Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

#BookBlitz
Scandalous by Sybil Bartel
@SybilBartel @XpressoReads

#BookBlitz Scandalous by Sybil Bartel @SybilBartel @XpressoReads

#BookBlitz Scandalous by Sybil Bartel @SybilBartel @XpressoReadsTitle: Merciless

Author: Sybil Bartel

Series: Alpha Bodyguard #2

Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform on November 6, 2018

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 236

 

 

 

Synopsis:

Bodyguard.
 
Mercenary.
 
Gun for hire.
 
I didn’t care what you called it, the end result was always the same.
 
You paid me for a job, you got results. The Marines trained me to shoot, but life taught me to aim. Working for the best personal security firm in the business was a stepping stone. Put in my time, build the résumé, then move on. I didn’t do attachments, on any level.
 
Until a smoking-hot former one-night stand crossed the street in front of me, holding a kid who was my spitting image. She tried to play it off, deny he was mine. She said she didn’t remember me, right before she turned around and ran. She thought she’d made a clean escape.
 
But she was about to find out how merciless a bodyguard could be.
 
*MERCILESS is a sexy new standalone book in the Alpha Bodyguard Series.

 

The Alpha Bodyguard Series:

SCANDALOUS

MERCILESS

RECKLESS

RUTHLESS

Goodreads / Amazon / B&N / iBooks / Kobo

 

 

EXCERPT:

She stood on tiptoe and reached to put the glass away in the cupboard, but she wasn’t quite tall enough. The glass fumbled in her fingertips.

It was pure reaction. I stepped behind her and caught it before it shattered on the tile floor.

Then the back of her body was against me and the reaction was immediate. My dick instantly hard, I sucked in a breath of pure fucking female, and she froze.

“Thanks,” she whispered, every muscle in her body going taut.

“Welcome,” I rasped, shoving the glass onto the shelf, telling myself to step the fuck back. But before I could put distance between us, she shocked the fuck out of me for the second time.

She leaned into me. Her head under my chin, her body tucked in to mine, she put her hand on my thigh.

“Brookelyn,” I warned.

Her voice even quieter. “What?”

Jesus, she was small. “What are you doing?” The top of her head barely grazed my pecs. With all of her wild hair and baggy clothes, I hadn’t realized how fucking petite she actually was.

Pressing in to me with deliberate intent, she squeezed my leg. “Something I shouldn’t.”

 

 

About Sybil Bartel

Sybil Bartel grew up in Northern California with her head in a book and her feet in the sand. She dreamt of becoming a painter but the heady scent of libraries with their shelves full of books drew her into the world of storytelling. She loves the New Adult genre, but any story about a love so desperately wrong and impossibly beautiful makes her swoon.

Sybil now resides in Southern Florida and while she doesn’t get to read as much as she likes, she still buries her toes in the sand. If she isn’t writing or fighting to contain the banana plantation in her backyard, you can find her spending time with her handsomely tattooed husband, her brilliantly practical son and a mischievous miniature boxer…

But Seriously?

Here are ten things you probably really want to know about Sybil.

She grew up a faculty brat. She can swear like a sailor. She loves men in uniform. She hates being told what to do. She can do your taxes (but don’t ask). The Bird Market in Hong Kong freaks her out. Her favorite word is desperate…or dirty, or both—she can’t decide. She has a thing for muscle cars. But never reply on her for driving directions, ever. And she has a new book boyfriend every week—don’t tell her husband.

To find out more about Sybil Bartel, be sure to follow her on Twitter (she loves to hear about your favorite book boyfriend!), visit her website, like her on Facebook or join her Facebook group Book Boyfriend Heroes for exclusive excerpts and giveaways.

 

 

GIVEAWAY!

One (1) $25 Amazon Gift Card (Blitz-wide, International)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

XBTBanner1

#BlogTour #BookReview
Chasing Ghosts by Madalyn Morgan
@ActScribblerDJ @rararesources

#BlogTour #BookReview Chasing Ghosts by Madalyn Morgan @ActScribblerDJ @rararesources

#BlogTour #BookReview Chasing Ghosts by Madalyn Morgan @ActScribblerDJ @rararesourcesTitle: Chasing Ghosts

Author: Madalyn Morgan

Series: Dudley Sisters Saga #6

Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform on June 23, 2018

Genres: Historical Fiction

Pages: 159

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: Rachel's Random Resources

Book Rating: 7/10

 

Synopsis:

In 1949 after receiving treatment for shell shock in Canada, Claire’s husband disappears.

Has Mitch left her for the woman he talks about in his sleep? Or is he on the run from accusations of wartime treachery?

Claire goes to France in search of the truth, aided by old friends from the Resistance.


Review:

Historical, menacing, and intriguing!

In this latest novel by Morgan, Chasing Ghosts, she transports us back to 1949 as Claire embarks on a journey to find her missing husband, Mitch with the help of her contacts and friends from the Resistance after he mysteriously disappears during treatment for PTSD in Canada.

The writing is descriptive and smooth. The characters are fearless, clever, and relentless. And the plot, although a little slow to start, is a compelling tale about the psychological effects of war, family dynamics, friendship, suspicion, desperation, duplicity, and murder.

Overall, Chasing Ghosts is a sinister, fascinating, well researched, easy read that has a nice little twist and a satisfying ending. And even though it’s the sixth book in the Dudley Sisters Saga and the sequel to China Blue (Book #3) it can certainly be enjoyed and read as a standalone novel.

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from the following link.

    

 

 

Giveaway:

Win signed copies of China Blue and Chasing Ghosts (UK Only)

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

*Terms and Conditions – UK entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then I reserve the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time I will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

 

Thank you to Madalyn Morgan & Rachel’s Random Resources for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Madalyn Morgan

Madalyn Morgan has been an actress for more than thirty years working in Repertory theatre, the West End, film and television. She is a radio presenter and journalist, writing articles for newspapers and magazines.
Madalyn was brought up in Lutterworth, at the Fox Inn. The pub was a great place for an aspiring actress and writer to live, as there were so many different characters to study and accents to learn. At twenty-four Madalyn gave up a successful hairdressing salon and wig-hire business for a place at E15 Drama College, and a career as an actress.
In 2000, with fewer parts available for older actresses, Madalyn taught herself to touch type, completed a two-year correspondence course with The Writer’s Bureau, and started writing. After living in London for thirty-six years, she has returned to her home town of Lutterworth, swapping two window boxes and a mortgage, for a garden and the freedom to write.
Happy to be an Indie Author, Madalyn has successfully published six novels. Foxden Acres, Applause, China Blue and The 9:45 To Bletchley are set before and during WW2 and tell the wartime stories of Bess, Margot, Claire, and Ena Dudley. Foxden Hotel and Chasing Ghosts are both post war. Chasing Ghosts is a sequel to China Blue.
Madalyn’s books are available on Amazon - in paperback and all formats of eBook.

 

#BookBlitz
Scandalous by Sybil Bartel
@SybilBartel @XpressoReads

#BookBlitz Scandalous by Sybil Bartel @SybilBartel @XpressoReads

#BookBlitz Scandalous by Sybil Bartel @SybilBartel @XpressoReadsTitle: Scandalous

Author: Sybil Bartel

Series: Alpha Bodyguard #1

Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform on September 10, 2018

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 290

 

 

 

Synopsis:

Bodyguard. 

Babysitter. 

Chauffeur. 

Not what the hell I thought I’d be doing with my life. 

Especially not for a spoiled Hollywood actress on location in Miami Beach. But triple pay and carrying a gun had its advantages. I’d shove away paparazzi and screaming fans for a lot less. The Marines trained me to be Force Recon—intimidation and crowd control was child’s play compared to four tours. This assignment should’ve been easy money. 

But the doe-eyed starlet with the perfect ass dragged me down her rabbit hole. Living for the spotlight, she leaked the perfect scandal. I warned her making headlines wasn’t in my job description, but she kept smiling for the cameras. 

Now she was going to find out just how scandalous a bodyguard could be. 

*SCANDALOUS is a sexy standalone book in the new Alpha Bodyguard Series!

The Alpha Bodyguard Series
SCANDALOUS – Tank’s story 
MERCILESS – Collins’s story 
RECKLESS – Tyler’s story 
RUTHLESS – Sawyer’s story

Goodreads / Amazon / B&N / iBooks / Kobo

 

 

EXCERPT:

I started the Escalade and checked the rearview mirrors. The last thing I wanted to deal with right now was the fucking paparazzi.

I backed out of the parking space.

She crossed her arms. “You’re not saying anything.”

I spun the SUV around and headed up the exit ramp. “What did you want me to say?” The anger and determination in her expression before the call to her lawyer had morphed into something I couldn’t decipher.

“You’re not working for my agent anymore.”

I never worked for that prick. I worked for Luna first, myself second. Everything after that was relative. “Your point?” I checked the street for any asshole with a camera before I pulled out.

“Do you have a problem working for me?”

Besides the fact she was up to something and I’d bet my fucking Harley it was trouble? “Said I didn’t.”

She stared straight ahead for a moment. “You’re attracted to me.”

Bold as fuck, I’d give her that. “What gave you that impression?” I asked only to fuck with her.

Dropping her guarded expression, she turned halfway in her seat. “Oh, come on. Mr. Kinky Dominant Handcuff, now you’re going to pretend to be professional?”

 

 

About Sybil Bartel

Sybil Bartel grew up in Northern California with her head in a book and her feet in the sand. She dreamt of becoming a painter but the heady scent of libraries with their shelves full of books drew her into the world of storytelling. She loves the New Adult genre, but any story about a love so desperately wrong and impossibly beautiful makes her swoon.

Sybil now resides in Southern Florida and while she doesn’t get to read as much as she likes, she still buries her toes in the sand. If she isn’t writing or fighting to contain the banana plantation in her backyard, you can find her spending time with her handsomely tattooed husband, her brilliantly practical son and a mischievous miniature boxer…

But Seriously?

Here are ten things you probably really want to know about Sybil.

She grew up a faculty brat. She can swear like a sailor. She loves men in uniform. She hates being told what to do. She can do your taxes (but don’t ask). The Bird Market in Hong Kong freaks her out. Her favorite word is desperate…or dirty, or both—she can’t decide. She has a thing for muscle cars. But never reply on her for driving directions, ever. And she has a new book boyfriend every week—don’t tell her husband.

To find out more about Sybil Bartel, be sure to follow her on Twitter (she loves to hear about your favorite book boyfriend!), visit her website, like her on Facebook or join her Facebook group Book Boyfriend Heroes for exclusive excerpts and giveaways.

 

 

GIVEAWAY!

One (1) $25 Amazon Gift Card (Blitz-wide, International)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

XBTBanner1

#BlogTour #BookReview
The Distiller’s Darling
by Rebecca Norinne & Jamaila Brinkley
@rebecca_norinne @jamaila @InkSlingerPR

#BlogTour #BookReview The Distiller's Darling by Rebecca Norinne & Jamaila Brinkley @rebecca_norinne @jamaila @InkSlingerPR

#BlogTour #BookReview The Distiller’s Darling by Rebecca Norinne & Jamaila Brinkley @rebecca_norinne @jamaila @InkSlingerPRTitle: The Vintner's Vixen

Author: Rebecca Norinne, Jamaila Brinkley

Series: River Hill #2

Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform on June 21, 2018

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 213

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: InkSlingerPR

Book Rating: 8.5/10

 

Synopsis:

Irish whiskey royalty has no place in Northern California, but that isn’t going to stop Iain Brennan, the black sheep of Brennan Family Distillers, from giving it a shot. Wine Country is an unlikely place to launch a whiskey empire, but Iain’s just reckless enough to make it work. And being out from under the watchful eye of his disapproving father back home in Dublin? Even better.

Naomi Klein has spent the last ten years ignoring her society family as much as possible while building a career as a renowned sculptor. She’s found a home in River Hill, but has no interest in dipping her toes into the commitment pool. Just the idea of forever gives her hives. Which makes a rootless Irish wanderer the perfect fling. And shocking her mother? Just a bonus.

But as cozy autumn nights turn into lazy winter mornings, Naomi and Iain realize that they’re getting close to something neither of them wants: love. When Naomi discovers Iain’s not quite as rootless as he seems, she’ll have to make some tough decisions. And when the Brennans and the Kleins descend en masse to collect their prodigal children, River Hill may never be the same.


Review:

Adorable, romantic, and fun!

The Distiller’s Darling is a passionate, lighthearted tale that takes us back to River Hill and into the lives of the spirited, artistic Naomi who may have finally discovered that one person who inspires her to feel and create, and Iain, the determined, sexy Irishman who may have found himself not only a new career but a new home.

The prose is steamy and witty. The characters are charming, independent, and loyal. And the story is an uplifting tale about life, love, familial pressure, friendship, saucy banter, perseverance, community, happiness, sizzling romance, delicious food, and good whiskey.  

The Distiller’s Darling is an engaging, heartwarming novel with a sweet storyline, amusing characters, and an idyllic setting that highlights that sometimes all you need for the happy ever after you never thought you were looking for is one more night.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                              

 

 

 

About Rebecca Norinne

Rebecca Norinne writes sexy romance from the heart. Her heroines are bold and headstrong, and her heroes will do anything for the ones they love.

When not banging away at the keyboard, she is watching rugby, enjoying a pint of craft beer, or traveling the globe in search of inspiration for her next book.

Originally from California, Rebecca currently resides in Dublin, Ireland, with her husband.

About Jamaila Brinkley

Jamaila Brinkley writes historical romance with a hint of magic. Her Wizards of London series features thieves, duchesses, witches, and more indulging in mayhem and romance in Regency England. She is a member of the Romance Writers of America, and was a finalist in the Romance Through the Ages contest in 2015.

Jamaila came to romance as an avid reader of fantasy and science fiction, and found that her favorite historical romances seemed ripe for an injection of magic. Her favorite historical period is currently the Victorian era, and she’s never happier than when immersed in a multi-book family series.

Jamaila lives outside Baltimore, Maryland in a house that is perpetually under renovation with her husband and twin toddlers. You can find her blogging about romance, writing, parenting, cooking, and more on her website and posting pictures of her lunch on Twitter.

 

 

EXCERPT:

“Thank you for doing this,” Iain said, the pad of his index finger tracing over the design Naomi had created for Whitman’s Revival. “To be honest, I wasn’t sure I’d hear from you again. You kind of ghosted me.”

He glanced up in time to catch her looking away guiltily. “Yeah, about that—”

“I’m not asking you to explain yourself. I get it. We had some fun, and now it’s time to move on.”

Naomi’s eyes came back around, the guilt replaced with what Iain thought looked a whole lot like contemplation. “Funny you should mention that.”

“Funny how?”

“I was thinking,” she said, her finger swirling a pattern on the table that separated them. “You’re leaving in two months, and it would be a shame if we didn’t spend that time … hanging out.” Her eyes bored into his, as if daring him to misunderstand.

His lips quirked up into a smirk. “Why, Miss Klein, are you asking me to fuck you senseless until I board a plane back to Ireland?”

She tossed him a wicked smile full of promise. “You have to admit; we’re pretty damn good at it.”

“The best,” he agreed.

He felt his chest sawing in and out as his breathing became deeper and more labored. Iain couldn’t remember the last time he’d felt such heady anticipation. Oh, wait, yes, he could. It was that night in San Francisco when he and Naomi had practically run from that dive bar to his hotel. He’d been so ready for her that he’d ripped her dress off before the door to his room had locked behind them.

“So, what do you say, Brennan? You want to spend the next sixty days seeing how many orgasms we can give each other?”

That was all the invitation Iain needed. Abruptly, he stood, his chair scraping over the black-and-white-checked linoleum and then crashing to the floor. He stalked around the fifties-style diner table and fisted his hands in Naomi’s hair. He bent at the waist and let his lips hover scant centimeters from her parted ones. He could feel the warmth of her breath mingling with his own. “What do you say we get started on that now?”

She licked her lips. “Yes, let’s.”

 

 

Giveaway:

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Purchase the previous book in the series!

 

 
 

 

Thank you to InkSlingerPR, Rebecca Norinne & Jamaila Brinkley for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

#BookReview #BlogTour
Production Values by Liv Bartlet
@LivBartlet @rararesources

#BookReview #BlogTour Production Values by Liv Bartlet @LivBartlet @rararesources

#BookReview #BlogTour Production Values by Liv Bartlet @LivBartlet @rararesourcesTitle: Production Values

Author: Liv Bartlet

Series: A Monkey & Me

Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform on May 3, 2017

Genres: Women's Fiction

Pages: 304

Format: Paperback

Source: Liv Bartlet, Rachel's Random Resources

Book Rating: 8/10

 

Synopsis:

“Mornings like this I can understand the appeal of killer high heels. How they click with command down the sidewalk: Get out of my way, I’m in charge and I’ve got the footwear to prove it.”

At the age of 28, Kat Porter has become the it-girl of British TV Production. Gut, gumption, and artistry have carried her through a dozen impossible scenarios to arrive at her first run as Executive Producer, and now all three muses point to Ian Graham’s star power as the key to Los Angeles and golden statues.

But disaster looms as Ian twists Kat into a chameleon fit for success. Ian’s young daughter is thrown into the spotlight and Kat must face the consequences of her neverending quest for acclaim.

Production Valuestakes a biting but fun look at Hollywood—from the way we interpret female ambition to the influence of the paparazzi on how TV shows and stars fail or succeed.


Review:

Intriguing, scandalous, and emotive!

Production Values is a compelling, character-driven story that takes us into the lives of Kat and Bea as they navigate all the complexities, drama, ups-and-downs and emotions of being best friends, as well as business partners.

The writing style is genuine and witty. The characters are quirky, ambitious, independent, and likable. And the engaging plot told from dual perspectives is a journey filled with hopes, dreams, goals, heartbreak, infidelity, family, romance, success, failure, and all the chaos and mayhem involved in tv and movie making. 

Overall, Production Values is an enjoyable, entertaining, pensive read that did an exceptional job of delving into the dynamics of relationships, both old and new, and reminding us just how crazy and fickle fame and fortune can truly be.

 

This book is available now. 

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from the following link.

 

 

Giveaway: 

Win Production Values & Off Script e-books & $25 or equivalent Amazon Gift Card (Open Internationally)

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then I reserve the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time I will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

 

Thank you to Liv Bartlet for providing me with a copy in an exchange for an honest review.

 

About Liv Bartlet

Liv Bartlet is the pseudonym for writing partners Becca McCulloch and Sarah McKnight, who have been building worlds and telling stories together for more than a decade. They’ve logged hours of behind-the-scenes movie and TV footage and challenged each other in a friendly Oscar guessing game every year this millennium. Lifelong Anglophiles, their Monkey & Me world sprang to vivid life on a trip to London that included divine pastries, sublime art, and a spectacular pratfall in the British Museum.

Becca is a professor, a scientist, and a secret romantic who insisted their first order of business in London was a meandering five-mile walk to see Big Ben. She lives with her husband, children, and an ever-expanding roster of pets in Logan, Utah.

Sarah is an Army brat, an Excel geek, and has a lot of opinions on the differences between science fiction and fantasy. She lives with her cat, Sir Jack—who is featured prominently on Liv’s Instagram —just outside Salt Lake City.

 

#BlogTour #BookReview
Vintner’s Vixen by Rebecca Norinne
@rebecca_norinne @jamaila @InkSlingerPR

#BlogTour #BookReview Vintner’s Vixen by Rebecca Norinne @rebecca_norinne @jamaila @InkSlingerPRTitle: The Vintner's Vixen

Author: Rebecca Norinne, Jamaila Brinkley

Series: River Hill #1

Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform on March 14, 2018

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 286

Format: eBook, ARC

Source: InkSlingerPR

Book Rating: 8/10

 

Synopsis:

Welcome to River Hill, where the only thing more intoxicating than the wine is the man who makes it.

With movie roles for “curvy best friend” drying up fast, actress Angelica Travis is happy to be leaving Hollywood behind for a project she’s truly passionate about: renovating an historic bed and breakfast in peaceful wine country. She’s got plans and power tools ready, but an inconvenient attraction to her obnoxious new neighbor is NOT on the agenda.

Winemaker Noah Bradstone wants nothing more than to cultivate his grapes and win awards for his wine. But when construction on the B&B next door threatens his vines, Noah goes on a rampage – and comes up hard against the sexiest starlet he’s ever seen. Exactly the sort of woman he’s vowed never to get involved with again.

Angelica and Noah might be able to resolve their differences over a glass of some very fine wine, but when her opportunity at breakout stardom comes calling, all bets are off.


Review:

Humorous, sweet, and enchantingly romantic!

Vintner’s Vixen is a passionate, entertaining rom-com featuring the independent, fiery starlet, Angelica and the confident, grumpy winemaker, Noah as they discover that even though they got off to a rocky start, in the end, they may just be perfect for each other.

The prose is light and fluid. The characterization is wonderful with an incredible cast of characters who are charming, quirky, funny, and endearing. And the plot is an enticing ride full of instant attraction, steamy chemistry, drama, playful banter, friendship, community, winemaking, and reality tv.

Overall, I would have to say that Vintner’s Vixen is a tantalizing, witty, easy read and an excellent start to a new series.

 

 

About Rebecca Norinne

Rebecca Norinne writes sexy romance from the heart. Her heroines are bold and headstrong, and her heroes will do anything for the ones they love.

When not banging away at the keyboard, she is watching rugby, enjoying a pint of craft beer, or traveling the globe in search of inspiration for her next book.

Originally from California, Rebecca currently resides in Dublin, Ireland, with her husband.

About Jamaila Brinkley

Jamaila Brinkley writes historical romance with a hint of magic. Her Wizards of London series features thieves, duchesses, witches, and more indulging in mayhem and romance in Regency England. She is a member of the Romance Writers of America, and was a finalist in the Romance Through the Ages contest in 2015.

Jamaila came to romance as an avid reader of fantasy and science fiction, and found that her favorite historical romances seemed ripe for an injection of magic. Her favorite historical period is currently the Victorian era, and she’s never happier than when immersed in a multi-book family series.

Jamaila lives outside Baltimore, Maryland in a house that is perpetually under renovation with her husband and twin toddlers. You can find her blogging about romance, writing, parenting, cooking, and more on her website and posting pictures of her lunch on Twitter.

 

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                              

 

 

 

Thank you to InkSlingerPR, Rebecca Norinne & Jamaila Brinkley for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

#BlogTour & #BookReview
The Divine Heart by Danielle R. Mani
@DanielleRMani @YABoundToursPR

#BlogTour & #BookReview The Divine Heart by Danielle R. Mani @DanielleRMani @YABoundToursPR

#BlogTour & #BookReview The Divine Heart by Danielle R. Mani @DanielleRMani @YABoundToursPRTitle: The Divine Heart

Author: Danielle R. Mani

Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform on July 21, 2017

Genres: Young Adult, Mystery/Thriller

Pages: 178

Format: Paperback

Source: Danielle R. Mani

Book Rating: 8/10

 

 

Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Elle Collins has spent most her life waiting for someone else to die…

When a heart donor is found, Elle awakes from surgery gifted with more than just a new heart. Clairaudient messages and spiritual apparitions haunt her until she is convinced that she must be insane. Either that, or her donor is sending a message.

Desperate for answers the medical community can’t provide, Elle’s divination leads her to the family of her donor, a young girl named Cas. With the help of her best friend, Rob, the guy who’s proof that her new heart is capable of love, Elle must make sense of the clues Cas is sending. As pieces of Cas’s life and death emerge, Elle will discover that she and Cas share more than just a heart.


Review:

Mystical, heartwarming, and deliciously suspenseful!

The Divine Heart is a compelling, coming-of-age mystery about friendship, family, transplants, mental illness, first loves, and teen drama all interwoven with a thread of the paranormal.

The characters are young, strong, and adventurous. The prose is clear, crisp and precise. And the plot has just the right amount of tension, angst, danger, emotion, and excitement to keep you intrigued right until the very end.

Overall, I think The Divine Heart will really appeal to teens and young adults, and even though I think I’m a little older than the target demographic, I found it unique, heartfelt, and completely satisfying.

 

This book is available now.

Pick up a copy from your favourite retailer or from one of the following links.

                        

 

 

 

Thank you to Danielle R. Mani and YA Bound Book Tours for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About Danielle R. Mani

Danielle R. Mani (Danielle Rodriguez-Cinquemani) is a fan of the paranormal in both print and film. Her books combine supernatural fiction with the everyday dramas of young adulthood. Ms. Mani holds a Bachelor of Arts in education and a Master of Science in communications. She is currently a teacher at the Maria Fareri Children’s Hospital, and hopes to earn her doctoral degree in parapsychology. She resides in Westchester, New York, with her husband, four children, two dogs, and three rescue cats.

 

#BookReview
Riding a Strong Wind by Robertson Tait

#BookReview Riding a Strong Wind by Robertson TaitTitle: Riding A Strong Wind

Author: Robertson Tait

Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform on July 4, 2014

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 208

Format: eBook

Source: Robertson Tait

Book Rating: 7/10

 

 

Synopsis:

A collection of romantic short stories set in glamorous locations from Italy to the Caribbean, passing through Scotland and Santa Barbara. Nine fairy tales for grown-ups.

Villa d’Este: A handsome TV personality is bewitched by a mysterious young beauty.

Amsterdam: Walking home from his night-shift through the red light district, the last thing he expected was an offer of eggs and coffee.

Santa Barbara: “He landed in Tokyo, Japan with a great California tan, a lot of fitness and no shoes.”

Rain in Rome: The slippery slope of love in the Eternal City.

Barra: A remote Scottish island casts its spell on a troubled American movie star.

Florence – La Certosa: “In the distance a church bell peeled, perhaps from the Certosa itself, and the atmosphere seemed somewhat surreal … It looked so old, so ancient. It was not hard to imagine oneself to be back two or three hundred years, drinking wine and watching the dying sun burn the clouds into every kind of crimson.”

Montmartre: He pitched his song in Paris and found he made a hit.

Amalfi Coast: Poor but hopeful, two young lovers find joy and upset on the beaches of Southern Italy.

Tobago – Having Lost The Boy: Down and out on a tropical beach, there was one more thing he could salvage.


Review:

Light-hearted, sweet, and romantic.

This is a collection of short stories that takes you on a journey through life, love, and passion, and reminds us that sometimes things really do happen for a reason.

The prose is exquisitely descriptive. The characters are charming, appealing, and endearing. The plots are unique, although they share the standard contemporary romance, happy-ever-after ending. And the settings are magical, taking you to the luxurious beaches and vineyards of Italy, to the museums and landmarks of the City of Light, to the picturesque countryside of the Scottish Highlands.

This truly is a warm, easy read that is a nice way to spend an afternoon

 

This novel is available now.

Pick up a copy of this story from your favourite retailer or from the following Amazon links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon Canada

 

 

Thank you to Robertson Tait, the author, for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review. 

#BookReview
Trophy Life by Elli Lewis
@ElliLewisTweets

#BookReview Trophy Life by Elli Lewis @ElliLewisTweetsTitle: Trophy Life

Author: Elli Lewis

Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform on July 18, 2016

Genres: Contemporary Romance, Women's Fiction

Pages: 268

Format: Paperback

Source: Elli Lewis

Book Rating: 9/10

 

 

Synopsis:

Meet Amy, the world’s most improbable trophy wife.

She has a degree, ambitions and something resembling a mind of her own. The trouble is, she just doesn’t use it anymore. Married to handsome aristocrat, Harry Green, Amy’s world is a whirlwind of luxury, labels and lunches.

But amidst the peerages and polo of the privileged few lie wolves in minks’ clothing.

Before she knows it, Amy’s perfect existence is plunged into chaos by the poshest of plots. Ominous heiresses, simpering starlets and a terrifying mother-in-law abound as Amy faces up to some harsh realities.

Can Amy survive life in the upper crust? Or is high society an all new low?


Review:

This is a sweet, clever, heartwarming novel.

It is a beguiling story about high society, family, happiness, fulfillment, and true love.

It is full of colourful characters, including not only the warm, down-to-earth Amy, and the arrogant, pompous Harry, but a whole slew of supporting characters that are charming, quirky, and lovable. 

It is very well written. The prose is funny, clear and descriptive. And the plot is intelligent, engaging, witty, and delightful.

This really is a great read that entertained me from start to finish. It was a real pleasure and I highly recommend it.

 

This book is due to be published on July 26, 2016. 

Pick up a copy of this story from your favourite retailer or from the following Amazon links.

Amazon UKAmazon USAmazon Canada

 

 

Thank you to Elli Lewis, the author, for providing me with a copy in an exchange for an honest review.

 

About Elli Lewis

Elli grew up in North London, the second of three sisters and, consequently, in a home that was bursting at the seams with shoes. As a teenager in the 90s, she experimented with Sun In, wore a standard uniform of combat trousers and vest top and shed tears over the breakup of Take That.

She soon recovered and went on to study law at university and qualify as a solicitor. In the course of her career, Elli has worked for some of the UK’s most prestigious law firms, representing a host of A-list clients. Her time in the City gave her a unique insight into the depths of high society, the height of fame and the biggest of fortunes. It was a world where multi-million pound mansions housed pampered pooches and ruthless spouses determined to wreak revenge, experiences that would later inspire her literary career.

In 2008, she went on to found a successful copywriting agency, with clients including national newspapers and media brands, including the BBC.

The books came later. If you ask Elli why she started writing novels, she will glaze over and look thoughtfully into the middle distance. This is not because she doesn’t like you – well, probably – but because Elli has literally no clue how it happened. Suffice to say that, one day she started typing and then never stopped. In fact, Elli wrote Trophy Life, The Lottery Club and The Anti-Natals in the same year and published the first of them in 2016.

Elli can now be found back in North London in the house she shares with one tired husband, two boisterous boys and a colossal Siberian cat. She relies on coffee and chocolate to keep her awake and has a mild addiction to pitta chips.

#BookReview
Midnight Lily by Mia Sheridan

#BookReview Midnight Lily by Mia SheridanTitle: Midnight Lily

Author: Mia Sheridan

Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform on March 1, 2016

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 242

Format: eBook

Source: Purchased

Book Rating: 7/10

 

 

Synopsis:

Holden Scott is the prince of professional football. At least he was before he lost it all . . . or more to the point, before he threw it all away. Now he’s out of a job, out of the public’s good graces, and perhaps just a little out of his mind. So when a friend offers up his remote lodge in the wilds of Colorado, giving Holden some time away to get his life back on track, he can hardly say no. The last thing he expects is to see a beautiful girl in the woods—one wearing a white, lace dress who appears in the moonlight, and leaves no footprints behind. Is she a dream? A ghost? A product of his muddled imagination? Or something entirely different? 

Midnight Lily is the haunting love story of two lost souls reaching for each other in the dark. A tale of healing, acceptance, and the worlds we create to protect our own hearts. It is a story of being lost, of being found, and of being in the place between. 

THIS IS A STAND-ALONE SIGN OF LOVE NOVEL, INSPIRED BY VIRGO. Non-Paranormal, New Adult Contemporary Romance. Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.


Review:

I read this book as I saw it was the trending title on Goodreads last week.

I have to say it was a little different then I expected.

I don’t want to give anything away, but what I will say is that it was an interesting read. I think the idea was extremely unique and imaginative.

Throughout the story and even now that I have finished it, I’m still trying to understand and figure everything out. So it definitely left a lasting impression. However, saying that, I found the flow of the story to be a little disjointed.

For fans of Mia Sheridan this is definitely different then her usual stories, but it is still worth a read.

 

%d bloggers like this: