Source: Authoright

#BookReview & #BlogTour
The Watcher by Monika Jephcott Thomas
@Authoright

#BookReview & #BlogTour The Watcher by Monika Jephcott Thomas @AuthorightTitle: The Watcher

Author: Monika Jephcott Thomas

Published by Clink Street Publishing on October 10, 2017

Genres: Historical Fiction

Pages: 214

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Authoright

Book Rating: 8/10

 

 

Synopsis:

It’s 1949 when Netta’s father Max is released from a Siberian POW camp and returns to his home in occupied Germany. But he is not the man the little girl is expecting – the brave, handsome doctor her mother Erika told her stories of. Erika too struggles to reconcile this withdrawn, volatile figure with the husband she knew and loved before, and, as she strives to break through the wall Max has built around himself, Netta is both frightened and jealous of this interloper in the previously cosy household she shared with her mother and doting grandparents. Now, if family life isn’t tough enough, it is about to get even tougher, when a murder sparks a police investigation, which begins to unearth dark secrets they all hoped had been forgotten.


Review:

Tragic, mysterious, and heartbreaking!

The Watcher is a moving tale that picks up where “Fifteen Words” left off, taking us back into the Portner household where the physical and psychological horrors of war still resonate, and the process of survival and healing remains a daily struggle.

The prose is somber and descriptive. The characters are wounded, secretive, and raw. And the plot is a poignant ride about life, loss, family dynamics, PTSD, suspicion, desperation, deception, jealousy, grief, and murder.

Overall, The Watcher is a well-written followup for Jephcott Thomas that does an exceptional job of highlighting the importance of trust, honesty, support, and intimacy in moving forward and rebuilding what’s been lost.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

            

 

 

 Thank you to Authoright for providing me with a copy in an exchange for an honest review.

 

About Monika Jephcott Thomas

Monika Jephcott Thomas grew up in Dortmund Mengede, north-west Germany. She moved to the UK in 1966, enjoying a thirty year career in education before retraining as a therapist. Along with her partner Jeff she established the Academy of Play & Child Psychotherapy in order to support the twenty per cent of children who have emotional, behavioural, social and mental health problems by using play and the creative Arts. A founder member of Play Therapy UK, Jephcott Thomas was elected President of Play Therapy International in 2002. In 2016 her first book Fifteen Words was published.

 

 

#BlogTour & #BookReview
The Rainbow Player by David Kerby-Kendall
@dkerbykendall @Authoright

#BlogTour & #BookReview The Rainbow Player by David Kerby-Kendall @dkerbykendall @AuthorightTitle: The Rainbow Player

Author: David Kerby-Kendall

Published by Whiteley Publishing Ltd on June 20, 2017

Genres: Contemporary Romance, General Fiction, LGBTQIA

Pages: 292

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Authoright

Book Rating: 8.5/10

 

 

Synopsis:

England footballer, Sammy Hatchington, has never considered sexuality before. As a teenager, Sammy broke the mould of his youthful peers with his desire to open the door to life’s endless possibilities. He escaped a deprived estate and, with the help of Old Thomas, his surrogate father, Davey, his soul-mate, and Gran, the connoisseur of footballer’s bottoms, launched himself on a path toward his personal and professional goals. Now, several years later, he must make a decision that could destroy everything he has fought for, and create a furious media frenzy………

David Kerby-Kendall’s joyous and witty novel challenges preconceptions about professional sportsmen and love, and is also a delightful and moving story of a young man’s journey to self-knowledge.


Review:

Heartfelt, humourous, and incredibly moving!

This is an entertaining, captivating story that not only reminds us to live and love to the fullest, enjoying each high and learning from each low, but also highlights the unfortunate stigma and stereotypical mentality surrounding professional sports.

The characters are flawed, genuine, caring, and lovable. The writing is witty and direct. And the plot is a captivating tale about life, familial dynamics, coming-of-age, friendship, perseverance, support, and unconditional love that will not only make you laugh but also make you cry.

This truly is a well-written, thought-provoking novel by Kerby-Kendall with a nice amount of emotion, drama, humour, and character development. And even though this novel is certainly rooted in the LGBTQIA genre it’s so much more than that, at its core it’s a story about love, pure and simple, with no limits, no labels, and no regrets!

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following link.

                      

 

 

Author Spotlight:

I’m originally from Leicester, but I’ve had therapy and I’m now allowed out into polite society.

We don’t have culture in Leicester; we have Gary Lineker and Walkers crisps…..oh, and Richard III, though we did sort of borrow him from York.

Actually, that’s not fair. I love my home town. It’s wonderfully diverse, has two amazing universities and, for a short while, was the centre of the universe when our football team won the Premiership, at odds of 5000-1. There was more chance of the Pope having a Number 1 hit, apparently!

And, of course, it holds the most amazing memories; of living with my Grandmother, who was my soul-mate, and encouraged me in the arts and, most importantly, as a ridiculously shy teenager, to go on stage. Well, mostly encouraged; she did tell me I had a singing voice like a cat being ironed, but we’ll gloss over that!

After leaving school I spent eleven years in banking. I left the TSB with the worst cash error record in Leicester, but as a successful chief clerk as, with the latter job, I only had to organise the branch and talk to customers, not add anything up. And so began a journey to London to study acting at the London Theatre School and immerse myself in café society and shouting at people who stand on the left side of escalators.

I remember once, in my second year at drama school, standing in Trafalgar Square at 3 am, waiting for a night bus, having drunk Lake Windermere in Merlot (this is actually part of the drama school syllabus), looking up at the beam of light trained on Nelson’s Column, thinking, ‘This is amazing; I’m an actor living in London; I’ve found freedom’. And it was true. The move and the change in career broadened my mind wider than I had ever thought possible. I know it’s a cliché, but I began to find a part of myself I never knew existed (or maybe was just too scared to admit to). It was liberating and exhilarating.

After graduating, there followed a few somewhat unmemorable acting jobs, including dropping my leading lady into the orchestra pit during a production of The Boyfriend in Rhyl (I don’t think the twenty-seven people in the audience were very impressed) and a few normal jobs in order to pay that annoying ‘rent’ thing. Two years in advertising (wearing pink braces and throwing a hissy fit if your double-shot gingerbread latte wasn’t quite hot enough), telemarketing, stage-door-keeping and being a butler at Phantom Of the Opera (pouring champagne down rich people’s sleeves).

Finally, I got lucky and had a run of eight consecutive plays, including three productions of Jack Shepherd’s Half Moon. I still had to pinch myself (not hard; I’m a wimp with pain) that someone of Jack’s standing would cast me in his play.

Then, having played rugby and tennis and kept reasonably fit at the gym all my life, my body decided to age 104 years in six months and I ended up having twenty-four operations in ten years. However, there is always a silver lining as this is when I started writing.

In 2007 I wrote a play called Save Your Kisses For Me which actually included The Brotherhood Of Man’s Eurovision-winning song (the first record I ever bought. I was young and had questionable musical taste…..as opposed to now when I’m older and have appalling musical taste). From it’s small-scale success I became the In-House writer for Heartbreak Productions and have been lucky enough to have adapted some marvellous novels for the stage, including three of David Walliam’s children’s books (Billionaire Boy is currently on a national tour). I’ve also had my own independent plays produced and will be returning to the acting profession later this year in my next play, 20:40, which concerns depression.

When I was adapting my first novel, I found myself in a Soho café on a break between rent-paying jobs. Normally I have great difficulty concentrating on anything if there’s extraneous background noise. However, on this occasion, I started writing and didn’t stop for four hours, by which time my mocha was congealed and I was half an hour late for pointing a spotlight at the stage of Phantom Of the Opera. From that day, I have done nearly all my writing in cafes. I love the energy and atmosphere; like-minded people writing plays, books, composing songs, creating new business ideas, forming new friendships. It seeps into your pores and wraps you in this all-encompassing creative blanket. I love the fact that café society has been going on for centuries. You can just SEE Picasso and Modigliani discussing surrealism and Gore Vidal and Jack Kerouac pushing the boundaries of acceptability in literature.

I write in longhand with a fountain pen. I know that sounds like I’m about to disappear up my own bottom but I genuinely can’t write with a biro, and get absolutely no inspiration from staring at a laptop screen. I re-read the last few pages to get myself back into the work again (this takes about ten minutes) and then I shift my mind a degree to the left of normality. If I’m writing dialogue, then I’ll read everything back in my head and act out each character. Being an actor, if it doesn’t sound natural, I will know straight away.

I love writing. No, ‘love’ doesn’t cover it; I adore writing.

Now most of the operations have finished and, as well as retuning to acting, I’m returning to the gym and the tennis court (at least I have an excuse to lose now).

I’m very lucky; I get to do two things that I love; making up stories and pretending to be other people. Also, I get to pay the bulk of the rent by lighting Phantom Of the Opera, playing David Garrick in the tours of Theatre Royal, Drury Lane and also taking tours of the Royal Opera House.

There isn’t much time to relax, but that’s OK. When I do get time, I love sport, poetry, music (Meat Loaf to Mozart), meditating in Highgate Wood, keeping fit, reading, and spending time with friends, being ludicrously immature one moment and putting the world to rights, the next.

What I love most about my life is that it can’t be labelled. I hate labels; they constrict us and are an excuse for people to hate each other. Someone recently said to me, ‘How can you like sport AND poetry?’. I replied, ‘Who made up the rule that you can’t?’.

For more information on David Kerby-Kendall, visit his website at: davidkerbykendall.com

or follow him on Twitter at: @dkerbykendall

 

Thank you to David Kerby-Kendall, Whiteley Publishing, and Authoright for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

#BlogTour & #BookReview
Porcelain: Flesh of Innocents
by Lee Cockburn @lee_leecockburn

#BlogTour & #BookReview Porcelain: Flesh of Innocents by Lee Cockburn @lee_leecockburnTitle: Porcelain: Flesh of Innocents

Author: Lee Cockburn

Published by Clink Street Publishing on February 21, 2017

Genres: Mystery/Thriller, Police Procedural

Pages: 266

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Authoright

Book Rating: 8/10

 

 

Synopsis:

Detective Sergeant Taylor Nicks is back and in charge of tracking down a sadistic vigilante, with a penchant for torturing paedophiles, in this unsettling crime thriller by a real-life police sergeant. 

High-powered businessmen are turning up tortured around the city of Edinburgh with one specific thing in common — a sinister double life involving pedophilia. Leaving his ‘victims’ in a disturbing state, the individual responsible calls the police and lays bare the evidence of their targets’ twisted misdemeanours to discover, along with a special memento of their own troubled past — a chilling calling card. Once again heading the investigation team is Detective Sergeant Taylor Nicks, along with her partner Detective Constable Marcus Black, who are tasked not only with tracking the perpetrator down but also dealing with the unusual scenario of having to arrest the victims for their own barbarous crimes. But with the wounded piling up the predator’s thirst for revenge intensifies and soon Nicks discovers that she is no longer chasing down a sinister attacker but a deadly serial killer.

Vivid, dark and deeply unsettling Porcelain: Flesh of Innocents is the perfect next read for serious crime and police thriller fans.


Review:

Spine-chilling, gritty and deeply disturbing!

This is a raw, creepy thriller full of violence, degradation, emotional entanglements, sex and murder.

The main heroine, Taylor, is relentless, determined, strong, confused and damaged. And the supporting characters are complex, intelligent and vulnerable. The writing is well done and exceptionally descriptive. And the plot is a well-crafted police procedural jam-packed with twists, turns, suspense and mayhem.

I have to point out that this story deals with some heartbreaking, horrific issues such as pedophilia and includes some explicit lesbian sex scenes so may not be for everyone. However, saying that, for everyone else this is a gripping, fast-paced murder mystery that will keep you on the edge of your seat and definitely have you questioning the line between criminal and victim, retribution and revenge right from the haunting prologue.

 

This book is available now. 

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

Amazon UKBarnes & Noble

 

 

Thank you to Authoright for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Lee Cockburn

Lee Cockburn has worked for Police Scotland for sixteen years including as a police sergeant in Edinburgh for seven years and also as a public order officer. Before joining the force, she played for Scotland Women’s rugby team for fifteen years, earning over eighty caps for the Scottish ladies and British Lionesses teams. She also swam competitively for twelve years, successfully representing Edinburgh at the age of fifteen in the youth Olympics in Denmark in 1984. Lee lives in Edinburgh with her civil partner Emily and their two young sons Jamie and Harry. Her first book Devil’s Demise was published by Clink Street Publishing November 2014.

 

#BookReview #BlogTour
Fifteen Words by Monika Jephcott Thomas

#BookReview #BlogTour Fifteen Words by Monika Jephcott ThomasTitle: Fifteen Words

Author: Monika Jephcott Thomas

Published by Clink Street Publishing on November 22, 2016

Genres: Historical Fiction

Pages: 293

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Authoright

Book Rating: 8.5/10

 

 

Synopsis:

Two young doctors form a profound and loving bond in Nazi Germany; a bond that will stretch them to the very limits of human endurance. Catholic Max – whose religious and moral beliefs are in conflict, has been conscripted to join the war effort as a medic, despite his hatred of Hitler’s regime. His beloved Erika, a privileged young woman, is herself a product of the Hitler Youth. In spite of their stark differences, Max and Erika defy convention and marry.

But when Max is stationed at the fortress city of Breslau, their worst nightmares are realised; his hospital is bombed, he is captured by the Soviet Army and taken to a POW camp in Siberia. Max experiences untold horrors, his one comfort the letters he is allowed to send home: messages that can only contain Fifteen Words. Back in Germany, Erika is struggling to survive and protect their young daughter, finding comfort in the arms of a local carpenter. Worlds apart and with only sparse words for comfort, will they ever find their way back to one another, and will Germany ever find peace?

Fifteen Words is a vivid and intimate portrayal of human love and perseverance, one which illuminates the German experience of the war, which has often been overshadowed by history.


Review:

Insightful, poignant, and incredibly moving!

This is an extremely compelling story that allows us a rare opportunity to see the war from two different German perspectives and reminds us of the emotional, psychological and physical horrors seen and endured during times of conflict and their long-lasting effects on not only the soldiers themselves, but also the families they leave behind.

The story is set in both Germany and Siberia, Russia, and is told from two points of view; Max, a German doctor, who continues to aid and comfort to the best of his abilities even when freedom seems beyond reach and home seems a world away; and Erika, Max’s wife, a young doctor herself who struggles to stay positive and raise and support her daughter despite her flagging optimism.

This is story about war, loss, loneliness, determination, hope, love, courage, and survival.

The prose is descriptive and smooth. The characters are strong, real, multi-layered, and damaged. And the plot is subtle but impactful with an underlying current that sometimes we can say so much with so few words.

Overall, this is truly a powerful story I won’t soon forget.

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from the following links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon Canada

 

 

 Thank you to Authoright for providing me with a copy in an exchange for an honest review.

 

About Monika Jephcott Thomas

Monika Jephcott Thomas grew up in Dortmund Mengede, north-west Germany. She moved to the UK in 1966, enjoying a thirty year career in education before retraining as a therapist. Along with her partner Jeff she established the Academy of Play & Child Psychotherapy in order to support the twenty per cent of children who have emotional, behavioural, social and mental health problems by using play and the creative Arts. A founder member of Play Therapy UK, Jephcott Thomas was elected President of Play Therapy International in 2002. In 2016 her first book Fifteen Words was published.

 

 fifteen-words-alternative-banner

#BookReview & #BlogTour
Twenty Four Days to Christmas
by Fred Arthur

#BookReview & #BlogTour Twenty Four Days to Christmas by Fred ArthurTitle: Twenty Four Days to Christmas

Author: Fred Arthur

Published by Clink Street Publishing on November 10, 2015

Genres: Children's Book

Pages: 76

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Authoright

Book Rating: 8/10

 

 

Synopsis:

Poppy is in agony – it is the First of December and she has twenty-four days to wait until Christmas and she is convinced that she will not be able to contain her excitement and impatience: How can she possibly wait so long for Santa to arrive? Poppy’s parents put their heads together and come up with a cunning plan that has Poppy completing a different, Christmas themed activity every day, to keep Her busy until Christmas (and Santa) finally arrives. Twenty-Four Days to Christmas is an Advent Calendar of a book, which can be read one day at a time, or as a complete story, and centres on Christmas, family and the magic of the Christmas season.


Review:

Charming, fun, and incredibly creative!

This is a delightful children’s story that makes everyday in the month of December special and gives you wonderful ideas for things to do, things to see, and things to make.

The characters are charming, eager, and excited. The story is written in a wonderful, easy-to-read, rhyming manner that flows nicely and is highly entertaining, and the illustrations are the perfect combination of bright, bold, colourful, and amusing.

Overall, this is a great festive novel that will keep the little ones enraptured and have you making reindeer out of pine cones and baking lots of Christmas goodies in no time.

 

This book is available now.

Purchase from your favourite retailer or from the following links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon Canada

For more information on Fred Arthur follow them on Twitter at: @fredarthurbooks

 

 

Thank you to Authoright for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

Fred Arthur’s Top 2 Christmas Decorations

  1. The Tree – ornaments, lights, tinsel and (of course) brightly wrapped presents underneath! – Well it just has to be!
  2. The Christmas Nativity scene – the stable, the shepherds, the Wise Men, the animals and, of course, the baby!

 

twenty-four-days-to-christmas_banner

#BookReview
I Kill (André Warner, Manhunter #2)
by Lex Lander

#BookReview I Kill (André Warner, Manhunter #2) by Lex LanderTitle: I Kill

Author: Lex Lander

Series: André Warner Manhunter #2

Published by Kaybec Publishing on May 1, 2016

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 400

Format: eBook

Source: Authoright

Book Rating: 7.5/10

 

Synopsis:

WHEN SHE WAS TAKEN FROM HIM HE WENT AFTER HER AND SEALED HER FATE – HIS TOO

Racked by guilt over his accidental killing of a young Italian girl, contract killer André Warner has effectively retired himself from his ‘profession’ and taken to drink and other palliatives, while sinking slowly into a mire of depression.

A contract in Tangier to assassinate an Arab drug trafficker lures him out of retirement and self-pity. Soon after his arrival he encounters attractive American widow, Clair Power, and her precocious sixteen year-old daughter, Lizzy, who bears such a striking resemblance to the girl Warner killed that his waning anguish is instantly rekindled. He attempts to assuage it by embarking on a fling with Clair which brings him into conflict with a mysterious Dutchman named Rik de Bruin, who also appears to have designs on her.

The contract on the drug merchant is cancelled with no explanation given, but Warner, now seriously involved with Clair, is more relieved than disappointed. Their budding romance is not destined to blossom however. Clair disappears and Warner is landed with the role of de facto guardian to Lizzy.

In tracking down Clair, Warner crosses a line that brings him into conflict with the local police and he is deported from Tangier with a distraught Lizzy in tow. Back at his Andorra villa she slowly recovers from her mother’s disappearance and launches an assault on Warner’s good intentions. Her increasingly provocative behavior disturbs yet excites him, and when Rik de Bruin pitches up in Andorra and begins to take an interest in Lizzy too, Warner gets possessive the only way he knows.

Too late, alas, to save Lizzy from an unspeakable fate.


Review:

Incredibly disturbing, faced-paced, and highly suspenseful!

This a dark and gritty thriller full of murder, power, violence, drug abuse, child pornography, manipulation, dominance, corruption, and sexual exploitation.

The writing, itself, is well done, well plotted, and exceptionally shocking, chilling, and creepy. However, I found the characters really hard to like. The main character, André, is a hitman with loose morals and very few redeeming qualities, and the supporting characters are dangerous, vulnerable, and cunning.

Overall, this story is not for the squeamish, but if you like seedy, macabre page turners this is definitely the novel for you. 

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy of this novel from your favourite retailer or from the following links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon Canada

 

 

Thank you to Authoright, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Lex Lander

Lex Lander is a British-born thriller writer who was raised in France, earned his degree in French and Italian in New Zealand and currently lives in Montreal. Lander is the author of the first volume in the André Warner series, END AS AN ASSASSIN, published by Kaybec on May 1, 2016, as well as the thriller, ANOTHER DAY, ANOTHER JACKAL, published by Kaybec in 2013. And Vol III in the André Warner series, THE MAN WHO HUNTED HIMSELF, will be published by Kaybec in the autumn.

 

i-kill_banner

 

#BookReview
The Adventures of Austin the Cornish Miner
The Morgawr and the Bad Knockers
by Karen M. Hoyle

#BookReview The Adventures of Austin the Cornish Miner The Morgawr and the Bad Knockers by Karen M. HoyleTitle: The Adventures of Austin the Cornish Miner Book Two: The Morgawr and the Bad Knockers

Author: Karen M Hoyle

Published by Clink Street Publishing on October 18, 2016

Genres: Children's Book

Pages: 32

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Authoright

Book Rating: 7.5/10

 

 

Synopsis:

Spirited and adventurous children’s book series follows the adventures of a Cornish tin miner and his magical friends.
Two naughty Knockers -grubby trolls who wear miners boots and eat pasty crusts for those of you who don’t know- have been stealing from their community. With no-one else to turn to, it is up to Austin to help his friends out and bring the thieves to justice. However, things take a dangerous turn when the knockers take something explosive and Austin is forced to embark on a very different adventure which will take him underground through perilous tunnels and out into the wild sea.

With the help of new friends, in the shape of sea serpents and Bramble, a female knocker who used to be a wrestling champion, Austin finds himself in a race to save the lives of the magical underground world- but will he succeed? Enjoy the ride as the Cornish coast provides another dose of adventure and magic that children and adults alike with enjoy and remember for years to come.


Review:

Adventurous, humorous, and incredibly imaginative.

This is an amusing children’s story where magical creatures interact with the human world to solve problems, teach morals, and engage in comical escapades.

The setting is the rugged landscape of the Cornish coast, complete with miners, caves, villagers, and sea creatures. The characters are creative, unique, and intriguing. The illustrations are clear and are a good representation of both the characters and the ongoing action. And the plot builds nicely with some twists, turns, and exaggerated mishaps and hijinks that keep you thoroughly engaged.

Overall, this is a fun, easy read that will entertain children everywhere!

 

This book is due to be published on October 18, 2016.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from the following links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon Canada

 

 

Author Spotlight: Karen M. Hoyle:

Writing in general: When I am not writing children’s books I am normally writing in some other capacity. I believe that creativity can be used in any part of your life and writing whether it is for work, for business or for pleasure is one of those things that leaves a unique sense of achievement as well as a physical part of you that someone else can read and pick up what you are thinking. Challenge yourself to be more creative with what you write on Facebook, or your Christmas cards or even a really dramatic resignation letter!.

The Outdoors: I think I was born with a gene that requires me to be outdoors as much as I can. I love walking the dog, exploring beaches even just working outdoors on my laptop in the garden. The fresh air seems to give me freedom to think and also to get away from anything that is causing any stress. I am lucky to live in Cornwall where I have a huge variety of outdoor pursuits to enjoy. I think being Cornish means being outdoors and enjoying your surroundings maybe more than most. I have played hockey for over 30 years and my love of sport has given me friends, something to shout at when the Olympics is on, and being outdoors being competitive and staying fit.

My Dog: Eleven years ago a spaniel shaped ball of fluff arrived in my life. Bailey snuggled up to me and instantly I was a mum to the cutest thing that just wanted love (and food) and just to please me endlessly. I bought Bailey to give me reason to go outdoors more but she has given me so much more as a companion with a crazy spirit and we have certainly had a huge amount of adventures. It is when I am out walking and playing with Bailey that I get a lot of ideas for my books, her playfulness and childlike enthusiasm is what I pick up on. The simplest things seem magical to Bailey and they also are to children.

Speaking and Presenting: I have done a lot of speaking and presenting at events over the last few years and I love the interaction with the people in the room. Writing a book is a one-way experience, me to them. But delivering a session for a group of people in a room goes two ways. I enjoy exploring people’s ideas and taking them places with a few suggestions that they may not have even considered. I like the fun and interaction that people’s characters can provide. Am I picking up clues for characters for books? maybe, but I pick up human nature more than anything. The shy person who comes out of their shell when encouraged and welcomed by a group or the loud person who inevitably can be proven wrong or shown that confidence doesn’t mean being the loudest. I like educating people with the bit of knowledge that I have that they don’t, but equally I learn a lot in return.

karenmhoyleauthorKaren M Hoyle was born in Newquay, Cornwall and grew up with Cornish magical tales all around her. A writer through her career in public relations, Karen wrote her first book ‘The Adventures of Austin the Cornish Miner The Rescue of The Dweeble Stone’ in 2004. The book stayed in a moving box for eleven years before resurfacing and finally being published in 2015. Karen has also written poetry, winning a poetry competition aged 13 which is now showcased at the British Museum. Karen now sees writing as a fundamental part of her future and mixes children’s writing with writing books and blogs related to her profession. Karen continues to live in Cornwall with her writing companion Bailey the Cocker Spaniel who likes to delete items from Karen’s laptop when bored.

For more information on Karen M. Hoyle, visit her website at: theadventuresofaustin.com

or follow her on Twitter at: @Austintheminer

 

Thank you to Authoright for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

karen-hoyle_banner

#BookReview
Ganga Jamuna by Sunita Lad Bhamray

#BookReview Ganga Jamuna by Sunita Lad BhamrayTitle: Ganga Jamuna

Author: Sunita Lad Bhamray

Published by Kitaab International Pte Ltd on 2016

Genres: General Fiction

Pages: 150

Format: eBook

Source: Authoright

Book Rating: 7/10

 

 

Synopsis:

A zealous single mother must travel from her home in Nepal to Singapore in order to access an experimental surgery that could save her conjoined twins in this empowering novel of love and survival. 

Abani has so far lived a life of quiet resolve. Admired by strangers for her striking beauty and soft-spoken demeanour, she has pressed on without complaint through the challenges life has thrown at her growing up in a poor family. After she learns she is pregnant with conjoined twins, Abani faces an even greater trial: the only hope she has of saving the lives of both her children is a revolutionary new surgery performed exclusively in Singapore. With only the few supplies she can carry – and the advice and support of her friends – Abani begins the impossible passage across the Indian continent: a mother’s mission to save her unborn children.


 Review:

“The young paediatric assistant, who was around, moved closer and within minutes he removed the blankets that covered the infants. Once the blankets were removed, they awakened and began to move their limbs about peculiarly. Their heads remained fastened to each other and the spectacle before her was devoid of normalcy. As she watched, she could hear Dr. Prasad’s voice in the background that slowly began to fade. “They are doing well. What I wanted to tell you the other day is that conjoined twins are rare.”

This is a poignant story that takes us on a journey of Abani’s life, from her first love as a young girl, through loss, heartbreak, single motherhood, and raising conjoined twins.

The characters are strong, courageous and resilient. The plot is unique and interesting. And the writing is atmospheric and descriptive, although I did find there were some instances when the syntax slightly disrupted the fluidity.

Overall, however, this is a bittersweet novel that introduces us to the emotional, physical, and medical difficulties involved with the birth of conjoined twins, and it certainly reminds us that life is truly a blessing.

 

This novel is available now.

To purchase this novel, please visit your favourite retailer or the following link.

Amazon  

 

 

Thank you to Authoright for providing me with a copy of this story in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Sunita Lad Bhamray

Sunita Lad Bhamray is an author and educator living in Singapore with her husband and two children. After earning her graduate degree and enjoying a long and rewarding career teaching internationally, Lad Bhamray now devotes her time to writing. Ganga Jamuna is her third book; her first, Triumphs on the Turf, released in 2011, was about horse racing in India. It was followed by Grandma Lim’s Persimmons, a storybook for children, in 2013.

%d bloggers like this: