Format: Audiobook

#BookReview #Audiobook The Perks of Loving a Wallflower by Erica Ridley @readforeverpub @grandcentralpub @HachetteAudio #ReadForever #Forever2021 #ThePerksofLovingaWallflower #EricaRidley #TheWildWynchesters #HachetteAudio

#BookReview #Audiobook The Perks of Loving a Wallflower by Erica Ridley @readforeverpub @grandcentralpub @HachetteAudio #ReadForever #Forever2021 #ThePerksofLovingaWallflower #EricaRidley #TheWildWynchesters #HachetteAudio Title: The Perks of Loving a Wallflower

Author: Erica Ridley

Narrator: Moira Quirk

Series: The Wild Wynchesters #2

Published by: Forever, Hachette Audio on Oct. 26, 2021

Genres: Historical Romance, LGBTQIA

Pages: 346

Length: 10 hrs 27 mins

Format: Audiobook, Paperback

Source: Forever, Hachette Audio

Book Rating: 9/10

Fans of Bridgerton will love this Regency romp in which a proper Society miss recruits a very improper lady grifter in a quest for vengeance, only to find love instead.

As a master of disguise, Thomasina Wynchester can be a polite young lady—or a bawdy old man. Anything to solve the case. Her latest assignment unveils a top-secret military cipher covering up an enigma that goes back centuries. But when Tommy’s beautiful new client turns out to be the highborn lady she’s secretly smitten with, more than her mission is at stake . . .

Bluestocking Miss Philippa York doesn’t believe in love. Her cold heart didn’t pitter-patter when she was betrothed to a duke, nor did it break when he married someone else. All Philippa desires is to rescue her priceless manuscript and decode its clues to unmask a villain. She hates that she needs a man’s help—so she’s delighted to discover the clever, charming baron at her side is in fact a woman. Her cold heart . . . did it just pitter-patter?


Review:

Captivating, mysterious, and seductive!

The Perks of Loving a Wallflower is an enticing, passionate tale that takes you back to London during 1817 and into the life of Thomasina Wynchester, a young lady with many faces who is bound and determined while helping her family solve the mystery involving the wartime cipher to finally introduce her true self to the bluestocking she yearns for, the lovely Miss Philippa York.

The prose is witty and sweet. The characters are strong-willed, determined, and resourceful. And the plot is an arousing combination of friendship, family, secrets, determination, action, adventure, societal expectations, desire, acceptance, tender moments, and unconditional love.

Overall, The Perks of Loving a Wallflower is a charming, seductive, heartwarming romp by Ridley that does a fabulous job of taking the historical romance genre and spicing it up with a little gender-bending, some sapphic love, a touch of mystery, and such a unique and intriguing cast you can’t help but cheer them on. I was once again lucky enough to not only read this novel but also listen to the audio, and I have to say if you get a chance, give this one a listen as Moira Quirk, the narrator, does an incredible job of bringing not only this story but these characters to life.

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from the following link.

               

 

 

Thank you to Forever, Grand Central Publishing, and Hachette Audio for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Erica Ridley

Erica Ridley is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of historical romance novels. When not reading or writing romances, Erica can be found riding camels in Africa, zip-lining through rain forests in Costa Rica, or getting hopelessly lost in the middle of Budapest.

Photo courtesy of Forever website.

#BookReview #Audiobook The Wish by Nicholas Sparks @HBGCanada @NicholasSparks @grandcentralpub @HachetteAudio #NicholasSparks #TheWish #GrandCentralPub #HachetteAudio

#BookReview #Audiobook The Wish by Nicholas Sparks @HBGCanada @NicholasSparks @grandcentralpub @HachetteAudio #NicholasSparks #TheWish #GrandCentralPub #HachetteAudio Title: The Return

Author: Nicholas Sparks

Narrator: Mela Lee, Will Collyer

Published by: Grand Central Publishing, Hachette Audio on Sep. 28, 2021

Genres: Contemporary Romance, Women's Fiction

Pages: 400

Length: 11 hrs 42 min

Format: ARC, Audiobook, Paperback

Source: Grand Central Publishing, Hachette Audio

Book Rating: 10/10

1996 was the year that changed everything for Maggie Dawes. Sent away at sixteen to live with an aunt she barely knew in Ocracoke, a remote village on North Carolina’s Outer Banks, she could think only of the friends and family she left behind . . . until she meets Bryce Trickett, one of the few teenagers on the island. Handsome, genuine, and newly admitted to West Point, Bryce gradually shows her how much there is to love about the wind-swept beach town—and introduces her to photography, a passion that will define the rest of her life.

By 2019, Maggie is a renowned travel photographer. She splits her time between running a successful gallery in New York and photographing remote locations around the world. But this year she is unexpectedly grounded over Christmas, struggling to come to terms with a sobering medical diagnosis. Increasingly dependent on a young assistant, she finds herself becoming close to him.

As they count down the last days of the season together, she begins to tell him the story of another Christmas, decades earlier—and the love that set her on a course she never could have imagined.


Review:

Pensive, absorbing, and profoundly moving!

The Wish is a beautifully written, touching novel that takes us into the life of Maggie Dawes as she spends her last Christmas savouring all the little things, enjoying time with those she loves, reaping as much pleasure and joy out of each day, and having no regrets before her battle with cancer comes to an end.

The prose is eloquent and reflective. The characters are strong, compassionate, and endearing. And the plot is a compelling, highly emotional tale of life, love, friendship, kindness, generosity, honesty, humour, contemplation, and acceptance.

Overall, The Wish is a charming, insightful, bittersweet tale by Sparks that, unlike most of his books that usually make me a little teary, this one absolutely slayed me. I think there was more than once when tears were trickling down my face. However, saying that this is the most exquisite, good for the soul story I’ve read in a while, and I do hope everyone grabs a few tissues and picks this one up in any version, as the audiobook narrators, Mela Lee and Will Collyer are fabulous, and spends a few hours immersed in a story that is guaranteed to remind you that life is short and every moment is truly precious.

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

           

 

 

Thank you to HBG Canada & Hachette Audio for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Nicholas Sparks

With over 100 million copies of his books sold, Nicholas Sparks is one of the world’s most beloved storytellers. His novels include fifteen #1 New York Times bestsellers, and all of his books, including Three Weeks with My Brother, the memoir he wrote with his brother, Micah, have been New York Times and international bestsellers, and were translated into more than fifty languages. Eleven of Nicholas Sparks’s novels–The Choice, The Longest Ride, The Best of Me, Safe Haven, The Lucky One, The Last Song, Dear John, Nights in Rodanthe, The Notebook, A Walk to Remember, and Message in a Bottle–have been adapted into major motion pictures.

Photography courtesy of Grand Central Publishing Website.

#BookReview Cloud Cuckoo Land by Anthony Doerr @ScribnerBooks @SimonSchusterCA @librofm #CloudCuckooLand #AnthonyDoerr #Librofm

#BookReview Cloud Cuckoo Land by Anthony Doerr @ScribnerBooks @SimonSchusterCA @librofm #CloudCuckooLand #AnthonyDoerr #Librofm Title: Cloud Cuckoo Land

Author: Anthony Doerr

Published by: Scribner on Sep. 28, 2021

Genres: Fantasy, General Fiction, Historical Fiction, Science Fiction

Pages: 640

Length: 14 hrs 51 mins

Format: ARC, Audiobook, Paperback

Source: Libro.fm, Simon & Schuster Canada

Book Rating: 10/10

Thirteen-year-old Anna, an orphan, lives inside the formidable walls of Constantinople in a house of women who make their living embroidering the robes of priests. Restless, insatiably curious, Anna learns to read, and in this ancient city, famous for its libraries, she finds a book, the story of Aethon, who longs to be turned into a bird so that he can fly to a utopian paradise in the sky. This she reads to her ailing sister as the walls of the only place she has known are bombarded in the great siege of Constantinople. Outside the walls is Omeir, a village boy, miles from home, conscripted with his beloved oxen into the invading army. His path and Anna’s will cross.

Five hundred years later, in a library in Idaho, octogenarian Zeno, who learned Greek as a prisoner of war, rehearses five children in a play adaptation of Aethon’s story, preserved against all odds through centuries. Tucked among the library shelves is a bomb, planted by a troubled, idealistic teenager, Seymour. This is another siege. And in a not-so-distant future, on the interstellar ship Argos, Konstance is alone in a vault, copying on scraps of sacking the story of Aethon, told to her by her father. She has never set foot on our planet.


Review:

Magical, memorable, and uniquely beautiful!

Cloud Cuckoo Land is a creative, moving, enthralling novel that sweeps you back and forth from the fifteenth century to the 1950s, to the present day and beyond and introduces you to five people whose lives are inexplicably impacted and changed based on their appreciation and love for an ancient manuscript, written by a Greek scholar, about a shepherd whose greatest desire is to escape to the sky.

The writing is eloquent and expressive. The characters are adventurous, inquisitive, and intelligent. And the compelling plot is an intricately woven, epic saga that touches on life, solace, innocence, sacrifice, imagination, survival, morality, and the power of the written word to guide, teach, fascinate, entertain, instil hope, and at its base level transcend time and space to entwine us all.

Cloud Cuckoo Land is another large novel by Doerr, with over 600 pages, but it is so remarkably immersive, affecting, and well written that before you know it, the story is finished, and you’re yearning for more. As some of you may know, I’m not a huge fan of science fiction, so I was a little worried at the start, but after receiving both the audio and paperback versions of this book and being able to enjoy them both, I can honestly say that this is one of the most enthralling novels I’ve read in a long time, and I was blown away by how effortlessly this novel transitions between the three distinct storylines and how powerfully moving and impactful it turned out to ultimately be.

This novel is available on September 28, 2021.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links. 

              

 

 

Thank you to Simon & Schuster Canada & Libro.fm for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Anthony Doerr

Anthony Doerr is the author of All the Light We Cannot See, winner of the Pulitzer Prize, the Carnegie Medal, the Alex Award, and a #1 New York Times bestseller. He is also the author of the story collections Memory Wall and The Shell Collector, the novel About Grace, and the memoir Four Seasons in Rome. He has won five O. Henry Prizes, the Rome Prize, the New York Public Library’s Young Lions Award, the National Magazine Award for fiction, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and the Story Prize. Born and raised in Cleveland, Ohio, Doerr lives in Boise, Idaho, with his wife and two sons.

Photo by Ulf Andersen.

#BookReview Dream Spinner (Dream Team #3) by Kristen Ashley @readforeverpub @grandcentralpub @HachetteAudio #ReadForever #ReadForeverPub #ReadForever2021 #DreamSpinner #KristenAshley #DreamTeamSeries

#BookReview Dream Spinner (Dream Team #3) by Kristen Ashley @readforeverpub @grandcentralpub @HachetteAudio #ReadForever #ReadForeverPub #ReadForever2021 #DreamSpinner #KristenAshley #DreamTeamSeries Title: Dream Spinner

Author: Kristen Ashley

Narrator: Susannah Jones

Series: Dream Team #3

Published by: Forever, Hachette Audio on May 25, 2021

Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense

Pages: 480

Length: 12 hrs 45 mins

Format: Audiobook, Paperback

Source: Forever, Hachette Audio

Book Rating: 8.5/10

In this steamy and emotional contemporary romance from a New York Times best-selling author, two damaged souls must overcome the pain of their pasts to have the love they’ve always dreamed of.

Hattie Yates has finally met the man of her dreams. Yet years of abuse from her demanding father have left her petrified of disappointment. She’s already failed to reach her goal of becoming a professional ballerina – she can’t handle the terrible consequences of another dream becoming a nightmare. But when a stalker sets their sights on Hattie, there’s only one man she dares to hope can help….

Axl Pantera knows Hattie is the only woman for him. Yet despite the attraction burning between them, Hattie refuses to let him in. The former soldier is determined to woo her into letting down her walls. And when danger comes calling, he’s up against more than her wary and bruised heart. Axl will do anything to prove to Hattie that they’re meant to be, but first, he’ll need to keep her safe.


Review:

Colourful, spicy, and alluring!

Dream Spinner is a seductive, angsty tale that features the timid Hattie Yates who, with a past laced with disappointments and verbal abuse, is more than hesitant to fall for the sexy, alpha Axl Pantera who she is sure will not only protect her life but also severely break her heart.

The writing is steamy and intense. The characters are scarred, reliable, and kind. And the plot is a sultry push-pull tale of life, love, emotion, undeniable attraction, sizzling chemistry, familial responsibilities, tender moments, dirty talk, and a dab of mystery.

There’s something about Kristen Ashley’s novels that draw you in from the very first page and sweep you away into a rompingly good time, and Dream Spinner is no exception. It’s charged, passionate, and delightfully dangerous, and after listening to Susannah Jones do a wonderful job of bringing this gritty, tantalizing tale to life, I am confident that KA fans and romantic suspense fans everywhere will be satisfied with this outing regardless of how they choose to enjoy it.

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

            

 

 

Thank you to Forever, Grand Central Publishing, and Hachette Audio for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Kristen Ashley

Kristen Ashley was born in Gary, Indiana, USA. She nearly killed her mother and herself making it into the world, seeing as she had the umbilical cord wrapped around her neck (already attempting to accessorise and she hadn't taken her first breath!).

Kristen grew up in Brownsburg, Indiana but has lived in Denver, Colorado and the West Country of England. Thus she has been blessed to have friends and family around the globe. Her posse is loopy (to say the least) but loopy is good when you want to write.

Kristen was raised in a house with a large and multi-generational family. They lived on a very small farm in a small town in the heartland and existed amongst the strains of Glenn Miller, The Everly Brothers, REO Speedwagon and Whitesnake (and the wardrobes that matched).

Needless to say, growing up in a house full of music, clothes and love was a good way to grow up.

And as she keeps growing up, it keeps getting better.

#BookReview #Audiobook Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake by Alexis Hall @readforeverpub @grandcentralpub @HachetteAudio #ReadForever #ReadForeverPub #ReadForever2021 #RosalinePalmerTakestheCake #AlexisHall #WinnerBakesAll

#BookReview #Audiobook Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake by Alexis Hall @readforeverpub @grandcentralpub @HachetteAudio #ReadForever #ReadForeverPub #ReadForever2021 #RosalinePalmerTakestheCake #AlexisHall #WinnerBakesAll Title: Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake

Author: Alexis Hall

Narrator: Fiona Hardingham

Series: Winner Bakes All #1

Published by: Forever, Hachette Audio on Jul. 7, 2020

Genres: Contemporary Romance, LGBTQIA

Pages: 448

Length: 11 hrs 23 mins

Format: Audiobook, Paperback

Source: Forever, Hachette Audio

Book Rating: 8.5/10

Following the recipe is the key to a successful bake. Rosaline Palmer has always lived by those rules—well, except for when she dropped out of college to raise her daughter, Amelie. Now, with a paycheck as useful as greaseproof paper and a house crumbling faster than biscuits in tea, she’s teetering on the edge of financial disaster. But where there’s a whisk there’s a way . . . and Rosaline has just landed a spot on the nation’s most beloved baking show.

Winning the prize money would give her daughter the life she deserves—and Rosaline is determined to stick to the instructions. However, more than collapsing trifles stand between Rosaline and sweet, sweet victory.  Suave, well-educated, and parent-approved Alain Pope knows all the right moves to sweep her off her feet, but it’s shy electrician Harry Dobson who makes Rosaline question her long-held beliefs—about herself, her family, and her desires.

Rosaline fears falling for Harry is a guaranteed recipe for disaster. Yet as the competition—and the ovens—heat up, Rosaline starts to realize the most delicious bakes come from the heart.


Review:

Amusing, spirited, and entertaining!

Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake is a playful, heartfelt, captivating tale that takes you into the life of the kindhearted, sweet Rosaline Palmer as she juggles motherhood, parental expectations, an unfulfilling job, a handsome new boyfriend, a fellow contestant with a heart of gold, and a cooking competition that could ultimately change her life.

The writing is witty and crisp. The characters are supportive, dependable, and eccentric. And the plot is a lighthearted, sassy blend of life, love, family, friendship, self-reflection, happiness, romance, baking, tricky mishaps, and awkward situations.

Overall, Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake is a humorous, uplifting, charming tale by Hall that I was lucky enough to be able to both read and listen to, and I can tell you they are both a delight. In fact, Fiona Hardingham does such a fantastic job of bringing all the quirky characters in this book to life, especially the precocious Amelie, who definitely steals the show, that I think, even though this typically isn’t the case, I might have even preferred the audio.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

               

 

 

Thank you to Forever, Grand Central Publishing, and Hachette Audio for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Alexis Hall

Alexis Hall lives in a crumbling gothic manor that he inherited in mysterious circumstances. He is a genial host provided you swear that you will under no circumstances venture into the west wing.

#BookReview Big Bad Wolf by Suleikha Snyder @suleikhasnyder @SourcebooksCasa #BigBadWolf #ThirdShift #SourcebooksCasa

#BookReview Big Bad Wolf by Suleikha Snyder @suleikhasnyder @SourcebooksCasa #BigBadWolf #ThirdShift #SourcebooksCasa Title: Big Bad Wolf

Author: Suleikha Snyder

Series: Third Shift #1

Published by: Sourcebooks Casablanca on Jan. 26, 2021

Genres: Paranormal Romance, Romantic Suspense

Pages: 368

Format: Paperback

Source: Sourcebooks Casablanca

Book Rating: 8/10

In 2016, New York became a Sanctuary City for supernaturals…but things quickly spun out of control. Now, Third Shift is an elite team of operatives tasked with exposing the gritty underbelly of New York’s criminal-supernatural underworld, taking down the worst of the worst and protecting human- and shifter-kind alike.

Joe Peluso has blood on his hands. But lawyer and psychologist Neha Ahluwalia is determined to help him craft a solid defense…even if she can’t defend her own obsession. Because Joe took out those Russian mobsters for good reason–they were responsible for the death of his beloved foster brother. Those six bad guys were part of the ruthless clan of bear shifters who control Brooklyn’s Russian mafia, so his vigilante justice has earned him countless enemies in New York’s supernatural-controlled underworld, and no friends in a government that now bends to Russia at every turn.

Joe knows that creatures like him only deserve the worst. Darkness. Solitude. Punishment. But meeting Neha makes him feel human for the first time in forever. He’s never wanted anything in his life like he wants Neha, and he’ll break almost any rule to spend a minute alone with her. But when the Russian mob attacks the jail for payback, Joe and Neha are forced to escape. Before long they’re on the run–from monsters who want him dead and from their own traitorous hearts.


Review:

Edgy, provocative, and risqué!

Big Bad Wolf is a seductive, dramatic, paranormal romance that takes you on a journey into the life of Neha Ahluwalia, an intelligent, determined psychologist/lawyer who finds herself inadvertently attracted to and swept off her feet by the rough and dirty-mouthed criminal, Joe Peluso who unfortunately has more to fear than a court of law.

The narration is salacious and smooth. The characters are consumed, impulsive, and intense. And the fast-paced, alluring plot is filled with temptation, desire, danger, deception, mystique, sizzling chemistry, palpable attraction, violence, murder, and of course the supernatural.

Overall, Big Bad Wolf is an intriguing, suspenseful, sultry tale by Snyder that has the right amount of mystery, sex, imaginative world-building, unique characters, and bad boy vibes to keep you engaged from start to finish. As most of you know, I don’t read a lot of paranormal romance and I have never read a novel by Suleikha Snyder before, but I have to tell you I really enjoyed this one and I can’t wait to read what this extraordinary team of shapeshifters, vampires, and humans get up to next in Pretty Little Lion publishing this fall.

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

     

 

Thank you to Sourcebooks Casablanca for gifting me a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Suleikha Snyder

Editor, writer, American desi and lifelong geek Suleikha Snyder is an author of contemporary and erotic romance. A passionate advocate for diversity and inclusivity in publishing, Suleikha is frequently ranting when she should really be adding to her body of work.

Suleikha lives in Chicago, finding inspiration in genre fiction, daytime and primetime soaps, and anything that involves chocolate or bacon.

Photograph by Elizabeth McQuern Photography.

#BookReview #Audiobook Roommate by Sarina Bowen @SarinaBowen #Roommate #SarinaBowen

#BookReview #Audiobook Roommate by Sarina Bowen @SarinaBowen #Roommate #SarinaBowen Title: Roommate

Author: Sarina Bowen

Published by: Tuxbury Publishing LLC on Jan. 12, 2021

Genres: Contemporary Romance, LGBTQIA

Format: Audiobook

Source: Sarina Bowen

Book Rating: 10/10

Wanted: One roommate to share a 3-bedroom house, split the rent, and ideally not be the guy I can’t stop thinking about.  

I’m a man with too many secrets, so the last thing I need is a new roommate with a sexy smile and blue eyes that see right through me. Eight years ago, Roderick left town after high school. We’re not friends. I owe him nothing. But back then, I let one of my secrets slip, and he’s the only one who noticed. 

Part of me knows I should run far, far away. But the other part wants him to come upstairs and spend the night. But if I let him in, I could lose everything.

Seeking: a room to rent in town. I’m tidy, have no pets, and I will feed you homemade bread. 

I should probably add: Gay AF, and has no filter. It’s no wonder my new landlord is so wary of me. 

A smarter man would ignore those hot glances from Kieran Shipley. The broody lumberjack wants more from me than another fresh-baked pretzel. But if I push my luck, I’ll end up back on the street.

Too bad I’ve never been smart with my heart… 


Review:

Passionate, tender, and romantic!

Roommate is a spicy, lighthearted romance featuring the sweet, playful Roderick and the quiet, broody Kieran as they discover together a sense of purpose, passion, and fulfilment in both their careers and personal lives.

The prose is sincere and sultry. The characters are sweet, dependable, and endearing. And the plot is a heartfelt tale filled with life, love, family, intimacy, chemistry, heat, desire, romance, support, friendship, and sexy times.

Overall, Roommate is a heartwarming, emotive, magical tale by Bowen that’s a wonderful way to catch up with some of the most beloved characters from the True North series, and is another perfect example of why when it comes to writing contemporary romance of any kind Bowen is one of the best.

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

       

 

 

Thank you to Sarina Bowen for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Sarina Bowen

Sarina Bowen is the RITA® Award winning author of over two dozen contemporary and LGTB romance novels. She most recently hit the USA Today bestseller's list in February, with Brooklynaire. Formerly a derivatives trader on Wall Street, Sarina holds a BA in economics from Yale University.

Sarina Bowen is a New Englander whose Vermont ancestors cut timber and farmed the north country since the 1760s. Sarina is grateful for the invention of indoor plumbing and wi-fi during the intervening 250 years. On a few wooded acres, she lives with her husband, two boys, and an ungodly amount of ski and hockey gear.

Sarina's books are published in a dozen languages on four continents. In 2016, The Romance Writers of America honored HIM by Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy with a RITA award for Best Contemporary Romance, Mid-Length.

 

#BookReview #Audiobook Loverboy by Sarina Bowen @SarinaBowen #Loverboy #TheCompany #SarinaBowen

#BookReview #Audiobook Loverboy by Sarina Bowen @SarinaBowen #Loverboy #TheCompany #SarinaBowen Title: Loverboy

Author: Sarina Bowen

Series: The Company #2

Published by: Tuxbury Publishing LLC on Dec. 1, 2020

Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense

Format: Audiobook

Source: Sarina Bowen

Book Rating: 10/10

Secrets, desires, and exquisite pie. It’s all in a day’s work at The Company.

Growing up, I was the rough guy from the wrong neighborhood who couldn’t catch a break. Posy was the pampered girl I tried to impress. But all she gave me was a single kiss before I had to skip town.

Now I’m back, and the tables are turned. Posy runs a struggling pie shop. I’m the VP of a secretive billion-dollar security company. 
Not that I can tell her.

There’s a murderer on the loose in New York, and he seems to spend a lot of time at Posy’s shop. It’s my job to identify him before he can harm a hair on her pretty head.

Going undercover as Posy’s new barista wasn’t my idea. I don’t even drink coffee. But now I have to call her “boss,” and do everything the curvy perfectionist asks of me. I’d forgotten how much we infuriate each other, and that she somehow fills me with both irritation and desire in the same breath.

There’s nobody more skilled at stealth ops than me. I can bring this killer down. Right after I take a cold shower. And just as soon I figure out how to make a skinny peppermint latte with milk poured in the shape of a kitten…


Review:

Spicy, suspenseful, and sugary sweet!

Loverboy is a sexy, playful, enemies-to-more romance featuring the competitive, handsome Gunnar Scott whose latest case finds him back in New York, working as a barista in a pastry and coffee shop, and protecting the independent, reliable, Posy Payton, the one woman he’s never quite forgotten.

The prose is smooth and sassy. The characters are charismatic, dependable, and engaging. And the plot is an irresistible blend of tension, humour, sexual innuendoes, sizzling chemistry, flirty banter, familial drama, friendship, dangerous situations, sexy times, and scrumptious treats.

Overall, Loverboy is an amusing, cheeky, entertaining tale by Bowen that is a wonderful addition to a series that is quickly becoming one of my all-time favourites. I loved the characters, I loved the storyline, and I loved the dual narration by Joe Arden and Vanessa Edwin.

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

     

 

 

Thank you to Sarina Bowen for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Sarina Bowen

Sarina Bowen is the RITA® Award winning author of over two dozen contemporary and LGTB romance novels. She most recently hit the USA Today bestseller's list in February, with Brooklynaire. Formerly a derivatives trader on Wall Street, Sarina holds a BA in economics from Yale University.

Sarina Bowen is a New Englander whose Vermont ancestors cut timber and farmed the north country since the 1760s. Sarina is grateful for the invention of indoor plumbing and wi-fi during the intervening 250 years. On a few wooded acres, she lives with her husband, two boys, and an ungodly amount of ski and hockey gear.

Sarina's books are published in a dozen languages on four continents. In 2016, The Romance Writers of America honored HIM by Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy with a RITA award for Best Contemporary Romance, Mid-Length.

#BookReview Goodnight Beautiful by Aimee Molloy @aimeenmolloy @HarperAudio @librofm #GoodnightBeautiful #AimeeMolloy #Librofm

#BookReview Goodnight Beautiful by Aimee Molloy @aimeenmolloy @HarperAudio @librofm #GoodnightBeautiful #AimeeMolloy #Librofm Title: Goodnight Beautiful

Author: Aimee Molloy

Published by: HarperAudio on Oct. 13, 2020

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Format: Audiobook

Source: Libro.fm

Book Rating: 8/10

Newlyweds Sam Statler and Annie Potter are head over heels, and excited to say good-bye to New York and start a life together in Sam’s sleepy hometown in upstate New York. Or, it turns out, a life where Annie spends most of her time alone while Sam, her therapist husband, works long hours in his downstairs office, tending to the egos of his (mostly female) clientele.

Little does Sam know that through a vent in his ceiling, every word of his sessions can be heard from the room upstairs. The pharmacist’s wife, contemplating a divorce. The well-known painter whose boyfriend doesn’t satisfy her in bed. Who could resist listening? Everything is fine until the French girl in the green mini Cooper shows up, and Sam decides to go to work and not come home, throwing a wrench into Sam and Annie’s happily ever after.


Review:

Twisty, complex, and unpredictable!

Goodnight Beautiful is a cunning, tortuous, psychological thriller that delves into all the deep, dark secrets people keep and highlights just how easily people can be psychologically and emotionally manipulated.

The prose is taut and intense. The characters are troubled, unstable, and secretive. And the plot, told through a mixture of first-person and third-person narration, builds and unravels quickly into an ominous tale filled with unexpected twists, suspicious personalities, shocking revelations, familial drama, deception, obsession, suffering, and violence.

Overall, Goodnight Beautiful is a brisk, sinister, unsettling tale by Molloy that keeps you guessing from the very first page and is deliciously relentless, surprising, and bursting with misdirection.

 

This audiobook is available now.

Support your local independent bookstore and pick up a copy through this libro.fm link today!

 

 

Thank you to Libro.fm and HarperAudio for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Aimee Molloy

Aimee Molloy’s debut novel, The Perfect Mother, was a New York Times bestseller, and has been translated into more than twenty languages. She lives in Western Massachusetts with her family.

Photograph courtesy of Author's Goodreads Page.

 

#BookReview #AudioBook The Estate by Liza Costello @audible_com @midaspr

#BookReview #AudioBook The Estate by Liza Costello @audible_com @midaspr Title: The Estate

Author: Liza Costello

Published by: Audible Studios on Feb. 6, 2020

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

Length: 6 hrs and 15 mins

Format: Audiobook

Source: Midas PR

Book Rating: 7/10

There’s no place like home…and Beth hopes there never will be again.

Beth never had a settled home as a child, but that’s all behind her now. She’s fine. Great. Settled in her single life. Until friends start peeling away, moving on to careers and family, leaving her feeling impatient and angry. When she bumps into Jason at a party, she spots the opportunity for her own fresh start – to turn her back on a reckless life of drinking and missed deadlines. She can build a new life, too…can’t she? When she discovers that Jason has the opportunity to house-sit a new build out of town, she glimpses her chance. There’s only one catch – Jason needs to stay in town for the sake of his new job. But Beth can keep their dreams alive on her own, can’t she? 

As her drinking worsens, and new friends turn out to be prospective enemies, her sense of reality begins to unravel. As Beth comes to confront the mysteries of her own past, she moves closer to understanding the desperate crime at the heart of the estate. But first she must learn who is behind the strange attacks on her new home. And is Jason who she thought he was? Can she even trust him?

In this taut crime novel set in the aftermath of the Irish recession, a change for the better turns into a nightmare of uncertainty. An edge-of-your-seat psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Cass Green.


Review:

Gloomy, eerie, and complex!

The Estate is a dark, gritty thriller that transports you to recession-era Ireland and into a housing estate mostly abandoned due to economic depression and only inhabited by those few desperate and willing to do almost anything for survival.

The writing is edgy and intense. The characters are consumed, manipulative, and unreliable. And the plot is a mysterious tale of control, betrayal, obsession, malice, substance abuse, familial drama, loneliness, isolation, and violence.

Overall, The Estate is a twisty, atmospheric, sinister Audible Original title that reminds us just how quickly life can spin out of control and highlights just how parasitic some relationships can truly be.

 

This audiobook is available now.

Pick up a copy from the following audible link.

 

Thank you to Midas PR for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Liza Costello

Liza Costello was born in County Westmeath, where she lives with her husband and two children. A copy editor and poet, her writing has been broadcast on RTE Radio 1 and published in outlets including The Stinging Fly, The Saturday Independent (Ireland), The Manchester Review and Mslexia. Costello won the Dromineer Literary Festival Poetry Award (2011), came joint second for the Patrick Kavanagh Award for an unpublished collection of poetry (2015), and has been shortlisted for the Sean O’Faolain International Short Story Competition and the Francis McManus Short Story Competition. She is currently completing a PhD on the work of the Irish writer Dermot Healy.

 

%d bloggers like this: