Source: Carina UK

#BookReview
Breakfast Under a Cornish Sun by Samantha Tonge
@SamTongeWriter

#BookReview Breakfast Under a Cornish Sun by Samantha Tonge @SamTongeWriterTitle: Breakfast Under a Cornish Sun

Author: Samantha Tonge

Published by Carina on July 28, 2016

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 313

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Carina UK, NetGalley

Book Rating: 8/10

 

 

Synopsis:

DREAMING OF THE PERFECT MAN?

Kate Golightly needs to move forward and what better way to do that then with a trip to the Cornish coast with best friend and boss, Izzy.

The sea wind is just what Kate needs to finally relax and begin to let go of her past. Except she’s suddenly got one big reason to panic! She RSVP’d ‘yes’ to the Queen Bee of her high school’s wedding saying she’s bringing her boyfriend (she doesn’t have one) who looks just like Ross Poldark!

With only two weeks to find the Poldark look-alike of her dreams Kate is under a lot of pressure for the Cornish coast to deliver…

A hilarious and moving romantic novel from bestselling author, Samantha Tonge. A must-read this summer! 


Review:

Sweet, charming, and heartwarming!

This story sweeps you away on a seaside holiday, complete with sandy beaches, delicious cocktails, scrumptious food, and handsome men.

The characters are amusing, funny, and intriguing. The writing is well done. And the plot is a wonderful mixture of earnest soul-searching, suspicious mishaps, and of course a little romance! 

This is a lovely, lighthearted, easy read that is a perfect choice for summer!

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from the following Amazon links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon Canada

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Carina UK, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Samantha Tonge

Samantha Tonge lives in Manchester UK and her passion, second to spending time with her husband and children, is writing. She studied German and French at university and has worked abroad, including a stint at Disneyland Paris. She has travelled widely.
When not writing she passes her days cycling, baking and drinking coffee. Samantha has sold many dozens of short stories to women’s magazines.
In 2013, she landed a publishing deal for romantic comedy fiction with HQDigital at HarperCollins and in 2014, her bestselling debut novel, Doubting Abbey, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award. In 2015 her summer novel, Game of Scones, hit #5 in the UK Kindle chart and won the Love Stories Awards Best Romantic Ebook category.

 

Blog tour

#BookReview
What Happens at the Beach… by T. A. Williams
@TAWilliamsBooks

#BookReview What Happens at the Beach… by T. A. Williams @TAWilliamsBooksTitle: What Happens at the Beach...

Author: T.A. Williams

Published by Carina UK on July 11, 2016

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 276

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Carina UK, NetGalley

Book Rating: 10/10

 

 

Synopsis:

A deliciously sunny, uplifting romance to curl up with on your holiday – or any day!

For the perfect summer romance…

It’s finally time for Natalie Dryden to decide what she really wants! After ditching her sparkling engagement ring, and her ghastly fiancé, she jets off for the sun-kissed shores of Southern France – the only place that has ever truly felt like home. For the first time ever, Natalie is determined to forget all about men and follow her dreams!

…head to the French coast!

Only, avoiding the male population isn’t quite so easy, especially when she meets smooth-talking Philippe and gorgeous fisherman, Remy! But then Natalie bumps into brooding millionaire Mark whilst swimming in the glittering azure-blue bay – and her life is turned upside-down.

Love might be off the cards for Natalie, yet suddenly she finds herself in her dream job and working with her dream man! But is it all too good to be true…?


Review:

Wow! This is contemporary romance at its best!

This is the perfect historical love letter to Southern France complete with incredibly authentic and fascinating facts about the Cathar Crusade (Albigensian Crusade) that took place in the early 1200s, to a breathtaking tour of the beaches, landmarks, and monuments that still grace this beautiful countryside today.

It has an abundance of colourful characters, including not only the warm, intelligent, lovable, Natalie, and the sexy, kind, Mark, but a whole slew of supporting characters that are witty, quirky, and fun. 

The writing is exquisite. The prose is precise, funny and vividly descriptive. And the plot is brilliantly clever, captivating, and delightful with a little bit of drama, love, loss, and of course romance.

I loved this story! It was my first T. A. Williams novel, but it definitely won’t be my last.

 

This book is due to be published on July 11, 2016. 

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from the following Amazon links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon Canada

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Carina UK, for providing me with a copy in an exchange for an honest review.

 

About T.A. Williams

Firstly, my name isn’t T A. It’s Trevor. I write under the androgynous name T A Williams because 65% of books are read by women. In my first book, “Dirty Minds” one of the (female) characters suggests the imbalance is due to the fact that men spend too much time getting drunk and watching football. I couldn’t possibly comment. Ask my wife…
I’ve written all sorts: thrillers, historical novels, short stories and now I’m enjoying myself hugely writing humour and romance. Romantic comedies are what we all need from time to time. Life isn’t always very fair. It isn’t always a lot of fun, but when it is, we need to embrace it. If my books can put a smile on your face and maybe give your heartstrings a tug, then I know I’ve done my job.
I‘ve lived all over Europe, but now I live in a little village in sleepy Devon, tucked away in south west England. I love the place. That’s why you’ll find leafy lanes and thatched cottages in most of my books. Oh, yes, and a black Labrador.
I’ve been writing since I was 14 and that is half a century ago. However, underneath this bald, wrinkly exterior, there beats the heart of a youngster. My wife is convinced I will never grow up. I hope she’s right.

#BookReview
The Little Antique Shop Under the Eiffel Tower
by Rebecca Raisin @jaxandwillsmum

#BookReview The Little Antique Shop Under the Eiffel Tower by Rebecca Raisin @jaxandwillsmumTitle: The Little Antique Shop under the Eiffel Tower

Author: Rebecca Raisin

Series: The Little Paris Collection #2

Published by Carina on June 30, 2016

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 284

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Carina UK, NetGalley

Book Rating: 9/10

 

Synopsis:

Escape to Paris this summer and prepare to be swept off your feet… 

Anouk LaRue used to be a romantic, but since she had her heart well and truly broken her love life has dissolved into nothing more than daydreams of the perfect man. Retreating to her extraordinary Little Antique Shop has always been a way to escape, because who could feel alone in a shop bursting with memories and beautiful objects…

Until Tristan Black bursts into an auction and throws her ordered world into a spin.

Following your heart is a little like getting lost in Paris – sometimes confusing and always exciting! Except learning to trust her instincts is not something Anouk is ready to do when it comes to romance, but the city of love has other ideas…


Review:

Intelligent, beguiling, and incredibly entertaining!

This is a romantic tour of all the things people love about Paris; the history, the landmarks, the jewels, the antiques, the lifestyle, and of course the food.

The characters are amusing, enchanting and memorable. The writing is precise and clear with incredible imagery. And the plot is a wonderful mix of interesting facts, humorous escapades, suspicious events, and of course a little amour!

This really is contemporary romance at its best. And although this may be the first time Rebecca Raisin has been in my “to read” pile, it definitely won’t be the last.

 

This book is due to be published on June 30, 2016. 

Pick up a copy of this story from your favourite retailer or from the following Amazon links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon Canada

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Carina UK, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Rebecca Raisin

Rebecca Raisin is a true bibliophile. This love of books morphed into the desire to write them. She’s been published in various short story anthologies and in fiction magazines, and is now focusing on writing romance. Rebecca aims to write characters you can see yourself being friends with. People with big hearts who care about relationships, and most importantly believe in true love.

#BookReview
S is for Stranger by Louise Stone
@writercharlie

#BookReview S is for Stranger by Louise Stone @writercharlieTitle: S is for Stranger

Author: Louise Stone

Published by Carina UK on June 16, 2016

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 234

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Carina UK, NetGalley

Book Rating: 8/10

 

 

Synopsis:

There are two sides to every story.

But only one is true.

Sophie wished she’d paid more attention when her little daughter, Amy, caught sight of a stranger watching them. She only looked away for a second. But now Amy’s gone.

No one trusts an alcoholic. Even a sober one. The police are suspicious of Sophie’s tangled story and so is her ex-husband, Paul. Especially when new information emerges that changes everything.

But what if Sophie is telling the truth? What if her daughter really is missing? And what if that stranger at the fairground wasn’t really a stranger at all…


Review:

Intriguing, engrossing, and disturbing!

This is a gripping psychological thriller that brings every parents worst nightmare to life and reminds us that everything is not always as it seems.

The main character, Sophie, is distraught, determined, and relentless. And the supporting characters are strong, bold, and complex.

The writing is well done. And the plot is precise, intense, creative, and suspenseful.

This is a really good, fast-paced novel, and I highly recommend it.

 

This book is due to be published on June 16, 2016.

Pick up a copy of this book from your favourite retailer or from the following links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon Canada

 

For more information on Louise Stone, visit her website at: writercharlie.com

or follow her on Twitter at: @writercharlie

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Carina UK, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

#BookReview
The Last Days of Summer by Sophie Pembroke

#BookReview The Last Days of Summer by Sophie PembrokeTitle: The Last Days of Summer

Author: Sophie Pembroke

Published by Carina UK on June 9, 2016

Genres: General Fiction, Women's Fiction

Pages: 384

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Carina UK, NetGalley

Book Rating: 9/10

 

 

Synopsis:

Escape to the beautiful world of Rosewood this summer 

The only feel good summer read you’ll need, The Last Days of Summer is perfect for fans of Harriet Evans, Debbie Johnson and Lucy Diamond.

Saskia has always loved Rosewood. It was her family home, her sanctuary and her memories of it are vividly alive even after two years of being absent. Never did she think she would be standing in the rose garden afraid to cross the threshold and own up to the past she had run away from.

So much about Rosewood hasn’t changed, everyone still dresses for dinner, sips cocktails on the terrace, her father cooks every delicious meal and her beloved grandfather still tells spellbinding stories. But the cold reception from her grandmother, Ellie’s complete avoidance of her and the judgmental gaze of Edward, her grandfather’s new assistant (who seems to know more than enough about her past), are all new to Kia.

All Kia needs to do is attend her grandparent’s Golden Wedding Party and make it to the train station without her secret coming out. What could possible go wrong in just one weekend?


Review:

Interesting, intriguing, and thought-provoking!

This is an engaging novel that touches on the importance of familial dynamics, secrets, loss, forgiveness, love, the power of truth, and the importance of home.

The characters are well-developed, complex, and flawed. And the plot builds nicely, unravelling piece by piece, keeping you captivated until the very end.

This is a compelling story that, ultimately, reminds us that all our lives are sprinkled with a little bit of fiction.

It is a very enjoyable, easy read and I would definitely recommend it.

 

This book is due to be published on June 9, 2016.

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Carina UK, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

#BookReview
Don’t You Forget About Me by Liz Tipping

#BookReview Don’t You Forget About Me by Liz TippingTitle: Don't You Forget About Me

Author: Liz Tipping

Published by Carina UK on June 6, 2016

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 205

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Carina UK, NetGalley

Book Rating: 9/10

 

 

Synopsis:

An athlete, a princess, a brain, a criminal, a basket case… 
Cara Dunham is definitely one of them. But stuck in her small hometown, with no prospects of escape, she’s struggling to find her thing. Her life is more book club than Breakfast Club and there is no Judd Nelson in sight!

So when Cara is invited to a school reunion she knows this is her chance to channel her inner Molly Ringwald and grab her John Hughes moment, once and for all. Because her teenage love, Daniel Rose will be there, the coolest boy at school and the one that got away.

But transforming into an 80’s icon isn’t easy and Cara enlists the help of her oldest friend, Stubbs, to teach her all she needs to know about being cool and quirky – a la Ringwald.

Except Stubbs thinks she’s perfect, just as she is and takes it upon himself to show Cara that her life might not be ‘movie perfect’, but there is always another take to get things right. And maybe the hero she’s dreamed of has been under her nose the whole time…


Review:

Funny, touching, quirky, and romantic!

This is a classic friends-to-more romance that pays homage to all those 80s movies we love and can’t get enough of.

The writing is well done. The characters are lovable, cute, and genuine. And the plot flows nicely, has just the right amount of drama, with a side of movie trivia, that will keep you engaged until the last page.

I really enjoyed this book and I highly recommend it.

And between you-and-I, I always secretly hoped that one day I would be sitting on a dining room table, and Jake Ryan (Michael Schoeffling) would give me a birthday cake and ask me to make a wish!

 

This book is due to be released on June 6, 2016.

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Carina UK, for providing me with a copy of this story in exchange for an honest review. 

#BookReview
Destination: India by Katy Colins

#BookReview Destination: India by Katy ColinsTitle: Destination: India

Author: Katy Colins

Series: The Lonely Hearts Travel Club #2

Published by HQ Digital on June 2, 2016

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 334

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Carina UK, NetGalley

Book Rating: 8/10

 

Synopsis:

Let yourself go…

Georgia Green is about to board a plane to India, alone – again. Things were supposed to be different this time, but Georgia backpacked solo to Thailand and survived, what could possibly go wrong?

Only she is about to find out that when in India the country calls the shots – not you.


Review:

Imaginative, fascinating, and funny!

This is a really nice contemporary romance that takes us on a whirlwind tour of India, both the good and bad, using remarkable description and humorous mishaps.

The writing is well done. The characters are smart, adventurous, and engaging. And the plot is interesting, captivating, full of fanciful escapades, and, of course, a little romance.

I really enjoyed this book. And I look forward to reading the next book in the series, Destination: Chile later in the fall.

 

This book is due to be published on June 2, 2016.

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Carina UK, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

#BookReview
The Sunshine and Biscotti Club by Jenny Oliver

#BookReview The Sunshine and Biscotti Club by Jenny OliverTitle: The Sunshine And Biscotti Club

Author: Jenny Oliver

Published by Carina UK on May 19, 2016

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 384

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Carina UK, NetGalley

Book Rating: 9/10

 

 

Synopsis:

Moving to Italy to set up a baking club is a dream come true…

…until Libby catches her husband cheating just weeks before The Sunshine and Biscotti Club opens its doors.

With the first wave of guests set to arrive any day, Libby has no choice but to tie on her apron and get set to bake. But with a dash of sunshine and a sprinkling of old friends, Libby’s kitchen nightmare might just become the best thing that’s ever happened to her.

After all, you can’t bake biscotti without breaking a few eggs…

For guaranteed sunshine all holiday long, pack your bags and escape to The Sunshine and Biscotti Club – the irresistible new book from Jenny Oliver!


Review:

Intelligent, delightful, and charming!

This is a story about friendship, heartbreak, acceptance, forgiveness, love, and food.

The characters are fun-loving, dependable, flawed, and real. The plot is interesting and engaging. The writing is exquisite. And the prose is descriptive and witty. 

To me, it was like sitting down to watch a reunion episode of Friends, but instead of the usual gang sitting around the Central Perk, this one had a new light-hearted bunch gathering in the lush countryside of Italy instead.

I loved this book. It is a perfect summer read. 

 

This book is due to be published on May 19, 2016.

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Carina UK, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

#BookReview
If the Dress Fits by Daisy James

#BookReview If the Dress Fits by Daisy JamesTitle: If The Dress Fits

Author: Daisy James

Published by Carina UK on May 12, 2016

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 384

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Carina UK, NetGalley

Book Rating: 7/10

 

 

Synopsis:

A heartwarming romantic comedy guaranteed to sweep you off your feet, If the Dress Fits is one story you don’t want miss in 2016! 

She might be the most famous person in the country…but no one knows her name!

Celebrity actress Lilac Verbois is holding a competition to design her dress for the Wedding of the Year…and Callie’s exquisite, glittering silk gown has been shortlisted. But just as all her dreams are coming true, disaster strikes and she rushes home – forgetting to submit the forms!

Years ago, when Callie left sleepy Althorpe for the bright lights of London, she never expected to return. And there’s one man in particular she’d hoped never to see again, Theo, the childhood-sweetheart-turned-rock-God who turned her life upside down. But now she’s back, she realises it’s finally time to stop running…and face her past.

Yet, little does Callie know, Lilac Verbois has begun a Cinderella-like hunt for that perfect, pearl-embroidered wedding dress, mysteriously submitted without a name…


Review:

This is a nice, sweet contemporary romance.

It is a story about love, forgiveness, fashion, and the true meaning of home.

The characters are likeable. The setting is quaint and charming. And the story has enough drama, heartache, and romance to keep it moving nicely.

It is a quick, easy read that would be a good choice for a sunny afternoon.

 

This book is due to be published May 12, 2016.

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Carina UK, for providing me with a copy in an exchange for an honest review.

#BookReview
Truth or Date by Portia MacIntosh
@PortiaMacIntosh

#BookReview Truth or Date by Portia MacIntosh @PortiaMacIntoshTitle: Truth Or Date

Author: Portia MacIntosh

Published by Carina UK on April 11, 2016

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 243

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Carina UK, NetGalley

Book Rating: 8/10

 

 

Synopsis:

Falling for the man of her dreams…

Ruby Wood is perfectly happy playing the dating game – until she has a red-hot dream about her very attractive flatmate, Nick. He might spend every day saving lives as a junior doctor, but he’s absolutely the last man on earth that fun-loving Ruby would ever date!

The solution? Focus on all of Nick’s bad points. And if that fails, up her dating antics and find herself a man! So what if she manages to make disapproving, goody two-shoes Nick jealous in the process…

Only, after a series of nightmare first dates, there’s still just one man on Ruby’s mind. Maybe it’s time to admit the truth and dare to ask Nick to be her next date?


Review:

I really enjoyed this story.

This is a great, laugh-out loud, British contemporary romance novel.

The characters are quirky, charming, and fun. And the plot flows nicely, with just a little drama, to keep you turning page after page.

I definitely recommend this story to anyone who is looking for a sweet, flatmate-to-more, light-hearted read. I guarantee it will put a smile on your face.

 

This book is due to be published on April 11, 2016.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from the following links.

Amazon UK

 

 

Thank you to NetGalley, especially Carina UK, for providing me with a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Portia MacIntosh

Portia MacIntosh has been 'making stuff up' for as long as she can remember - or so she says. Whether it was blaming her siblings for that broken vase when she was growing up, blagging her way backstage during her rock chick phase or, most recently, whatever justification she can fabricate to explain away those lunchtime cocktails, Portia just loves telling tales. After years working as a music journalist, Portia decided it was time to use her powers for good and started writing novels. Taking inspiration from her experiences on tour with bands, the real struggle of dating in your twenties and just trying to survive as an adult human female generally, Portia writes about what it's really like for women who don't find this life stuff as easy as it seems.

%d bloggers like this: