chicago Aces.
 
So I’m not looking for a relationship. Just sex. Yeah, I know how that makes me sound. But the truth is, I’ll never love another woman the way I loved my wife. When I meet a sexy bridesmaid at my teammate’s wedding, I decide to scratch that itch. A fling with Kendra Armstrong in her posh hotel room could be just what the trainer ordered.
 
Not only is Kendra smokin’ hot, she’s dynamite in bed—one of the perks of being a sex toy designer. Since she lives in New York anyway, we agree to keep things casual, no strings attached. The arrangement is perfect . . . until one of us falls in love. And it’s not me.


Review:

Steamy, heartfelt, and deliciously sexy!

Slap Shot, the fifth book in the Aces Hockey series, is a sporty, contemporary romance featuring Max a tough, honest, hockey player who is struggling to come to grips with not only the grief he continues to feel over the loss of his wife but the guilt associated with potentially moving on.

The writing is clear and emotive. The characters are genuine, believable and charming. And the plot is an impassioned tale filled with sizzling tension, scorching chemistry, poignant moments, hilarious innuendoes, flirty banter, and a swoon-worthy ending.

What more can I say, when it comes to writing entertaining, enjoyable novels about hunky hotshots who fall hard Jamieson is one of the best and Slap Shot with its heart, humour, heat, and hockey is no exception.

 

This novel is available October 17, 2017.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                                  

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Random House – Loveswept, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Kelly Jamieson

Kelly Jamieson is a USA Today bestselling author of over 40 romance novels and novellas. Her writing has been described as “emotionally complex”, “sweet and satisfying” and “blisteringly sexy”. She likes black coffee, white wine and high heels…and of course cheering on her Winnipeg Jets during hockey season!

#BookReview
Cross Check by Kelly Jamieson
@KellyJamieson @readloveswept

#BookReview Cross Check by Kelly Jamieson @KellyJamieson @readlovesweptTitle: Cross Check

Author: Kelly Jamieson

Series: Bayard Hockey #2

Published by Loveswept on July 25, 2017

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 252

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Loveswept, NetGalley

Book Rating: 7/10

 

Synopsis:

A party girl and a clean-cut college hockey player discover that they’re not so different in this sexy, soulful Bayard Hockey novel from the bestselling author of Shut Out and the Heller Brothers series.

Ella Verran has three goals this semester: get off academic probation, repair her relationship with her friend Skylar, and take some responsibility for her life. All of which are hard enough without hot, snobby hockey player Ben Buckingham around to distract her. Ella can’t stand Ben, and she knows the feeling is mutual. But he’s best friends with Skylar’s boyfriend, so he’s always around—taunting and tempting Ella in ways she never thought possible.

As the star forward of the Bayard College hockey team, Ben has goals too, like playing well enough to land a spot on an NHL roster. Ben is perfectly poised on the ice, so why can’t he keep his cool around Ella? Her wild behavior rubs him in all the wrong ways—and a few of the right ones. But as they skate around each other, Ben learns that there’s more to Ella than her bad reputation. And when the line between love and hate starts to blur, he can’t resist crossing over and sweeping her off her feet.


Review:

Entertaining, sexy, and sincere!

Cross Check, the latest novel in the Bayard Hockey series, is a slightly more emotional tale about the heartbroken, grief-stricken Ella who has been neglecting her studies and masking her sorrow after the loss of one of her friends, and Ben the gorgeous, up-and-coming hockey star who seems positively perfect but has a few dark secrets of his own.

The writing is fluid. The plot is a heartfelt mix that tackles important contemporary issues faced by young people today including friendship, family, campus life, suicide, rape, mental illness, sex, relationships, love, and hockey. And the characters, including all the supporting characters, are kind, engaging, and supportive.

Overall, Cross Check is a romantic, sweet, moving read that has a nice amount of drama, angst, tension, humour, banter, attraction, dirty talk and chemistry and even though it’s not my favourite Jamieson novel I think lovers of the new-age-college-romance genre will certainly enjoy it.

If you haven’t already had a chance to read my reviews for some of Jamieson’s other novels be sure to check them out here:

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                                  

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Random House – Loveswept, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Kelly Jamieson

Kelly Jamieson is a USA Today bestselling author of over 40 romance novels and novellas. Her writing has been described as “emotionally complex”, “sweet and satisfying” and “blisteringly sexy”. She likes black coffee, white wine and high heels…and of course cheering on her Winnipeg Jets during hockey season!

#BookReview
Hot Shot by Kelly Jamieson
@KellyJamieson @readloveswept

#BookReview Hot Shot by Kelly Jamieson @KellyJamieson @readlovesweptTitle: Hot Shot

Author: Kelly Jamieson

Series: Last Shot #2

Published by Loveswept on May 16, 2017

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 235

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Loveswept, NetGalley

Book Rating: 8.5/10

 

Synopsis:

A former Navy SEAL and current bad boy bar owner learns to trust a free spirit in this steamy novel of unexpected romance from the bestselling author of Body Shot and the Heller Brothers series.

Marco Solis knows that if he gets too close to people they disappear. His parents were deported back to Mexico when he was fourteen, his fiancée married someone else while he was in the military, and now his business partner’s spending more time with his girl than with Marco. For better or worse, that’s how Marco meets Carrie Garner. She’s legitimately model-hot. She’s also a nut—a wild, artsy, unapproachable nut. So why is Marco so interested in cracking her shell?

Although Carrie Garner is a natural in front of the camera, her dream is to make it as a photographer. Soon she’ll be heading to Spain for design school, and she’ll miss her best friend, Hayden, like crazy. She’ll even miss Hayden’s boyfriend, Beck—but she won’t miss Beck’s partner, Marco. Bossy, brooding, and annoyingly sexy, Marco really pushes her buttons, though he obviously wouldn’t mind pushing her buttons in an up-against-the-wall, hard-and-fast kind of way. The craziest part is, if Carrie lets him do that, well . . . she may never want to leave.


Review:

Lighthearted, engaging and sensual!

This is a charming, enemies-to-lovers story about two people suffering with their own insecurities who may just find what they’re looking for, a family, a home and love, in each other.

The writing is well done. The main characters are troubled, genuine, supportive and likeable. And the plot uses a mix of delicious innuendoes, clever dialogue, steamy chemistry, sizzling attraction and a little introspection to take us on journey that starts as a fun, flirty fling and ends in true love.

Overall I have to say this is definitely a sexy, romantic, enjoyable read that has engaging characters and a storyline with the perfect amount of heat and heart. 

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                                  

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Random House – Loveswept, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Kelly Jamieson

Kelly Jamieson is a USA Today bestselling author of over 40 romance novels and novellas. Her writing has been described as “emotionally complex”, “sweet and satisfying” and “blisteringly sexy”. She likes black coffee, white wine and high heels…and of course cheering on her Winnipeg Jets during hockey season!

#BookReview
Dancing in the Rain by Kelly Jamieson @KellyJamieson @readloveswept

#BookReview Dancing in the Rain by Kelly Jamieson @KellyJamieson @readlovesweptTitle: Dancing in the Rain

Author: Kelly Jamieson

Published by Loveswept on April 11, 2017

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 311

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Loveswept, NetGalley

Book Rating: 8/10

 

 

Synopsis:

A retired athlete meets the daughter he never knew—along with the woman who reignites his passions—in this powerful standalone romance from the bestselling author of Hot Shot and the Heller Brothers series.

Drew Sellers is drowning in broken dreams and empty beer bottles. Hockey was his world, until a bum knee reduced him from superstar to has-been. Then he learns that, thanks to a one-night-stand back in college, he’s the father of a preteen girl with major issues. Her protective aunt sees right through Drew’s BS, but “Auntie P” is no stereotypical spinster. With her slender curves, toned legs, and luscious lips, she has Drew indulging in fantasies that aren’t exactly family-friendly.

At another point in her life, Peyton Watt would have been all over a cocky alpha male who pushes all her buttons like Drew. Right now, though, she needs to focus on taking care of her niece during her sister’s health crisis, all while holding down a job and keeping her own head above water. Besides, Drew’s clearly no father of the year. He’s unemployed. He drinks too much. And he’s living in the past. But after Peyton gets a glimpse of the genuine man behind his tough-guy façade, she’s hooked—and there’s no going back.


Review:

Charming, poignant and sweetly romantic!

In this new novel by Jamieson she takes a little sidestep from her usual fun-loving, lighthearted rom coms and give us a much deeper, emotional story involving Drew, a disheartened hockey player struggling with the loss of his career and the unexpected news that he is the father to an 11-year-old daughter; and Peyton, a successful, determined woman floundering between the career she has always wanted and her ever-increasing role as caregiver to her sister and niece.

The writing is smooth and seamless. The characters are sympathetic, complex and real. And the plot is a soul-searching journey filled with familial relationships, compassion, honesty, support, rapport, loss, life and love.

Overall this truly is a captivating, heartwarming story that may have you in tears for more than half of it but will definitely leave you satisfied and smiling by the very end.

 

This novel is due to be published on April 11, 2017.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                                  

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Random House – Loveswept, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Kelly Jamieson

Kelly Jamieson is a USA Today bestselling author of over 40 romance novels and novellas. Her writing has been described as “emotionally complex”, “sweet and satisfying” and “blisteringly sexy”. She likes black coffee, white wine and high heels…and of course cheering on her Winnipeg Jets during hockey season!

#BookReview
Back Check by Kelly Jamieson
@KellyJamieson @readloveswept

#BookReview Back Check by Kelly Jamieson @KellyJamieson @readlovesweptTitle: Back Check

Author: Kelly Jamieson

Series: Aces Hockey #4

Published by Loveswept on January 10, 2017

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 232

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Loveswept, NetGalley

Book Rating: 9/10

 

Synopsis:

The so-bad-they’re-good alphas of hockey’s Chicago Aces are back in this emotionally charged novel of sex, love, and second chances from the bestselling author of Top Shelf and the Heller Brothers series.
 
Tanner Bennet hates weddings. They just remind him that he simply isn’t cut out for any kind of healthy, committed relationship—never has been, never will be. After getting rejected by the girl he thought was “the one” all those years ago, he made a huge mistake and married the wrong person. Now that the divorced heartbreaker has reluctantly agreed to be a groomsman for one of his NHL teammates, the last thing he expects is a chance at redemption with the one that got away.
 
After Marc Dupuis of the Chicago Aces hires wedding planner Katelyn Medford, she discovers that her big break comes with a twist: a reunion with her college sweetheart. The way she dumped Tanner still haunts her. Eight years—and three broken engagements—later, Katelyn knows she’ll never have that kind of innocent, wide-eyed passion again. Still, she and Tanner soon generate enough body heat to burn up the sheets. And even with Tanner’s career with the Aces up in the air, Katelyn’s wondering whether the time is right to let him in for real.


Review:

Fun, flirty, and smoking hot!

This is a passionate story that mixes, a hard-bodied, swoon-worthy hockey player who hasn’t had any luck finding the “one”, and a sweet, charming wedding planner who has yet to say “I Do”.

The writing is flawless. The characters are engaging, humorous, and real. And the plot is a provocative second-chance romance filled with witty dialogue, delicious chemistry, steamy tension, emotional drama, and competitive hockey.

I’m embarrassed to say this is the first Kelly Jamieson novel I’ve ever read, but I can guarantee there is already a few more of her titles added to my to read pile. I mean after all she is Canadian! Go Canada Go!

This is the fourth book in the “Aces Hockey” series and boy is it a good one. If you like sexy contemporary romances with captivating storylines this is definitely the book for you.

 

This novel is due to be published on January 10, 2017.

Pick up a copy of this book from your favourite retailer or from the following links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon CanadaIndigoKoboB&N

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Random House – Loveswept, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Kelly Jamieson

Kelly Jamieson is a USA Today bestselling author of over 40 romance novels and novellas. Her writing has been described as “emotionally complex”, “sweet and satisfying” and “blisteringly sexy”. She likes black coffee, white wine and high heels…and of course cheering on her Winnipeg Jets during hockey season!

%d bloggers like this: