Source: Bookouture

#BookReview
Cold Blood by Robert Bryndza
@RobertBryndza @bookouture

#BookReview Cold Blood by Robert Bryndza @RobertBryndza @bookoutureTitle: Cold Blood

Author: Robert Bryndza

Series: Detective Erika Foster #5

Published by Bookouture on September 20, 2017

Genres: Mystery/Thriller, Police Procedural

Pages: 356

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Bookouture, NetGalley

Book Rating: 10/10

 

Synopsis:

She fell in love with a killer, now she’s one too.

The suitcase was badly rusted, and took Erika several attempts, but it yielded and sagged open as she unzipped it. Nothing could prepare her for what she would find inside…

When a battered suitcase containing the dismembered body of a young man washes up on the shore of the river Thames, Detective Erika Foster is shocked. She’s worked on some terrifying cases but never seen anything like this before.

As Erika and her team set to work, she makes the link with another victim – the body of a young woman dumped in an identical suitcase two weeks ago.

Erika quickly realises she’s on the trail of a serial killer who’s already made their next move. Yet just as Erika starts to make headway with the investigation, she is the victim of a brutal attack.

But nothing will stop Erika. As the body count rises, the twin daughters of her colleague Commander Marsh are abducted, and the stakes are higher than ever before. Can Erika save the lives of two innocent children before it’s too late? She’s running out of time and about to make a disturbing discovery…there’s more than one killer.


Review:

Intricate, riveting, and creepy!

Cold Blood is an engrossing, chilling police procedural that highlights just how easily some people can be swayed and manipulated into doing the most horrific things and reminds us that desperate people will do almost anything, at any cost to protect themselves.

The writing is bold and crisp. The characters are resilient, impulsive, and troubled. And the plot, told from differing points-of-view, keeps you on the edge of your seat from start to finish as it whips you through well-timed twists, unforeseen surprises, deception, abuse, violence, corruption, and murder.

Overall, Cold Blood is a gripping, highly entertaining, harrowing thriller that proves once again Bryndza is a talented, natural storyteller with a vivid imagination.

Cold Blood is the fifth novel in the Erika Foster series and all I can say is if you’re not already reading this series, you should be!

If you haven’t had a chance to read my reviews of the previous novels in the “Detective Erika Foster” series be sure to check them out here:

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                                         

 

 

Thank you to Bookouture and Robert Bryndza for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Robert Bryndza

Robert Bryndza is the author of the international #1 bestseller The Girl in the Ice, which is the first in his Detective Erika Foster series.

The Night Stalker, Dark Water and Last Breath are the second, third, and fourth books in the series, and the fifth book, Cold Blood is available now.

Robert’s books have sold over 2 million copies and have been translated into 27 languages.

In addition to writing crime fiction, Robert has published a bestselling series of romantic comedy novels. He is British and lives in Slovakia.

#BookReview #TheSister
by Louise Jensen @Fab_fiction
@bookouture @TheCrimeVault @littlebookcafe

#BookReview #TheSister by Louise Jensen @Fab_fiction @bookouture @TheCrimeVault @littlebookcafeTitle: The Sister

Author: Louise Jensen

Published by Bookouture on July 7, 2016

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 307

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Bookouture, NetGalley

Book Rating: 8/10

 

 

Synopsis:

Grace hasn’t been the same since the death of her best friend Charlie. She is haunted by Charlie’s words, the last time she saw her, and in a bid for answers, opens an old memory box of Charlie’s. It soon becomes clear there was a lot she didn’t know about her best friend. 

When Grace starts a campaign to find Charlie’s father, Anna, a girl claiming to be Charlie’s sister steps forward. For Grace, finding Anna is like finding a new family, and soon Anna has made herself very comfortable in Grace and boyfriend Dan’s home. 

But something isn’t right. Things disappear, Dan’s acting strangely and Grace is sure that someone is following her. Is it all in Grace’s mind? Or as she gets closer to discovering the truth about both Charlie and Anna, is Grace in terrible danger? 

There was nothing she could have done to save Charlie …or was there?


Review:

Suspenseful, creepy and entertaining!

The Sister is a psychological thriller that reminds us of the mental and physical anguish that can be caused by abandonment, isolation, trauma, grief and revenge.

The main character, Grace, is a young woman struggling in her everyday life due to extreme levels of guilt, grief, and paranoia. And as the story unfolds, through a past/present style, we are introduced to all sorts of colourful characters that interact and intertwine to captivate and intrigue us until the last piece of the puzzle fits.

The story is well written. And the plot is fascinating and mysterious, with lots of twists and turns you won’t see coming.

Overall, this is a really sophisticated debut novel, and I look forward to reading more from Louise Jensen in the future.

 

This book is now available in paperback.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                                                 

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Bookouture, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Louise Jensen

Louise Jensen is the Global No.1 Bestselling author of psychological thrillers The Sister, The Gift & The Surrogate.

To date Louise has sold approaching a million books and her novels have been sold for translation to nineteen territories, as well as being featured on the USA Today and Wall Street Journal Bestseller’s List.

Louise was nominated for the Goodreads Debut Author of 2016 Award.

Louise lives with her husband, children, madcap dog and a rather naughty cat in Northamptonshire. She loves to hear from readers and writers.

#BookReview
Liar by K.L. Slater
@KimLSlater @bookouture

#BookReview Liar by K.L. Slater @KimLSlater @bookoutureTitle: Liar

Author: K.L. Slater

Published by Bookouture on June 16, 2017

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 326

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Bookouture, NetGalley

Book Rating: 8/10

 

 

Synopsis:

How far would you go to protect your family?

Single dad Ben is doing his best to raise his children alone, with the help of his devoted mother Judi. Life isn’t easy, but Judi’s family means everything to her and together, they manage.

Then Ben meets Amber. Everyone thinks this is a perfect match for Ben but Judi isn’t sure … there’s just something about Amber that doesn’t add up.

Ben can’t see why his mother dislikes his new girlfriend. And Amber doesn’t want Judi anywhere near her new family. Amber just wants Ben and the children.

The further Judi delves into Amber’s personal life, the closer she gets to shocking secrets that could change everything. And Judi must make a decision that could lead to the most disastrous consequences.


Review:

Menacing, intense and eerie!

This story focuses on the unique relationship between mother-in-laws and daughter-in-laws and highlights the friction, discontent, competition, and rivalry that can exist between the two.

It is, ultimately, a story about control, power, manipulation, deception, obsession, and revenge.

The writing is fluid and smooth. The characters are desperate, devious, damaged, and consumed. And the plot, although a little predictable, does a good job of creating tension, suspense and strife as it methodically unravels revealing all the personalities, complex relationships and dark motivations within it.

Overall, this is a compelling, entertaining psychological thriller by Slater with an opening that will make you think twice, a few twists, and a narration style that will have you rooted to your seat from the very first page.

If you haven’t had a chance to read my review for Slater’s previous novel, Safe With Me, be sure to check it out here:

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                                        

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About K.L. Slater

After years of trying to get published and never getting further than the slush pile, I went back to university at the age of 40 where I gained a first-class honours degree in English & Creative Writing and an MA in Creative Writing with distinction.

Although I also worked full-time during the five years I studied at university, the courses gave me the time and space to try different writing and increased my confidence and belief in my writing. Before I graduated from my MA, I had secured representation with my agent, Clare Wallace, at the Darley Anderson Literacy, TV and Film Agency and had my first book deal.

My first adult psychological thriller for Bookouture, ‘Safe with Me’, actually started life as my dissertation on my English & Creative Writing degree in 2010.
I first became published writing Young Adult fiction for Macmillan Children’s Books under the name Kim Slater. My award-winning YA debut, SMART, started life as a short story for my MA in Creative Writing in 2012.
I live in Nottingham with my husband, Mac. Between us we have three grown-up kids; Francesca, Nathan and Jake.

#BookReview
Follow You by Richard Parker
@Bookwalter @bookouture

#BookReview Follow You by Richard Parker @Bookwalter @bookoutureTitle: Follow You

Author: Richard Jay Parker

Published by Bookouture on May 26, 2017

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 379

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Bookouture, NetGalley

Book Rating: 8/10

 

 

Synopsis:

You set the trap. Now you can’t escape.

When an online prank goes viral and triggers a spate of gruesome murders, documentary maker Hazel Salter watches in horror. But then Hazel’s childhood friend, Meredith Hickman, is the next victim and Hazel knows she has to find out what happened to her.

Is it one killer or more? Random acts of violence, or part of a bigger, twisted plan?

The police have no leads, but Hazel has a theory – one she’ll stop at nothing to prove – and she also has a film crew. She’ll make a documentary, catch the killer, and give Meredith justice.

Her stage is the abandoned amusement park where Meredith was found. 

Her cast are the family and friends the killer left behind. 

And her crew? They keep disappearing, one by one…


Review:

Creepy, disturbing and exceptionally gory!

This is a gritty thriller full of sex, manipulation, emotional entanglements, carnage, and violence in an extremely fast-paced, suspenseful plot that is chocked full of murder and mayhem.

The writing is well done. The main heroine, Hazel is relentless, determined, strong and desperate; and the supporting characters are varied, troubled and vulnerable.

This story is definitely not for the squeamish, in fact it reminds me of those classic slasher films from the 80s that we all watched from the edge of our seat yelling “don’t go off on your own” and even though there may not be lots of depth to the characters you are still thoroughly entertained, horrified and engrossed by the maniacal killer, the naive victims, and of course the unexpected ending.

 

This novel is due to be published on May 26, 2017.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links. 

                                          

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Bookouture, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Richard Parker

Author of STOP ME - shortlisted for a Specsavers New Blood Dagger Award - and SCARE ME.

SCARE ME has been snapped up by major Hollywood studio, Relativity Media. Wentworth (Prison Break/Stoker) Miller has just completed the screenplay.

His third stand alone thriller STALK ME is due to be published February 2014 (US/Canada) and March 2014(UK) by Angry Robot crime imprint Exhibit A.

He is currently writing a follow up to SCARE ME.

A professional TV writer for twenty-two years he started by submitting material to the BBC. After contributing to a wide variety of TV shows he became a head writer, script editor and producer.

He has now moved from London to Salisbury but in no way hates London.

#BookReview
Last Breath by Robert Bryndza
@RobertBryndza @bookouture

#BookReview Last Breath by Robert Bryndza @RobertBryndza @bookoutureTitle: Last Breath

Author: Robert Bryndza

Series: Detective Erika Foster #4

Published by Bookouture on April 12, 2017

Genres: Mystery/Thriller, Police Procedural

Pages: 362

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Bookouture, NetGalley

Book Rating: 10/10

 

Synopsis:

He’s your perfect date. You’re his next victim.

When the tortured body of a young woman is found in a dumpster, her eyes swollen shut and her clothes soaked with blood, Detective Erika Foster is one of the first at the crime scene. The trouble is, this time, it’s not her case.

While she fights to secure her place on the investigation team, Erika can’t help but get involved and quickly finds a link to the unsolved murder of a woman four months earlier. Dumped in a similar location, both women have identical wounds – a fatal incision to their femoral artery.

Stalking his victims online, the killer is preying on young pretty women using a fake identity. How will Erika catch a murderer who doesn’t seem to exist?

Then another girl is abducted while waiting for a date. Erika and her team must get to her before she becomes another dead victim, and, come face to face with a terrifyingly sadistic individual.

Gripping, tense and impossible to put down, Last Breath will have you on the edge of your seat, racing to the final dramatic page.


Review:

Mesmerizing, dark and cleverly spine-chilling!

This is a skillfully crafted, perfectly executed thriller that takes us on a hunt for a sadistic serial killer and highlights how susceptible and vulnerable social media can make us.

The writing is seamless, vivid and fluid. The characterization is spot on with all the usual gang back including the tough, stubborn Erika Foster whose greatest struggles involve her inability to conform to authority and her apprehension at the growing intimacy with Peterson. And the plot involves a series of twists, turns, violence, murder and surprises that I guarantee will grab you from the very first page of the prologue.

Overall this book has an incredible pace and exceptional depth in both the storyline and character development. It’s riveting; it’s entertaining; and it’s a clear indicator that Bryndza has definitely hit his stride. If you love well written police procedurals with intriguing characters this is the book/series for you.

If you haven’t read any of the previous novels in the “Detective Erika Foster” series be sure to check out my review for “The Night Stalker” (Erika Foster #2) HERE and my review for “Dark Water” (Erika Foster #3) HERE.

 

This book is due to be published on April 12, 2017

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                               

 

Thank you to Bookouture and Robert Bryndza for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Robert Bryndza

Robert Bryndza is the author of the international #1 bestseller The Girl in the Ice, which is the first in his Detective Erika Foster series.

The Night Stalker, Dark Water and Last Breath are the second, third, and fourth books in the series, and the fifth book, Cold Blood is available now.

Robert’s books have sold over 2 million copies and have been translated into 27 languages.

In addition to writing crime fiction, Robert has published a bestselling series of romantic comedy novels. He is British and lives in Slovakia.

#BookReview
Revenge by Nigel May
@Nigel_May @bookouture

#BookReview Revenge by Nigel May @Nigel_May @bookoutureTitle: Revenge

Author: Nigel May

Published by Bookouture on February 10, 2017

Genres: Contemporary Romance, Women's Fiction

Pages: 386

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Bookouture, NetGalley

Book Rating: 9/10

 

 

Synopsis:

If you keep dangerous secrets you’ll pay the ultimate price… 

In the South of France, playground of the rich and famous, world renowned chef Dexter Franklin is organising a night to remember. As he opens the doors to his exclusive restaurant for the first time, he’s handpicked a list of guests, as hot and dazzling as the St Tropez sun itself: 

Mew Stanton: Fashionable, beautiful and a notorious TV chef, Dexter’s ex-girlfriend has all the ingredients for success. As her books fly off the shelves, a secret from her past is about to surface with explosive consequences. 

Holly Lydon: Ex girlband star who has fallen on hard times. Forced to make ends meet she’s having to sleep her way to the top. Now she’s making headlines for all the wrong reasons. 

Rosita Velázquez: Brazilian actress extraordinaire and girlfriend of Dexter’s brother, Leland. When she’s in town everybody needs to know about it, but this is one show-stopping entrance she’ll live to regret. 

Three women have a past with Dexter and a grudge to bear against him. As fireworks ignite in the jet set capital of Europe, there’s murder on the menu. Who will be served their just desserts? 

The sun is setting in the South of France. Pour yourself a glass of champagne and sit back for a read of revenge, regrets and shocking revelations that will have you hooked to the very last page. 


Review:

Wildly addictive, blissfully entertaining, and sinfully salacious!

This is a provocative novel that takes us into the lives of the rich, glamorous and famous and reminds us that not everything is always as it seems and as well as having fancy yachts and designer clothes they also seem to have an abundance of sex, power, temptation, rivalry, jealousy, revenge, deception, tragedy and murder.

The writing is effortless. The characters are self-obsessed, shallow, and ambitious. The settings are exotic and picturesque. And the plot is clever, humorous, mysterious, unpredictable and incredibly captivating.

What can I say, this truly is a jouissance or indulgence you don’t want to miss!

If you haven’t had a chance to check our my review for Nigel May’s previous novel, Lovers and Liars, be sure to check it out HERE!

 

This book is due to be published on February 10, 2017.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon CanadaIndigoKoboB&N

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Bookouture, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Nigel May

Nigel May has been described as "the UK's male Jackie Collins" and is an author, TV host and journalist. His three fiction novels have all been published by Bookouture.

His first glam fiction novel was TRINITY, an action-packed blockbuster (or bonkbuster) about the lives of the rich and famous. Glamour, beauty, fame and celebrity mix with murder, intrigue and danger to create an explosive novel which gained incredible reviews and fans across the globe. His follow-up was the glitz-meets-grit whodunit ADDICTED which was also a huge success and once again dived into the diamond-dipped world of the mega-rich but showed that all of the money and fame in the world do not always make for a happy ending. His third novel SCANDALOUS LIES is steeped in secrets, sin, sex and scandal and takes readers around the world as a mysterious celebrity disappearance is investigated. His books have been Amazon best sellers, read by celebrities and fellow authors alike, and have proved that a man can successfully write in a 'bonkbuster world' that has always been a strongly female domain.

Nigel was the only male writer amongst 44 authors featured in the chart-topping, beach-read anthology of short-stories SUNLOUNGER. He also contributed a short story to SUNLOUNGER 2.

On television he regularly presents on UK shopping channels where he has built up a substantial following. He has also featured on Channel 4, C5, ITV and broadcast live from America. He is also one of the UK's most popular craft personalities, having launched his own successful range, A-May-Zing.

As a writer he has written for many of the UK's most successful magazines and newspapers, specialising in showbiz and celebrity, as well as writing on subjects ranging from relationships through to exotic travel.

#BookReview
While You Were Sleeping by Kathryn Croft
@KatCroft

#BookReview While You Were Sleeping by Kathryn Croft @KatCroftTitle: While You Were Sleeping

Author: Kathryn Croft

Published by Bookouture on November 14, 2016

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 324

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Bookouture, NetGalley

Book Rating: 8.5/10

 

 

Synopsis:

You wake up to find the man beside you is dead. 
He is not your husband. This is not your bed. 
What do you do?
 

Tara Logan lives a quiet life with her husband, Noah, and two children, teenager Rosie and eleven-year-old Spencer. 

But her peace is shattered when she wakes in her neighbour Lee’s bed, with no memory of how she got there or what happened between them. 

And worse – he has been stabbed to death. 

Convinced she didn’t kill Lee, Tara stays silent, fearing the truth will rip her family apart. 

But as her daughter spirals out of control, and her husband becomes increasingly distant, Tara soon realises that someone in her life knows what really happened to Lee. She must get to the truth before they do. 

Tara made a mistake … but will one night cost her everything? 

A gripping, shocking psychological thriller, with a twist that will take you by surprise. 

Will engross fans of Gone Girl, Behind Closed Doors, and The Girl on the Train. 


Review:

Creepy, suspenseful, and incredibly entertaining!

This is a psychological thrill ride of secrets, deception, infidelity, and murder, and raises the question “how well do you really know someone?”

The writing is well done.  The characters are complex, secretive, and fascinating. And the plot continually keeps you guessing with its multiple twists and turns, tension, mystery, and ever-expanding suspect list.

Overall, I enjoyed this novel. It was engrossing, intriguing, and had me contemplating and deducing whodunit from the very outset.

 

This book is due to be published on November 16, 2016.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from the following links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon Canada

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Bookouture, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Kathryn Croft

Kathryn is the bestselling author of five psychological thrillers and to date she has sold over one million copies of her books. Her third book, The Girl With No Past spent over four weeks at number one in the Amazon UK chart, and she has also appeared on the Wall Street Journal's bestsellers list.

With publishing deals in thirteen different countries, Kathryn writes full time and has just finished writing her sixth book, which is due for publication on 25th October 2017. She is now hard at work on book seven.

After twelve years living in London, she now lives in Guildford, Surrey, the place she grew up, with her husband, their little boy and two crazy cats.

#BookReview
Safe With Me by K.L. Slater
@KimLSlater

#BookReview Safe With Me by K.L. Slater @KimLSlaterTitle: Safe With Me

Author: K.L. Slater

Published by Bookouture on November 1, 2016

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 374

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Bookouture, NetGalley

Book Rating: 9/10

 

 

Synopsis:

Thirteen years ago someone did something very bad to Anna. Now it’s her turn to get even … 

Anna lives a solitary existence, taking solace in order and routine. Her only friend is the lonely old lady next door. She doesn’t like to let people to get too close – she knows how much damage they can do. 

Then one ordinary day Anna witnesses a devastating road accident and recognises the driver as Carla, the woman who ruined her life all those years ago. Now it’s Anna’s chance to set things straight but her revenge needs to be executed carefully … 

First she needs to get to know Liam, the man injured in the accident. She needs to follow the police investigation. She needs to watch Carla from the shadows… 

But as Anna’s obsession with Carla escalates, her own secrets start to unravel. Is Carla really dangerous or does Anna need to worry about someone far closer to home? 

A compelling, gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Sister. 


Review:

Extraordinarily intense, exceptionally sinister, and darkly entertaining!

This story reminds us just how much our familial relationships, environments and experiences can affect our physical and psychological health and emphasizes how fragile and complex our minds truly are. 

It, ultimately, is a story about abuse, loss, death, grief, guilt, manipulation, and obsession.

The plot is told from different points of view and shifts between the past and present effortlessly creating an exciting thrill ride of twists, turns, suspense, and tension. The writing is smooth and clear. And the characters are lonely, damaged, desolate, and devious.

Overall, this is an incredibly clever, debut psychological thriller with just the right amount of mystery and eeriness to keep you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

 

This book is due to be published on November 3, 2016.

Pick up a copy of this story from your favourite retailer or from the following links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon Canada

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Bookouture, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About K.L. Slater

After years of trying to get published and never getting further than the slush pile, I went back to university at the age of 40 where I gained a first-class honours degree in English & Creative Writing and an MA in Creative Writing with distinction.

Although I also worked full-time during the five years I studied at university, the courses gave me the time and space to try different writing and increased my confidence and belief in my writing. Before I graduated from my MA, I had secured representation with my agent, Clare Wallace, at the Darley Anderson Literacy, TV and Film Agency and had my first book deal.

My first adult psychological thriller for Bookouture, ‘Safe with Me’, actually started life as my dissertation on my English & Creative Writing degree in 2010.
I first became published writing Young Adult fiction for Macmillan Children’s Books under the name Kim Slater. My award-winning YA debut, SMART, started life as a short story for my MA in Creative Writing in 2012.
I live in Nottingham with my husband, Mac. Between us we have three grown-up kids; Francesca, Nathan and Jake.

#BookReview
Dark Water by Robert Bryndza
@RobertBryndza @bookouture

#BookReview Dark Water by Robert Bryndza @RobertBryndza @bookoutureTitle: Dark Water

Author: Robert Bryndza

Series: Detective Erika Foster #3

Published by Bookouture on October 20, 2016

Genres: Mystery/Thriller, Police Procedural

Pages: 341

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Bookouture, NetGalley

Book Rating: 10/10

 

Synopsis:

Beneath the water the body sank rapidly. She would lie still and undisturbed for many years but above her on dry land, the nightmare was just beginning. 

When Detective Erika Foster receives a tip-off that key evidence for a major narcotics case was stashed in a disused quarry on the outskirts of London, she orders for it to be searched. From the thick sludge the drugs are recovered, but so is the skeleton of a young child. 

The remains are quickly identified as seven-year-old Jessica Collins. The missing girl who made headline news twenty-six years ago. 

As Erika tries to piece together new evidence with the old, she must dig deeper and find out more about the fractured Collins family and the original detective, Amanda Baker. A woman plagued by her failure to find Jessica. Erika soon realises this is going to be one of the most complex and demanding cases she has ever taken on. 

Is the suspect someone close to home? Someone is keeping secrets. Someone who doesn’t want this case solved. And they’ll do anything to stop Erika from finding the truth. 

From the million-copy bestselling author of The Girl in the Ice and The Night Stalker, comes the third heart-stopping book in the Detective Erika Foster series.


Review:

Brilliantly plotted, incredibly captivating, and definitely a must-read of 2016!

This is an intriguing thriller that explores the psychological devastation caused by a missing child and the resulting fragility and dynamics between family members, the police, and the community at large. 

The writing is spot on. The characters are tenacious, intelligent, and multi-layered. And the plot is a suspenseful rollercoaster ride of murder, deception, secrets and deviance.

I have to say that in a time when mysteries seem to be churned out by the dozen and storylines seem to be getting rote, predictable, and a little lacklustre, Robert Bryndza is like a breath of fresh air. He creates characters we can’t get enough of and juicy, complex stories that suck you in and make you feel like you’re not only an observer but a participant. He truly writes with great depth and heart, and leaves you, as a reader, surprised, highly entertained, and extremely satisfied.

If you haven’t read any of the previous novels in the “Detective Erika Foster” series, your really should. You can check out my review for “The Night Stalker” (Erika Foster #2) HERE.

 

This book is due to be published on October 20, 2016, and I would run, not walk to pick up a copy of this novel from your favourite retailer or from the following links. You won’t be disappointed.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon CanadaChapters/Indigo

 

Thank you to Bookouture for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Robert Bryndza

Robert Bryndza is the author of the international #1 bestseller The Girl in the Ice, which is the first in his Detective Erika Foster series.

The Night Stalker, Dark Water and Last Breath are the second, third, and fourth books in the series, and the fifth book, Cold Blood is available now.

Robert’s books have sold over 2 million copies and have been translated into 27 languages.

In addition to writing crime fiction, Robert has published a bestselling series of romantic comedy novels. He is British and lives in Slovakia.

#BookReview
One Christmas in Paris by Mandy Baggot
@mandybaggot 

#BookReview One Christmas in Paris by Mandy Baggot @mandybaggot Title: One Christmas in Paris

Author: Mandy Baggot

Published by Bookouture on October 7, 2016

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 394

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Bookouture, NetGalley

Book Rating: 9/10

 

 

Synopsis:

They say Paris is the City of Love, so bring your je nsais quoi and don’t forget the mistletoe! 

Ava and her best friend Debs arrive in Paris just as the snow starts to fall. The Eiffel Tower glitters gold and the scent of spiced wine is all around, but all Ava can think about is Leo, her no-good, cheating ex. 

Debs is on a mission to make Ava smile again, and as they tour the Christmas markets, watch lamplight glittering on the river Seine, and eat their body weight in pain-au-chocolat, Ava remembers there’s more to life than men … Until they cross paths with handsome, mysterious photographer Julien with his French accent and hazelnut eyes that seem to see right inside her. 

Ava can’t ignore the intense chemistry between them, but her fingers have been burned before and she can’t forget it, especially when her ex, Leo, starts texting again. Can Ava really trust Julien – and what exactly is his secret? 

Will Ava go home with a broken heart, or will she find true love amongst the cobbled streets of Paris? 

Join Ava and Julien in the most romantic city in the world this Christmas, as they discover the importance of being true to themselves, and learn how to follow their hearts. 


Review:

Romantic, clever, and delightfully beguiling!

This story is set in the magical City of Lights and takes us on a journey into the lives of two main characters; Ava, a young woman trying to find her true self amongst familial pressures and recent heartbreak; and Julien, a young man desperately struggling to persevere after the loss of a loved one and personal injury.

The prose is elegant and effortless. The imagery is exquisite. The main characters are genuine, multi-faceted, loyal, fun, and charming. And the plot is the perfect mix of emotion, drama and romance, as well as a wondrous love story to Paris itself, the landmarks, the art, the culture, and the scrumptious food.

I have to say that Mandy Baggot has the rare, uncanny ability to sweep you away and immerse you in majestic locales you never want to leave, and this novel is no exception. It is incredibly engaging, intriguing, and heartwarming, and would be a real shame to miss.

 

This book is due to be published on Oct. 7, 2016. 

Pick up a copy of this story from your favourite retailer or from the following Amazon links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon CanadaIndigo

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Bookouture, for providing me with a copy in an exchange for an honest review.

 

About Mandy Baggot

Mandy Baggot is an international bestselling and award-winning romance writer. In 2017 she was signed by Ebury Publishing (Penguin Random House).

The winner of the Innovation in Romantic Fiction award at the UK’s Festival of Romance, her romantic comedy novel, One Wish in Manhattan, was also shortlisted for the Romantic Novelists’ Association Romantic Comedy Novel of the Year award in 2016.

Mandy loves the Greek island of Corfu, white wine, country music and handbags. Also a singer, she has taken part in ITV1's Who Dares Sings and The X-Factor.

Mandy is a member of the Romantic Novelists' Association and the Society of Authors and lives near Salisbury, Wiltshire, UK with her husband and two daughters.

%d bloggers like this: